Inspiration and so-called ‘Writer’s Block’

“Creativity is a drug I cannot live without.” – Cecil B. DeMille

Hey everyone, this post is going to be split up into two parts: Inspiration, and Writer’s Block. So I’ll just go ahead and dive on in. Pretty much all of this is going to be my opinion — so feel free to disagree with anything that I say here. Something you’ll probably learn about me: I’m highly opinionated, even if I don’t show it.

Everyone loves inspiration, don’t they? After all, it’s what fuels our novels.

When I sat down to write my first novel, I had no idea what I was doing — the reason the first draft was the messiest one I’ve ever written. I didn’t plan (not that I do now, anyway), I didn’t know how to punctuate dialogue, and I didn’t know the difference between ‘your’ and ‘you’re’.  I looked to images from Google for my inspiration a lot, which I still use today. (Need inspiration? Pinterest is a great source; here is a link to mine.) I’ve found that me, personally, am inspired very easily, which is why I always keep a notebook within a few feet of me. That way I can track my ideas down on paper and then decide later if I want to build on them.

Aside from images, music was, and is, another huge inspiration. Funnily enough, I’d never much listened to music before I stared writing. In fact, music and my love of everything fiction was what pushed me into writing a novel in the first place. Before I decided to write, music was just tuneless noise to me.

And this, I suppose, is what brings me to the next part of this blog post: Writer’s Block.

So often, I hear/see people complain that they have this ‘block’ that stops them from writing. And that has always bothered me. Because for me, Writer’s Block is a mind game of being positive and negative. I realise that it’s probably not the same way for everyone, these are simply just my views on the matter. If I feel like I can’t write or I am lacking creativity/inspiration, then I’m not going to be able to write, and I might as well give up. But if I put myself in the frame of mind that is more positive, I usually find that I am able to write better/more. But considering I see so many people talking about ‘Writer’s Block’, here are my top ten tips that might help:

10. Take a break. Sometimes your mind just needs some time to work things out on its own, and leaving your current project for some time might do some good. Maybe try blogging? (:

9. Go for a walk and get some exercise. It’ll help to clear your mind.

8. Go back to the roots of your novel. What inspired you to write it in the first place? Was it a song, an image? If it was, then listen to that song to fuel your imagination once more.

7. Read books. I find that every time I open a book, I want to write.

6. Watch a movie or TV show. Again, this might help to stimulate your mind.

5. Take a shower. It’s relaxing, and a great time to think.

4. Create a schedule. Outline the times that you are going to write. This might be helpful in getting you to stick with your novel through your block. Also, treat yourself if you reach a word a daily/weekly word goal.

3. Read some writing prompts. There are some cool prompts out there that might get you going. Just Google “Writing Prompts” and it will come up with heaps.

2. TURN OFF YOUR INTERNET. Do I even need to explain this one?!

1. This might be the simplest, yet hardest of them all: Write. As Jack London once said: “You can’t wait for inspiration, you have to go after it with a club.” Sometimes if you’re waiting for inspiration, you might be waiting a long time. In some instances inspiration will come after you, other times it’s vice-versa.

So, that’s the end of this week’s blog.

Where do you get your inspiration from, and have I missed any tips of overcoming a block?

Leave a Reply

