Worst Books I’ve Read in 2012

A bad book is as much labor to write as a good one, it comes as sincerely from the author’s soul” — Aldous Huxley

NOTE: Not books that have been published in 2012, but books that I have read in 2012. I haven’t checked the release date for most of these.

So here are the books that I don’t think are worth you time. By all means you can check them out for yourself, but these are the books that just didn’t do it for me. In no particular order:

1. Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon:

Their love was meant to be.

When Megan Rosenberg moves to Ireland, everything in her life seems to fall into place. After growing up in America, she’s surprised to find herself feeling at home in her new school. She connects with a group of friends, and she is instantly drawn to darkly handsome Adam DeRÍs. But Megan is about to discover that her feelings for Adam are tied to a fate that was sealed long ago—and that the passion and power that brought them together could be their ultimate destruction

Why I did not like this book: It was just disappointing. I saw so much potential in it, but didn’t reach my expectations. It followed several clichés that I would recommend in avoiding (new girl, hot bloke, insta-love, ect …) and I felt nothing for the characters.

[Read more opinions of the book here]

***

2. Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton:

First there are nightmares. Every night Ellie is haunted by terrifying dreams of monstrous creatures that are hunting her, killing her. Then come the memories. When Ellie meets Will, she feels on the verge of remembering something just beyond her grasp. His attention is intense and romantic, and Ellie feels like her soul has known him for centuries. On her seventeenth birthday, on a dark street at midnight, Will awakens Ellie’s power, and she knows that she can fight the creatures that stalk her in the grim darkness. Only Will holds the key to Ellie’s memories, whole lifetimes of them, and when she looks at him, she can no longer pretend anything was just a dream. Now she must hunt. Ellie has power that no one can match, and her role is to hunt and kill the reapers that prey on human souls. But in order to survive the dangerous and ancient battle of the angels and the Fallen, she must also hunt for the secrets of her past lives and truths that may be too frightening to remember.

Why I did not like this book: Nice idea, but the story dragged. The fight scenes were written wonderfully, which is what kept me reading this for the majority of the novel. I got a little over halfway before I skimmed the rest. I found the characters a little irritable, and the romance was boring. The main character had a large responsibility and I thought that she didn’t take it all that seriously.

[Read more opinions of the book here]

***

3. Fallen Angel by Heather Terrell

Ellie was never particularly good at talking to boys—or anyone other than her best friend and fellow outcast, Ruth. Then she met Michael. Michael is handsome, charming, sweet. And totally into Ellie. It’s no wonder she is instantly drawn to him. But Michael has a secret. And he knows Ellie is hiding something, too. They’ve both discovered they have powers beyond their imagining. Powers that are otherworldly. Ellie and Michael are determined to uncover what they are, and how they got this way… together. But the truth has repercussions neither could have imagined. Soon they find themselves center stage in an ancient conflict that threatens to destroy everything they love. And it is no longer clear whether Ellie and Michael will choose the same side.

Why I did not like this book: I disliked this book for similar reasons that I didn’t like Carrier of the Mark. Flat, boring, predictable characters and a storyline that fell into old clichés and romance that made me cringe. This one was badly written as well, in my opinion. The novel didn’t have anything that stood out from the pack.

[Read more opinions of the book here]

***

4. The unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin:

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there. It can. She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed. There is. She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love. She’s wrong.

Why I did not like this book: Simply put, it was odd. Weird. Strange. Take your pick of words. It took me about eighty percent of the story to realise that I was reading a paranormal novel. Yes, seriously. About a girl who wakes up in hospital with no memory, the main character often hallucinated and had flashes of memories coming back to her. I was thinking: Well, okay, considering all she’s been though — that’s understandable. But no, apparently it had a paranormal aspect to it all along. Not to mention massive cliffhanger at the end, of course. I was torn for days after finishing this one. In the end, I’ve decided that I didn’t like it much — though I have seen many positive reviews.

[Read more opinions of the book here]

***

5. Legacy by Cayla Kluver:

In her seventeenth year, Princess Alera of Hytanica faces one duty: to marry the man who will be king. But her father’s choice of suitor fills her with despair. When the palace guard captures an intruder, a boy her age with steel-blue eyes, hailing from her kingdom’s greatest enemy, Alera is alarmed…and intrigued. But she could not have guessed that their clandestine meetings would unveil the dark legacy shadowing both their lands. In this mystical world of court conspiracies and blood magic, loyalties will be tested. Courage won’t be enough. And as the battle begins for everything Alera holds dear, love may be the downfall of a kingdom.

Why I did not like this book: Let me first just clarify that I love teen writers. Why? Because I am one myself. And when I found out this a novel written by one, I was super, super excited to get my hands on it. I wanted to like this one — I mean, come on! Look at that cover. It’s amazing. But the cover was probably the best thing about the novel. It was overly descriptive to the point where I would skim paragraphs and not miss anything integral. Nothing much happened in the novel, either. The main character didn’t have much of a goal or drive, which formed endless amounts of useless picnics and walks in the garderns or whatever. Don’t get me wrong . . . she’s a talented author for her age, just not for me.

[Read more opinions of the book here]

So there you have it. The worst books I’ve read in 2012. What are yours?

Leave a Reply

