My 2013 Writer Goals

“People with clear, written goals, accomplish far more in a shorter period of time than people without them could ever imagine” — Brian Tracy

Well hello there, 2013.

I meant to post this on the first of January … but completely forgot about writing it. So, a week later, here we are. In that time I’ve realise that I needed to take a break between finishing the third draft of CURSED and starting the fourth. I started a new WIP tentatively titled CLANDESTINE, and is under the category of Dystopian/Science Fiction.

I thought that it might be a good idea to blog about goals that I want to achieve in the coming year. I feel as though if I publish it on the Internet, then I’ll be more compelled to complete them all. I might alter these goals as the year progresses, but here’s what I’ve managed to come up with for now. And this is the order of when it came to me, not necessarily the order I’ll do them in.

1. Finish plot outline for draft #4 of CURSED.

2. Actually write fourth draft of CURSED once outline has been completed. Then set aside and place in an obscure part of USB to forget about it for a little while.

3. Finish writing first draft of CLANDESTINE.

That’s about as far as I’ve gotten. Truthfully, I have no idea what I’ll write/edit after I’ve completed that — but I am sure that will keep me occupied for quite a long time. I will do a half-yearly update of my goals to see where I am at, and if I will need to add any more to the list.

There are my writer goals of 2013! I encourage you to do the same on your blog, I think that forming goals keeps a writer motivated.

Leave a Reply

