My 2013 Writer Goals… Revised

“Goals are dreams with deadlines.” ― Diana Scharf

So, at the beginning of this year I made a list of all the writerly things I wanted to complete. Seeing as we’re over halfway through the year, I thought I would go back and re-do this list– add new things, celebrate of completed tasks, and an so on.

1. Finish plot outline for draft #4 of CURSED. Yeah, um, simply put, this is never going to happen. Through the year I’ve learned that outlines and me don’t get along very well, and when we’re forced to get along, we get along even worse. So, not happening. Ever. Again.

2. Actually write fourth draft of CURSED once outline has been completed. This never happened either. The outline, of course, was a disaster before I even started, but the actual draft? I wrote the first couple of chapters, and decided that it wasn’t working. It was the first full length novel I finished, and there were flaws from the beginning that I don’t feel I’ll ever be able to fix. But you know what? I’m okay with this. I realise the manuscript is never going to go anywhere, and even though I’ve technically given up on it, I don’t view it as a failure. More as a learning curve.

3. Finish writing first draft of CLANDESTINE. If you follow my Twitter account (by the way, you can follow my Twitter here), you may have noticed that I came across an unfinished WIP which sat at 76k. Well, this is it! I never finished it–I think I lost my inspiration for awhile–I’ve decided recently that I’m going to go back and complete it. Actually, at the rate I’m going, it may even be finished by the end of the week. The title has changed from CLANDESTINE to METAL AND FLESH, which I feel it better fits.

So, that was all that was on my list in January. Now August, I’m going to outline other projects I’ve worked on, plus what I want to accomplish by the end of the year.

1. Rewrote my NaNoWriMo 2012 novel completely. Yes, I mean I wrote it completely. From the first draft, which was obviously rough and flawed, I kept about one or two lines. I switched point of views, edited out a few useless characters, and tightened up the plot. It ended up at around 68K.

2. Wrote two first drafts– one at 60K the other only reaching just over 54K. Both, I assume, will be rewritten in time, but for now, I can turn my attention to other projects.

What I want to complete by the end of the year:

1. Complete third draft of my NaNoWriMo 2012 novel. Eech, revising and editing is hard. But, I would like to be done with the third draft before the end of the year. Also, I still need to figure out a title! It has a few names I’m tossing up between, but I can never seem to stick with just one for long.

2. NaNoWriMo 2013. Finishing that third draft is sure to take me up to November, and if it doesn’t, I’m certain I’ll have other projects to work on. Still a little while away from November, but I already have a vauge idea of what I will be writing. If you don’t know what NaNoWriMo is and you’re a writer, check it out here. I highly recommend you do it if you have the time. Even if you don’t reach the 50k goal, it’ll help to put a dent on your current WIP!

That’s all for now, will blog again soon. What have you accomplished so far this year?

2 thoughts on “My 2013 Writer Goals… Revised

Leave a Reply

