My 2014 Writer Goals

“Perhaps when we find ourselves wanting everything, it is because we are dangerously close to wanting nothing.” 
― Sylvia Plath

So I’m a little late this year — but I’ve been meaning to write this post for some time. I did the same thing last year, and I found it interesting to see how much I could accomplish in a year, or how much my plans changed (a lot). So, without further ado, here are my goals:

1. Edit The Sweetest Sorrows of Ava Hale for what feels like the gazilionth time. When I wrote the first draft of this (NaNoWriMo 2012) it was a complete and utter mess–and since then, has undergone several major revisions. Including me rewriting it entirely from third to first person, and then to cutting whole chapters out, and switching things around. It’s still not perfect; it still needs a lot of work.

2. Write this Science Fiction idea that has been bouncing around my head for some time now. See, look! It even has it’s own Pinterest board! I have a tentative title in mind, but that could always change. Ideally I would love to write the first draft at least of it.

3. Edit/rewrite the last WIP I wrote. I’m very passionate about this idea. I’ve been itching to edit/revise it ever since I hit the words “THE END” but I know it will be best if I leave it for a few months. Once I’ve distanced myself from it for a few months, however, I’ll hopefully be ready to rip it to shreds!

4. Compete in and win NaNoWriMo for the third year in a row. I am determined to keep up my winning steak!

That’s it for now. Who knows how much it’s going to change in the coming months? Plenty, I’m willing to bet. I’ll to a check-in halfway through the year to see how I’m going.

So, what are your writing goals for this year?

5 thoughts on “My 2014 Writer Goals

  1. Pingback: Diary of a Teen Writer

  2. Good luck with all your goals. This year I am hoping to find another Critique partner/beta reader for my novel, and after getting feedback from them, start querying agents. I really want to get an agent this year.

Leave a Reply

