Thursday Quotables: Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

quotation-marks2

Thursday Quotables is a meme hosted by Bookshelf Fantasies. It’s an opportunity to share stand-out quotes from your current read; if you want to know more the Bookshelf Fantasies blog click here.

It’s that time again! Last week, I read Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion — and I was pleasantly surprised! Once I was done with the first chapter I knew this was going to be my Thursday Quotables post, because, well, it is just so quotable. This was a novel that could have been very badly done if it wasn’t for the lyrical prose that kept me engaged throughout the story. And I have to admit: this is the first zombie books I’ve read and actually liked so far. Simply put, this was a beautifully written novel.

7619057First off:

“We have big plans. Oh yes. We’re fumbling in the dark, but at least we’re in motion. Everyone is working now; Julie and I are just pausing for a moment to enjoy the view, because it’s a beautiful day. The sky is blue. The grass is green. The sun is warm on our skin. We smile, because this is how we save the world. We will not let Earth become a tomb, a mass grave spinning through space. We will exhume ourselves. We will fight the curse and break it. We will cry and bleed and lust and love, and we will cure death. We will be the cure. Because we want it.”

And …

“I want to change my punctuation. I long for exclamation marks, but I’m drowning in ellipses.”

Now this one:

“I am dead, but it’s not so bad.”

And then:

“Even in my bravest moment, I am a coward.”

“Everything dies eventually. We all know that. People, cities, whole civilizations. Nothing lasts. So if existence was just binary, dead or alive, here or not here, what would be the fucking point in anything?”

And finally . . .

She looks up at some falling leaves and puts out her hand to catch one, a flaming red maple. “My mom used to say that’s why we have memory. And the opposite of memory – hope. So things that are gone can still matter. So we can build off our pasts and make futures.” She twirls the leaf in front of her face, back and forth. “Mom said life only makes any sense if we can see time how God does. Past, present and future all at once.”

I allow myself to look at Julie. She sees my tears and tries to wipe one away. “So what’s the future?” I ask, not flinching as her fingers brush my eye. “I can see the past and the present, but what’s the future?”

“Well . . . ,” she says with a broken laugh. “I guess that’s the tricky part. The past is made out of facts . . . I guess the future is just hope.”

“Or fear.”

“No.” She shakes her head firmly and sticks the leaf in my hair. “Hope.”

What are your favourite quotes from your current reads! Make your own blog post and/or share them below! 

Leave a Reply

