Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things On My Bookish Bucket List

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find all the awesome details of the meme right here. If you run a blog, I highly suggest you join it — it’s great fun!

1. Read 100 books in 2014. (Click here to check out my Goodreads reading challenge!)

2. Read at least half of the books on my Top Ten Tuesday: Most Popular Authors I’ve Never Read list. I was surprised at how quickly I managed to compile a list of popular authors I’ve never read, and this year, I really want to make a dent in it.

3. Read some more Australian authors! For an Aussie, I don’t read that many books written by Australians, so this year I’ll make an effort to actually seek out some of these authors and read there books. Any suggestions? Let me know below.

4. Don’t judge a book by its cover. I’m guilty of this one. Sometimes I’ll put a book back on the shelf if the cover doesn’t even appeal to me. Most of the time I haven’t even bothered to see what the blurb offers, so this year, I am going to try and push those barriers down, because I’m sure I’ve been missing out on some great reads.

5. Read some more LGBT fiction. I’ve read a few books that deal with gay characters — but nothing has really wowed me yet. Comment below with any recommendations!

6. Read some more self published fiction. I feel like I neglect it! My main reason for not reading much is because I don’t like to read on screens — I much prefer actual books — but I know that there must be some amazing reads out there which I haven’t read.

7. Gain some more followers! This year, I’m only just beginning to have an active blog schedule, and I’ve already notice a slight raise in followers. I’m going to take it slowly, though, and aim for fifty by the end of the year.

8. Review more of the books I read. I used to review none, so what I’m doing now is an improvement on that, but eventually I’d love to get to the stage where I’m reviewing every book I read.

9. Interview an author on my blog. How cool would that be??

10. Aim to read a wide range of genres. I kind of already do this, but I notice that sometimes I do tend to neglect some genres that aren’t fantasy-based.

That’s all for today on my bookish bucket list. Link me to your Top Ten Tuesday below!

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things On My Bookish Bucket List

  1. I have the same amount of books for my Goodreads challenge! Great minds think alike? :D For the authors, I actually want to read all of them and not just have, and I’m actually starting with Rainbow Rowell already! Don’t judge a book by it’s cover is gonna be real hard for me, so I’m not even going to attempt it! I love covers too much. Plus, it’s the first thing I see! You can read books in Wattpad, but they’re not published. There are too many great ones though, and if you enjoy Contemporary Romance just send me a tweet (@DivergentGryffi) and I’ll recommend some to you. ;) Gain more followers, definitely! I find scheduling posts hard. Like, REALLY hard. So, yeah.. Also, I want to review more books I read too! I find reviewing books with ratings 3 and below really hard! I can relate with #10, though I read contemporary romance. Love your list! Oh, and I added you as friend on Goodreads. :)

    TTT: Bookish Bucket List
    Dress Up That Cover #1 – If I Stay

  2. Great list –

    You already have one more follower – here and on bloglovin…
    secondly – the interview of an author? that should be easy enough. Sign up with one of those lovely tour companies. They offer interviews every now and then.

    Good luck with making your blog grow :D

  3. Woot! Go Aussie authors! I don’t read nearly as much as I should either…I don’t even know why, exactly! Are Aussie authors just not as promoted as American authors?? I don’t even read that many from British authors either. This MUST change. (Have you tried Karen Foxlee? She’s brilliant. OH and Lucy Christopher, too.) My TTT!

  4. I read lots of Australian authors. You’ve probably heard about Hannah Kent’s ‘Burial Rites’ (if not, read it!) but also worth checking out is Nicole Hayes and Sonya Hartnett. Hartnett is spectacular (some of books cross the YA/adult genre).

  5. Number 3 is somewhat similar to my challenge to read more FInnish books – it’s sometimes embarrassing to say I’m Finnish and that I haven’t read these Finnish classics :D Especially since I study something related to the arts sector.

  6. This list is fantastic! I need to read more LGBT fiction too – David Levithan and Malinda Lo are both incredible authors. I read 100 books a year too and it works out really well!

Leave a Reply

