Writerly Post Wednesday: On Having a Writing Schedule

Some people have a writing schedule. Some people don’t. Others write everyday. Others don’t. Me? I don’t. Why?

Because I am not

an organized

sort of person.

In other words, I’m a mess.

I clean my room, the next day it looks like a bomb’s hit it; I stack my books into piles of which I’m going to read next, but I never follow it; I write down a schedule of how many words I’ll write before/after dinner, but I never do it; I make a list of things I’m going to edit in my novel first, and I tend to do the opposite; I am not, not, a scheduled person.

I’m random and just extremely slightly insane.

Hey, don’t get me wrong.

I’ve tried. Really, I have tried.

But it’s just one of those things that for me, just doesn’t work, no matter how much I try. I can try and try and try, and still, I’ll never be able to stick to a schedule. Sure, there are periods when I can force myself to write one thousand words a day, or edit two chapters per day, but more of often than not it just doesn’t work. When I wrote the first draft of The Empire of Stars, I was averaging at two thousand words per day. But that was hard.

Some popular authors insist that you should writer every day no matter what. Nope, I think. Just nope. Don’t listen to them.

I mean, you can if you want — if having a schedule works with you, then do it.

But every writer is different, so don’t let other people tell you how you should be writing your novel.

Write when you want to write, when inspiration strikes, and your novel will be finished.

Eventually.

 

2 thoughts on “Writerly Post Wednesday: On Having a Writing Schedule

  1. I definitely think every writer should write in a way that works for them. ;) Too true! But I also think writers should try lots of methods, because otherwise, how do you know if it works for you?? I basically have a different schedule for each book I write. *shrugs* I don’t like sticking to the “one master plan” or else I get sooo bored. But I do need to work on writing consistently…argh. My bane.

    • Yes — that’s a very good point about trying different methods. I think it really does depend on the writer, and not only their ‘writing life’ but their personal life, too. I think it can sometimes be really hard to juggle school/work/family commitments and writing, too.

Leave a Reply

