Thursday Quotables: This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

15777621

Last week, I read This Song Will Save Your Life, which is definitely one of my favourite reads of 2014 so far. Engaging, beautifully written, it was impossible to put down. Here are some of my favourite quotes from the novel. If you’re a fan of contemporary realistic fiction, I would definitely recommend This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales.

To start us off …

“Sometimes people think they know you. They know a few facts about you, and they piece you together in a way that makes sense to them. And if you don’t know yourself very well, you might even believe that they are right. But the truth is, that isn’t you. That isn’t you at all.”

Yep:

“That’s the problem with life. You never get enough time to stare at your ceiling and try to figure out what’s going on.”

And:

“I didn’t know. I feel sometimes like…there are all these rules. Just to be a person. You know? You’re supposed to carry a shoulder bag, not a backpack. You’re supposed to wear headbands, or you’re not supposed to wear headbands. It’s okay to describe yourself as likeable, but it’s not okay to describe yourself as eloquent. You can sit in the front of the school bus, but you can’t sit in the middle. You’re not supposed to be with a boy, even when he wants you to. I didn’t know that. There are so many rules, and they don’t make any sense, and I just can’t learn them all.”

Now this one:

“But I also felt like an eggshell that had gotten a tiny crack. You can’t repair something like that. All you can do is hope that it sticks together, hope that the crack doesn’t grow until all your insides come spilling right out.”

One of my favourite quotes from the book, said by Elise’s father:

“The thing about being an artist,” Dad said, folding his newspaper and setting it down on the table, “is that there are always going to be people who want to stop you from doing your art. But this usually says more about them and their issues than it does about you and your art. Trust me.”

And:

“I was smiling like a crazy person because I has just made a hundred people dance, I had just made a hundred people scream, I had just made a hundred people happy. I, Elise, using my own power, had made people happy.”

Lastly, one of my favourite quotes:

“You think it’s so easy to change yourself. You think it’s so easy, but it’s not. True, things don’t stay the same forever: couches are replaced, boys leave, you discover a song, your body becomes forever scarred. And with each of these moments you change and change again, your true self spinning, shifting positions — but always at last it returns to you, like a dancer on the floor. Because throughout it all, you are still, always, you: beautiful and bruised, known and unknowable. And isn’t that — just you — enough.”

What are your favourite quotes from your current reads? Make your own blog post and/or share them below! 

2 thoughts on “Thursday Quotables: This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

  1. I LOVE THIS BOOK. Ermahgerd it was just one of my favourites of last year. Totally hit the TOP list. I love that one about artists. So true. I think I should write that down somewhere, actually….

Leave a Reply

