[Book Review] Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith

20615330

★★☆☆☆

2/5 stars

I read somewhere that human beings are genetically predisposed to record history. We believe it will prevent us from doing stupid things in the future.

This is my history.

There are things in here: babies with two heads, insects as big as electric guitars, god, the devil, limbless warriors, rocket ships, sex, diving bells, theft, wars, monsters, internal combustion engines, love, cigarettes, joy, bomb shelters, pizza, and cruelty.

Just like it’s always been.

I liked this one.

I hated this one.

And then I liked it again.

See how I’m in slightly a bit of a pickle of how I should rate this one? Yeah.

First off I really love that cover. It’s simple, and eye-catching.

I love it.

I shared a very love-hate relationship to this book, and after reading a lot of mixed reviews, I can understand why.

Secondly: let’s take a look at that blurb. There are things in here: babies with two heads, insects as big as electric guitars, god, the devil, limbless warriors, rocket ships, sex, diving bells, theft, wars, monsters, internal combustion engines, love, cigarettes, joy, bomb shelters, pizza, and cruelty. Let’s face it, that’s weird. Really weird. But not a bad weird — not yet. Babies with two heads? Giant bugs? Cool. And this novel could have been really, really cool, but I felt the poor execution let it down. So a novel with a weird sounding blurb that could have been really cool … just turned out to be weird.

giphy (1)

There was a solid storyline, yes, but somehow I felt as though the novel wasn’t centred around the story — instead, the main focus was on the characters. This is not a band thing, not at all, but for this to work, I need to actually like the characters. And I didn’t. Not really. The main character, Austin, was okay, don’t get me wrong, but there are better main characters out there. The main thing that bothered me about this novel was the way it was written. Its style was just not for me. Some lines were repetitive in an intentional way, and while that could be effective in some circumstances, I felt as though they were used too much (“I was so confused”, “You know what I mean”, ect…)

I’m going to end my review by saying this: this was not a bad book. Just not for me. Andrew Smith is a fantastic, quirky writer, and I’m not at all surprised this is heading to the big screen. I feel like it could translate onto screen very well. And with popular authors like John Green endorsing it, I can imaging that there are plenty of other people who love this novel. Just not me.

3 thoughts on “[Book Review] Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith

  1. This is the second review I’ve seen of this book. It sounds like one of those “you’ll either love it or you’ll hate it” books. As much as I like unique plots, I don’t think this one would be something I’d like. Like Emily said, maybe I’d try it if I could get it from the library…

Leave a Reply

