Friday Rambles: You Know You’re a Writer When… & Stacking the Shelves (4)

keep-calm-and-be-a-writer

Welcome to the fabulousness that is Friday. Everyone likes Fridays, right? Right.

This blog is in two parts: My Friday Rambles post, and a Stacking the Shelves post.

Are you a writer but you don’t really know if you’re a writer? That makes no sense, but neither does this blog post, either, so here are a list of things that you can tell if you’re a writer.

You know you’re a writer when…

You can make an innocent man/woman on a street, and make them the centre of the story including several gruesome murders, and undercover FBI agent, complete with a forbidden romance.

You start describing random things around you.

tumblr_mx5zmjzlU61rnvzfwo1_500large_Meme_You_know_You_re_a_Writer_When

You’re in a bookshop (or a library), staring at the amazing selection of books, wondering just how much effort as gone into writing them.

You realize it’s 3:30 PM in the afternoon and you’re still in your pyjamas.

You get the most awesome ideas when you’re just about to fall asleep. Or really, really late at night.

Three words my friends: Procrastination, procrastination, procrastination!

tumblr_mvsrw4Bm8R1qmg50eo1_500tumblr_mweam79oyN1rnvzfwo1_500

You. Can’t. Stop. Writing.

You quit writing three times a week — but never actually quit quit.

You daydream when you’re not supposed to be daydreaming. Like…school. Who needs education, anyway?

You research things that are completely random and might not even use.

large_Writers_Write_Comic061509c2aed0175f71d2b7872bbad2244d

You’re watching a movie/TV show, see an actor/actress that looks like one of your characters, and think: “If my novel was made into a movie, they should be played by him/her.”

You have bits and pieces of random story ideas, lines, characters written in notebooks, word documents, and other highly unlikely places you’ll probably forget when you actually want to use them.

You want to read ALL THE BOOKS. (No exaggeration, I swear.)

You want to fix EVERY LITTLE ERROR YOU SEE. (Have you SEEN some of the errors some people make on Facebook?! *shudders*)

tumblr_mtgcf1Xf3W1rq27uuo1_500 quote-Ali-Smith-you-never-know-if-youre-a-writer-234795

Stacking the Shelves

STSmall_thumb[2]

To know more about Stacking the Shelves and what it involves, click here!

Here’s my fourth Stacking the Shelves segment, where you get to see what I’ve read/borrowed this week! I haven’t been to the library this week (though I am planning to some time next week…) however I’ve had some money left over from my birthday. Woo!

 

DSC_0105

Today I bought: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell; Half Bad by Half Bad. FANGIRL! I FINALLY HAVE THIS BOOK! AHHHHHH! *fist pumps*

That’s it for today. Come back tomorrow for my first Reader/Writer Confessions segment!

4 thoughts on “Friday Rambles: You Know You’re a Writer When… & Stacking the Shelves (4)

  1. My flinch was a delayed reaction. I deal with bad grammar all the time xD
    I absolutely love the alibi one. Seriously. I’m genuinely paranoid about being accused of something because of that xD I also love the random stranger one. I can make up crazy backgrounds for just about anyone :D My favorite by far is motives, though. Why people do certain things. I just feel like a fake because I do stop writing. For long periods of time. My WIPs have been IP for too many years with little to no progress :/

Leave a Reply

