Friday Rambles: The Difference Between Reading and Writing a Novel

Colorful-Background-Vector-Graphic

Have you ever wondered, while reading a novel, just how much effort has gone into it?

I know I have.

I never used to, though, but ever since I started writing a novels, I realized just how much effort goes into writing a novel — let alone finding an agent, and getting published. Take this for an example:  I read All the Truth That’s in Me in a matter of hours; it’s only a three-hundred page book, and it’s quite short. And I thought: For a book that hardly took any time to read, so, so much effort has gone into writing. Hours and hours of writing, even more time editing, deliberating over plot points, deciding over insignificant punctuation marks (should I delete that comma or keep it!?), and re-reading and polishing, and re-reading again and again, and then polishing again. So here’s the difference between reading and writing a book. A lot more effort goes into writing one, than reading one. Blood, sweat and tears (seriously guys, blood, I once cut my finger on one of my manuscripts).

giphy (18)

This is also the reason why I hate giving books low ratings. Because I know just how much effort has gone into making that novel. But alas, I can’t rate every book I read five stars, as much as I would love to. I consider myself to be an honest reviewer/rater, and if I  don’t think if the book is good enough to my standards, then I won’t give it any more than I feel it deserves.

What do you think on this topic? Let me know in the comments below.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Friday Rambles: The Difference Between Reading and Writing a Novel

  1. I often think the same thing when I’m reading a book. They say easy reading means hard writing, and I think that’s true. It doesn’t affect my judgement when reviewing, but I do appreciate (even more so since I started writing them myself!) how much work, on so many levels, goes into bringing a book from an idea to a finished product. Amazing, really.

Leave a Reply

