[Book Review] A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

11788809

Summers span decades. Winter can last a lifetime. And the struggle for the Iron Throne has begun.

As Warden of the north, Lord Eddard Stark counts it a curse when King Robert bestows on him the office of the Hand. His honour weighs him down at court where a true man does what he will, not what he must … and a dead enemy is a thing of beauty.

The old gods have no power in the south, Stark’s family is split and there is treachery at court. Worse, the vengeance-mad heir of the deposed Dragon King has grown to maturity in exile in the Free Cities. He claims the Iron Throne.

★★★★★

5/5 stars —

There were three things I knew about A Game of Thrones when I started reading it. A lot of people die, Joffrey is a douche-bag, and a white-haired girl with dragons. All three things, in fact, turned out to be true. I’ll admit, I was quite hesitant about reading this book — there were mixed reviews. Some loved it, others hated it, and I found that I love love loved this one. Even though this was an 800-page plus book, I swept through it easily, and as soon as I had finished the first book, I just knew that I didn’t to get the next books ASAP. (I actually ended up buying a box set of all the books for $50 . . . Best decision of my life.)

giphy (16)

Simply put, this novel was pretty dang unputdownable. The sort of novel where I stayed up to 3 AM in the morning reading; the sort of novel where I would lay away at night thinking about. Essentially the story idea is pretty simple: Take the Iron Throne, but any means, but it’s the characters that made the story so complicated. One of the main things that occurred to me when I started reading was the sheer amount of characters the novel contained. There were so many, yes, and ordinarily this would usually bother me, it only added another layer of dynamic to the story. Another thing I loved about the story is the way that Martin writes, descriptive, fairly detailed, but not in the fashion where it bogs down the story, where you find yourself skimming over the pages.

giphy (17)

Now let’s talk about the characters. For the most part, I liked them. I found Sansa tiresome most of the time, though, especially towards her attitude toward Joffrey (“Oh, he’s so beautiful, with his golden hair”. “Oh, but Father, I love him!”) I had more respect for her at the end, though, when she finally realized that he wasn’t the gallant prince she hope he would be.  I can’t say too much without giving away some spoilers, but as a character, I preferred reading Arya Stark’s point of view; she saw things how they were, without sugar-coating it.

Who would I recommend this story to? Anyone who loves a good high fantasy with an intriguing plot, and a wide cast of characters. Yes, the novel does explore some darker themes (eg, rape, murder, insect), however it’s well worth a read.

That’s all for today. Come back tomorrow for my Top Ten Tuesday.

2 thoughts on “[Book Review] A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

  1. I can’t believe you know people that don’t like the book!
    I absolutely loved it, but as the series goes on it gets quite complicated! It’s great knowing the backstory when you’re watching the TV show though.
    The first series follows the book faithfully, I really recommend if you haven’t seen it.

Leave a Reply

