Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books If You Like The Hunger Games

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find all the awesome details of the meme right here. If you run a blog, I highly suggest you join it — it’s great fun! 

Today’s theme is . . . Top Ten Books If You Like X tv show/movie/comic/play, ect. I know that The Hunger Games are technically books, too, but for the purpose of this post, I am referring to the movies. They range from science-fiction to dysoptian — all books I would recommend if you have enjoyed The Hunger Games films.

giphy (23)

                                           27670521050729313455782

1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Okay, so yeah, this is an obvious one — but if you’ve enjoyed the films, then most likely you’ll like the books, too.

2. The Selection by Kiera Cass. This is a much lighter novel than the premises of The Hunger Games, where a bunch of women fight for the love of Prince Maxon. It’s a cute, fun read, that shares similar aspects with The Hunger Games. 

3. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. Strong on the character and prose, with swoon-worthy romance, what’s not to like about these books!?

                                             830685782351786186357

4. Divergent by Veronica Roth. Another obvious one, I think, but there are obvious similarities to be drawn between the two dystopia novels, meaning that if you liked one, you’ll most likely enjoy the other to some extent.

5. Across the Universe Beth Revis. This novel is a wonderful blend of science fiction and dystopia, a definitely recommended read.

6. The Maze Runner by James Dashner. Admittedly, this wasn’t one of my favourite dystopian novels I’ve read — yet it remains quite popular in the YA category, and has already been developed into film.

                                 1154446611235712768666716101128

7. Breathe by Sarah Crossan. In a world where oxygen is scarce and carefully monitored, this novel follows a few characters’s stories, and they all eventually intertwine together.

8. Cinder by Marissa Meyer. A mix of dystopia and fairytale, with a likeable main character, Cinder is similar to The Hunger Games in the respect that they an unputdownable stories.

9. Delirium by Lauren Oliver. In a world where love is deemed a disease, this is a fantastically unique dystopia which will definitely please fans of The Hunger Games.

10. The 5th Wave by Rick by Rick Yancey. A strong female lead, a post-apocalyptic world, and aliens. Awesome.

That’s all for my Top Ten Tuesday — link me to yours below! Come back here tomorrow to read about my writing process.

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books If You Like The Hunger Games

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s