Wild Awake by Hilary T. Smith

quotation-marks2

Thursday Quotables is a meme hosted by Bookshelf Fantasies. It’s an opportunity to share stand-out quotes from your current read; if you want to know more the Bookshelf Fantasies blog click here.

I read this book around the beginning of the year — and I chose it this week for my Thursday Quotables because the vast array of quotable quotes this book has. If you like a deep-and-meaningful young adult contemporary, I would recommend this one. Interested? Scroll down below to check out some quotes from the novel.

18044620


“People are like cities: We all have alleys and gardens and secret rooftops and places where daisies sprout between the sidewalk cracks, but most of the time all we let each other see is is a postcard glimpse of a skyline or a polished square. Love lets you find those hidden places in another person, even the ones they didn’t know were there, even the ones they wouldn’t have thought to call beautiful themselves.” 


“I buckle over, sobbing, my head resting against the hard shower tiles. I remember crying like this when Sukey died, the tears harsh, devouring, total. I hadn’t known I was capable of being so sad, and the discovery shocked and terrified me. It was like finding an extra door in the house I’d always lived in, and opening it to find that the grief had carved out new rooms, new hallways, an entire black annex of its own. There were dark places in my mind I’d never known existed, and now that I’d seen them I knew they’d always be there, lying in wait, even when the original door had been sealed up.” 


“I’m not the same. How could I be the same?” 


“The universe, I realize, is full of little torches. Sometimes, for some reason, it’s your turn to carry one out of the fire – because the world needed it, or your family needed it, or you needed it to keep your soul from twisting into a shape that’s entirely wrong.” 


“We work for three and a half hell-bent hours, until the keys are literally smeared with blood and my mind has been bleached to a glorious blankness, a lunar eclipse of the soul. The music is a castle I conjure around myself, a fortress of notes no feeling can storm.”


“The wired feeling that started when I left my house has grown into a thrumming, crackling, electrical field. I want to kiss Lukas. I want to dance down the street. There’s a reason people get drunk after funerals, and I suddenly know what it is: the flip side of sadness is a dark, devouring joy, a life that demands to be fed.”


That’s all for today! Have you read Wild Awake? Let me know what your favourite quotes were in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “Wild Awake by Hilary T. Smith

Leave a Reply

