Thursday Quotables: The Selection by Kiera Cass

quotation-marks2

Thursday Quotables is a meme hosted by Bookshelf Fantasies. It’s an opportunity to share stand-out quotes from your current read; if you want to know more the Bookshelf Fantasies blog click here.

In celebration of The One being released, I chose the first in the series for today’s Thursday Quotables. I know that there’s quite a mixed reaction to this book, but I have to admit that it is one of my favourites. Light, fun, The Selection has been compared to The Hunger Games and The Bachelor (the television show). A mix of intrigue, romance, and character, these are some of my favourite quotes from the novel.

10507293


“The picture of me just after I’d found out Aspen was saving up to marry me. I looked radiant, hopeful, beautiful. I looked like I was in love. And some idiot thought that love was for Prince Maxon.”


“No wonder I’d never had any friends. I was shockingly bad at it.”


“She couldn’t have been more than twelve years old. In her hands was a sign that said RED-HEADS RULE! with a little crown painted in the corner and tiny stars everywhere. I knew I was the only redhead in the competition, and I noticed that her hair and mine were very nearly the same shade.”


“I’m not so stupid as to believe that you’ve completely forgotten about your former boyfriend. I know you think there are others here more suited for me and this life, and I wouldn’t want you to rush into trying to be happy with any of this. I just… I just want to know if it’s possible…”


“My shoes I got to pick. I chose worn-out red flats. I figured I should make it clear from the start that I wasn’t princess material.”


“But you should know the love can wear away under the stress of being married. Someone you think you love now, you might start to hate when he couldn’t take care of your children, it’d be even worse. Love doesn’t always survive under those circumstances.”


“History isn’t something you study. It’s something you should just know.”


“He let out a sigh. With my head there against his chest, I could faintly make out the sound of his heart beating through his suit coat. It seemed to be rushing. His hand, gentle as ever, reached to cup my cheek. As I looked into his eyes, I felt that unnameable feeling that was growing between us.

With his eyes, Maxon asked for something we’d both agree to wait on. I was glad he didn’t want to wait anymore. I gave him a tiny nod, and he bridged the small gap between us, kissing me with unimaginable tenderness.” 


Have you read The Selection? Let me know what some of your favourite quotes from the novel are!

One thought on “Thursday Quotables: The Selection by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

