Friday Rambles: Things People Never Told You About Being a Writer

Colorful-Background-Vector-Graphic

Hey, everyone! I started writing novels when I was eleven, and it was not as easy as I had first expected. This was what I thought: all I had to do was right a novel, and I’d be able to publish it easily. Um, yeah. It’s a little more complicated than that, eleven-year-old Kara. So here are some of the things that I’ve learned about writing through the years — and this was what people never told me about writing.

It’s not easy. In fact, it’s really, really, hard. It’s a roller-coaster of emotions, as clichéd as ridiculous as that sounds, and like I discuss in my last point — not every day is going to be good.

First drafts are shit. Personally I love first drafts, the freedom of them. The fact that they can be crap, and it doesn’t matter all that much, because you know that you can always edit it later. As a writer, you need to learn and accept this: your first draft isn’t going to be perfect. It’s practically impossible to get it right the first time. So set it aside, take a breath, and edit. (And edit and edit and edit and edit and edit. Then polish.)

giphy

Me when I realize how much work my manuscript needs . . .

Not every novel idea you’ll think of will grow into a fully-fledged novel. I have hundreds of little, undeveloped ideas floating in my head. But that doesn’t mean that any of them will ever become proper novels. Some of them might even be

You NEED constructive criticism, no matter how much you think you don’t. Weeks ago, I even wrote a post about receiving criticism. And yes, it’s not easy to take some of the time, but it is completely, one-hundred percent necessary. You will need it to go forward will your writing. So toughen up, Writer, you’re gonna have to grow a thick skin!

Just because you novel is rejected by an agent, it doesn’t mean it’s bad. Remember this: the publishing industry is very very subjective. What might not suit one agent might not suit another.

You’re going to have bad days; just keep on going. Some days you think that your manuscript is golden, that it’s the best thing that the publishing industry will ever see . . . Then you’ll actually read thought your manuscript, and you’ll realize that, well, it’s not that great. But so what? You’re gonna have bad days; you’re going to have days where you wonder what possessed your to even become a writer in the first place.

giphy (1)

2 thoughts on “Friday Rambles: Things People Never Told You About Being a Writer

  1. Hehe…this is great and so true. ;) I started writing when I was 12 and I honestly had NO idea how books ended up in bookshops. I thought you must just submit them to publishers and they print them. Oh naive and funny younger-me. >_<

Leave a Reply

