Thursday Quotables: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

quotation-marks2

Thursday Quotables is a meme hosted by Bookshelf Fantasies. It’s an opportunity to share stand-out quotes from your current read; if you want to know more the Bookshelf Fantasies blog click here.

Here is one of my favourite books I read last year — fun, quirky, with a kick-ass and rateable main character,  here were some of my favourite quotes from the novel.

12578077


“Thanks,” I muttered and added under my breath, “Douchebag.”

He laughed, deep and throaty. “Now that’s not very ladylike, Kittycat.”

I whipped around. “Don’t ever call me that,” I snapped.

“It’s better than calling someone a douchebag, isn’t it?” He pushed out the door. “This has been a stimulating visit. I’ll cherish it for a long time to come.”

Okay. That was it. “You know, you’re right. How wrong of me to call you a douchebag. Because a douchebag is too nice of a word for you,” I said, smiling sweetly. “You’re a dickhead.”

“A dickhead?” he repeated. “How charming.”

I flipped him off.” 


“I didn’t eat all of it.”

“Oh, so it ate itself?” Dee shrieked so loudly I thought I heard the rafters in the ceiling shake. “Did the spoon ate it? Oh wait, I know. The carton ate it.”

“Actually, I think the freezer ate it.”


“I was feeling the height of bitchiness.” 


“I couldn’t stop staring at his mouth when he spoke. I bet he knew how to kiss. Perfect kisses too, ones that weren’t wet and gross, but the kind that curled toes.
I needed to stop looking at him in general.” 


“Am I glowing?”
“Like a Christmas tree.”
“Not just the star?”
The bed moved a little, and I felt his hand brush my arm. “No. You’re super bright. It’s kind of like looking at the sun.”


“You jerk.”

Grinning, he backed down the steps. “I’ll see you at noon, Kitten.”

“I hate you,” I hissed.

“The feeling’s mutual.” He glanced over his shoulder. “Twenty bucks says you wear a once-piece swimsuit.”

He was insufferable.”


“No. Sorry. You have spent months being the biggest jerk to me. You don’t get to decide to like me one day and think I will forget that. I want someone to care for me like my dad cared for my mom. And you aren’t him.” 


Leave a Reply

