Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books About Friendship

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find all the awesome details of the meme right here. If you run a blog, I highly suggest you join it — it’s great fun! 

Friendship, guys! Here we go.

72193                 20614787                 4327066

1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling. Not just the first one, though, but there is definitely a strong element of friendship between the characters, especially Harry, Ron, and Hermione.

2. Bird by Crystal Chan. A very well written middle-grade novel with friendship.

3. The Perks of Being a Wallflower Stephen Chbosky. I didn’t much like this book, but it was the third book that popped into my head when I was writing this post. It’s been a year or so since I’ve read this book, but there are definitely friendships forged between the characters in this post.

345627                 13406425                 162085

4. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. It took me awhile to decide whether or not I should put this on the list, but in the end I thought that it deserved a place. There is a strong emotional connection between Rose and Lissa, and friendship that spans across the entirety of the series.

5. Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian. What brings these friends together is, well, revenge, but there is still an element of friendship that grows between them.

6. Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard. Tormented by A, the five liars have a close friendship. (More so in the TV adaptation, but traces of it are still prominent in the novels.)

18189251                 12000020                 20615330

7. All the Truth That’s in Me by Julie Berry. Not the centre of the story, but the main character does befriend someone, who helps her learn how to speak again with only a stump of a tongue.

8. Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz. Their relationship eventually develops into a tentative romance — but begins as a friendship.

9. Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith. A weird read, but with an element of friendship between the two boys.

Only nine for today, but much better than last week! Link me to your post in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books About Friendship

  1. I did a double take when I saw All The Truth on this post…but you’re so right! I’d forgotten about that friendship…and it was awesome and so well written. ;) When I think of that book I’m usually stuck on all the sucky injustices. x) I loved Perks and I think the friendships were marvellous. xD
    My TTT!

Leave a Reply

