Thursday Quotables: The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

quotation-marks2

Thursday Quotables is a meme hosted by Bookshelf Fantasies. It’s an opportunity to share stand-out quotes from your current read; if you want to know more the Bookshelf Fantasies blog click here.

Happy Thursday! I read The Distance Between Us earlier this year — and found that it was a fun, light read, filled with sarcasm. Here are some of my favourite quotes from the novels.


15283043“So Caymen…”
“So, Xander…”
“Like the islands.”
“What?”
“Your name. Caymen. Like the Cayman Islands. Is that your mom’s favourite place to visit or something?”
“No, it’s her third favourite place. I have an older brother named Paris and an older sister named Sydney.”
“Wow.” He opens the bag, takes out a muffin, and hands it to me. The top glistens with sprinkled sugar. “Really?”
I gently unwrap it. “No.” 


“Sometimes it’s hard for me to start something because I’d rather not try at all than fail at it.” 


“My older brother, Lucas, is twenty and away at college.”
“Those are pretty normal names.”
“Normal?”
“No Chets or Wellingtons or anything.”
He raises one eyebrow. “Do you know any Wellingtons?”
“Of course not, but you probably do.”
“No, actually I don’t.” 


“Feelings can be the most costly thing in the universe.” 


“Growing up, I never felt deprived. I was always happy. It seems only lately I’ve started seeing everything I didn’t have.” 


“I slide my feet onto the seat next to him, my ankle brushing against his thigh. “No shallowness of breath? No rapidly beating heart?”
He rests one hand on my foot as he continues to mess with his phone. His eyes meet mine in amusement. “Are those the indicators? I might have an issue after all.” 


“This is me facing failure. This is me putting everything on the line even though I know I might lose. And I’m terrified. But like you said, anything worth having is worth the risk.” 


“Mrs. Spence picks up a roll of toilet paper from the counter and scrunches her nose.
“Ask Caymen about that,” Xander says.
Great, now I have to explain to his mother about my vandalism? “Your son called me with a toilet paper emergency. I rushed right over.”
She looks confused so Xander says, “She’s kidding, Mom.”


“Caymen?”
“Yes?”
“You look terrified. Does this scare you?”
“More than anything.”
“Why?”
“Because I didn’t bring my mints.”
“And now the real answer . . .”
“Because I’m afraid that once you catch me, the game’s over.” 


That’s all for today — have you read The Distance Between Us? Let me know what you thought of it.

Leave a Reply

