Beautiful People Linkup #1

This post is in place of my usual Writerly Post Wednesday.

bp_zpse3e72b07

This post is part of the Beautiful People monthly segment, hosted by Sky and Cait. Pretty much, this is where we interview our characters. Exciting!

Today I’ve chosen my main character from the novel I am currently working on: The Empire of Stars. It’s a YA High Fantasy which I am very enthusiastic about; High Fantasy is my favourite genre of all time.

1) What is their full name and is there a story behind why they got it? Her name is Evony Ironstarr — giving your child a middle name is not common in her world, all that is needed is a first name (often named after an ancestor) and a last name (the family’s name). There’s no real story behind her name, though her name means dragonfire in her ancient language.

2) How old are they, and when were they born? She is eighteen years old, but she does not know her exact birth date.

57ccdfa735c3c76d557cd50421e3e848

Kind of like this, but with a gaunter face, and longer hair.

3) Describe their physical appearance. (Bonus questions: 1. What is their race/nationality/ethnicity? 2. Do you have a picture of them? If so, include it!) Raven black hair, pale skin, green eyes. Because she spent the last three years in the Cages, she’s now gaunt and underfed, nothing like her old self.

4) Describe your character’s personality first in one word, and then elaborate with a few sentences.  Untrusting. She’s been betrayed by her family so many times she’s lost in a world where she doesn’t know who she had trust any more. Also, she holds grudges for a long, long time. She does not forget.

5) What theme song(s) fit their personality and story arc? Once Upon a Dream by Lana Del Rey. Every time I hear this song, I can’t help but think of Evony. 

6) Which one of the seven deadly sins describes your character? Wrath. In short: don’t screw with Evony.

7) If they were an element (fire, water, earth, air), which one would they be? Fire.

8) What is their favourite word? Justice.

9) Who’s one person they really miss? More than anyone — she misses her mother. Essentially, she died for Evony, so she can’t help but feel responsible about it.

10) What sights, sounds, and smells remind them of that person? The stars. Her mother taught Evony how to read them, their names, and their history. So every time she looks at the night sky, she thinks of her mother.

6 thoughts on “Beautiful People Linkup #1

  1. I was doing this randomly for a bunch of my characters and I realised I put “wrath” as the answer for MOST of them! Gosh, I’m not an angry person. >_< Haha! I loved your answers to these…and gosh that Maleficent song is kind of eery. I have yet to see that one. OH. I also love the name Evony! That's amazing . Not too hard to pronounce, but still sounds fantastical.

    • Ahaha, we must have some wrathful characters! ^_^

      I haven’t seen Maleficent yet either, but I’ve been hearing some really. really positive things about it. But that song is awesome. I use it a lot when I’m writing.

      I am SOOOO pedantic about choosing names, and it takes me ages to find the perfect one. As soon as I saw the name Evony I knew it was perfect. <3

  2. I LOVE the name Evony! And the last name is pretty freakin’ awesome as well :) I like the connection to her mother – I can see that would affect her a lot. Listening to that song as I’m typing this…sooooo creepy! I love the similarities to the original song, but how it suits the retelling. Which I still haven’t seen, and need to, pronto.

    Lovely to meet Evony :D

  3. I love your character’s name! (And the name of your novel, too.)

    Evony sounds like a really strong and fascinating character. It was great to “meet” her.

Leave a Reply

