Beautiful People Linkup #2 Meet Eloise Richardson

This post is in place of my usual Writerly Post Wednesday.

bp_zpse3e72b07

This post is part of the Beautiful People monthly segment, hosted by Sky and Cait. Pretty much, this is where we interview our characters. Exciting!

Today I am introducing you to Eloise Richardson. I planned on interviewing my Camp NaNoWriMo novel main character, but I already know her pretty well. Eloise is going to be from my NaNoWriMo 2014 novel (I know, already planning ahead! For once, I’m organized!) called The Surreal, Lovely, and the Strange. I’m uber excited for this novel because it’s nothing like I’ve ever written before. It’s a YA Quirky Drama. Here is a blurb-ish/description of the novel:

Sixteen-year-old Eloise Richardson isn’t afraid of being different. Heck — she’s a dyed blonde with a pet sheep called Avery, who listens to punk-rock, and has severe OCD. And not the cute kind. The medication-is-essential kind. 

Life turns surreal when she moves from the farm to a big city and enrols in high school so her mother can peruse her dream of modelling. Eloise is left with the burning question: What am I supposed to do with my life? Forced to explore her future, Eloise sets aside her passion for sketching and aims for a more plausible career . . . like working at Target.

Enter James. Cocky, gorgeous and smart, he knows exactly what he wants to do with his life. So naturally, she takes an instant dislike to him. But as he’s forced to tutor her in the subject she dislikes the most — science — a strange, surreal and sometimes lovely relationship is struck up between the two. 

1) What’s their favourite food? Chocolate, duh. Eloise would tend to go for a caramel flavour.

2) What do they absolutely hate? Big cities.

3) What do they enjoy learning about? Cars — she loves cars. You know, old ones. Something like this. She’s totally into mechanics and is learning to drive during the novel.

4) Who is the most influential person in their life? Her mother. She likes that her mother is brave enough to know what she wants, and is willing to take risks for her passion . . . Something Eloise wishes she could do.

5) What is their childhood fear? Moving away from her farm, which eventually happens. (Eloise moves from the farm to a big city when her mother is given a new job opportunity.) It’s always been a childhood fear of hers, but when she became older she realised it was something that just had to happen.

6) What is something they have always secretly dreamed of doing, but thought impossible? She’s always wanted to be an artist — sketching is her passion, but she’s too afraid to take risks, and really go for it.

7) What is something she is impractically afraid of? Eloise has a selective form of OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder). I say “selective” because she’s totally okay with working in the dirt on a farm with animals . . . But when it comes to a big city, and things that are unfamiliar and uncertain, she becomes very OCD about germs and cleanliness. And locked doors. And lights. And rearranging pillows. Her OCD with the city is her way of coping with change.

8) Are they a night owl or morning person? Definitely an early morning person. She’s used to waking up early on her farm before she moves to the city, and she’s never quite gotten out of that habit.

9) Do they say everything that pops into their head, or leave a lot unsaid? Eloise so does not have a filter. She blurts things out without thinking, which gets her into trouble a lot.

10) What are their nervous habits? Counting and biting her fingernails.

That’s all for today! What do you think — does Eloise seem like a person you’d get along with? Link me to your Beautiful People meme below. I’d love to read them!

11 thoughts on “Beautiful People Linkup #2 Meet Eloise Richardson

  1. Eloise sounds completely awesome! I LOVE that she likes cars – it’s so interesting to read about hobbies that are different from mine. I can imagine how hard it would be for her to move to the city. I’m sure she’ll be a lot of fun to write about :)

  2. Eloise sounds like a really fascinating character! I enjoyed reading this. x) I totally get that with the OCD though. I get a bit that way myself, just when I’m super stressed. I end up lining things up and then I know I need to take a break or holiday or something. ;) Ohhh, and your book title is the best!

  3. Well someone’s organized…planning a novel 4 months before you’re going to write it. I think that’s a good idea, though, because then you have time to really think out you’re story and make sure that it’s right for you. That way, when it comes time to write, you’ll know your story inside and out, and the words will just flow easily.

    Eloise sounds like an interesting character. I’m just like her and just the opposite of her, if that makes sense. I’m like her in some ways, but I’m completely the opposite of her in other ways.. For example, I love caramel chocolate and I am definitely a morning person. (Random fun fact: I used to be a night person and the last one to wake up in the morning in my house, but now I’m a morning person and I’m almost always the first one to wake up in my house.) On the other hand, I really think about what I say instead of blurting everything out and I do not like cars at all. I really do not understand the fascination that some people have with cars.

    Anyways, enough rambling. Great post, Kara!

    • Exactly! I usually pants my novels… but I want to plan this one somewhat as it’s s genre I’m not all that familiar in writing. I’m SO with you on the cars bit. I mean, some are cool looking, but overall I don’t get the fascination. But I was looking for some quirks for Eloise, and this just seemed to…fit, you know? I always have the habit of writing what I DON’T know. Haha. Well, it might be fun to research. :)

  4. Finally, someone who likes caramel chocolate! I love caramel chocolate, and no one has mentioned that until now.

    Hello! I’ve come through the linkup :)

    The answer to #7 was very interesting! I like that, actually. I like the quirky, weirdness of characters.

    Answering your question: Well, I’m not sure. I guess I’ll have to get to know her better. Based off what I know so far, we’d probably either be best of friends or the greatest of frenemies.

    the writeress @ barefoot in the snow

      • Yes, of course! I enjoyed reading about Eloise, and I’ll have to read some archives in the future. (After I’ve finished all the posts I’ve still got up on my laptop, of course.)

        You said your book is a YA quirky drama. What are the basic happenings? (By that, I’m simply asking for a short blurb of some sort. But I liked the way that sounded. ;) )

        I’ve a technical question for you. It seems you know how to make drop-down menus. How do you do that?? You have WordPress and I have Blogger, but the HTML can’t be all that different, so I figured I’d ask. I’ve been trying to figure this out for the longest time…

      • I added a brief description of the novel to the beginning of the post if you’re still curious. :D

        I’m not sure how different Blogger is to WordPress, but all I had to do was go to my dashboard, hover my cursor over “Pages”, click “Add new page” and added in the information. I didn’t use HTML or anything. Good luck with it, though, I don’t know if that helped or not.

      • Yes, of course I am! Ooh, that sounds interesting!

        Ah, well. Guess that’s one pro of WordPress, then. Thanks :)

Leave a Reply

