Stacking the Shelves (10)

STSmall_thumb[2]

To know more about Stacking the Shelves and what it involves, click here!

Here’s my haul of books lately . . . as if I didn’t already have too many to read!

DSC_0359

(From left to right)

More Than This by Patrick Ness: I’ve never read anything by Ness before — but as I’ve heard some good things about this novel, I’m eager to give it a chance.

Frozen by Melissa de la Cruz & Michael Johnston: Again, these are authors that I’ve heard of, but have never read before. The premises (and cover) of this novel looks great, though.

A Million Suns &  Shades of Earth by Beth Revis: I’ve been looking for a copy of these novels since I finished Across the Universe but for some reason I haven’t seen them around before now! I’m excited to finish the trilogy.

Hate Is Such a Strong Word by Sarah Ayoub: Aussie author, FTW.

On Writing by Stephen King: The pages are literally falling out of the copy I have, telling me it’s definitely a well-read novel. To be perfectly honest, though, out of the three (fiction) King novels I’ve read, I haven’t enjoyed them all that much. However I think his advice will be worth the read.

Shadows by Paula Weston: I’ve seen the susbequent novels in my library all too often . . . yet never the first in the series, Shadows, for some reason. These novels have been on my TBR list for ages, though.

Where She Went by Gayle Forman: I enjoyed If I Stay, though it wasn’t amazing. I actually have no idea where this novel is going to go — but I am most certainly curious to find out.

Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay: Ironically Romeo and Juliet (the play) is something I despite. But . . . but the cover is just so pretty. (And it’s fairly thin, also.)

The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin: The first in this serious was weird and oddly disturbing — I didn’t seem to love it like most people but didn’t hate it, either. After that cliff-hanger of the first novel, though, I am willing to take a chance. And besides, I hate not completely a series.

8 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (10)

  1. Oooh, More Than This is very good. I wasn’t impressed with Where She Went (not much happened, but then again I wasn’t in love with If I Stay either). I own a copy of On Writing and it was very helpful to me. Happy reading with your VERY LARGE stack of books, Kara!!! :)

  2. I really really liked More Than This! IT WAS AWESOME. But be prepared to ask lots of questions with no real answers. ;) I LOVED Hate Is Such a Strong Word, though it was a little too much like Looking for Alibrandi in my humble opinion (just swap Italian food for Lebanese food. Either way: food is good). I don’t think I’ve read any writing-advice books since I was like, um, 15? I know this sounds bad, but I don’t like reading writing advice books. I’ll read it on the internet though!! I just get bogged down in all the shoulds and shouldnots and then I don’t write. >-< I kind of DO want to try the Stephan King one, though, because I see the most epic advice quotes. x)

    • I don’t think I’ve ever read an actual physical book on writing before! I only picked this one up because I keep hearing that it’s great for writers. You know, I’ve never actually read LOOKING FOR ALIBRANDI. I should, one day!

  3. More than this is such a great novel!! I recommend going into it without knowing anything about the plot- it’s so much more suspenseful and surprising that way!

  4. More Than This is freaking amazing, I just loved how gorgeous and thought provoking it was, you’re in for a treat! Although beware of the loose ending.

    I haven’t read the Mara Dyer series yet but I’ve been meaning to and look forward to reading it.

    Enjoy the rest of your reads Joy!

Leave a Reply

