Reader/Writer Confessions: Reading Books Knowing There’s An Upcoming Adaptation

Here is today’s confession: Sometimes I’ll only read a book because I know the book is being adapted into a movie or television show.

emma watson animated GIF

6186357     8442457     11788809     22628     6990472

These are just a few examples of books I’ve read because on an adaptation. Either upcoming, or already been aired/premièred. Let me tell you a not-so-secret about me:

I love book adaptations.

Oh, all right. So perhaps most of them aren’t as good as the books . . . but there’s something exciting about a story literally coming to life in front of you, don’t you think? I certainty do! I also have this need to always read the book before watching the adaptation — I can never, ever bring myself to watch the adaptation then read the book. That’s just wrong! Then I start comparing the movie to the book, instead of the book to the movie. (Or the other way around? Now I’m just confusing myself.) If there’s an adaptation of a book I’ve read — then most likely I’ve watched it! (Uh, with the exception of Eragon. I was warned to stay away from this movie, although I am curious…)

See, the only reason I even read A Game of Thrones was because how people absolutely raved about HBO’s adaptation of it. Do naturally, I was curious about the show, but told myself sternly that I couldn’t watch the show until I’d read the books. Turns out, reading the books first was the right thing to do because they’re amazing. (It also helped that there were dragons in it. For me, dragons = automatic read. Hehe.)

game of thrones animated GIF

Also, this is my current read. (Note: link takes you to my Facebook Page. You should totally “like” it.) This is never something I would pick up if it weren’t for a) the hype surrounding it, and b) there’s an upcoming adaptation of it. Whether I’ll like it is another matter altogether . . . but I’m reading it because I would like to watch the television show when it airs.

What are your thoughts on book adaptations? Love ’em? Hate ’em? Are you, like me, influenced by an upcoming adaptation to read the book?

14 thoughts on “Reader/Writer Confessions: Reading Books Knowing There’s An Upcoming Adaptation

  1. *raises hand* Guilty! I did this with Perks. And then I ended up loving it so that’s always good. I don’t think I’ve done it with any other series, though…I read If I Stay sometime last year, for example. Or early this year. I can’t remember. But I am definitely guilty of following the hype-wagon – if people are talking about it, I’ll probably read it! Like The Hunger Games…

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book because there was a movie version of the book coming out. I really like book-to-movie adaptations, though. The only thing with book-to-movie adaptations is that the book and the movie always end up melding into one story in my mind over time. After a while, it’s hard to remember which detail belonged in which version, which can be both a good thing and a bad thing. Good because both versions complement each other, and bad because if I’m trying to have a discussion with someone about one version, I end up mixing everything up.

  3. I also love book adaptations when they’re done well and I usually try to read the book before watching the movie or show, but its not required for me. (For example, I watched the Perks moviw then read the book and loved both very very much.)

  4. I LOVE THEM. And, Kara, honestly, you’re like my twin or something. I read books just because the adaption is coming soon aaaaand I secretly love adaptions! ^_^ I know they get a lot of hate among book bloggers, but I love the socks off them. It’s like magic seeing my imaginings come to life. And I think mostly they do a fair good job of sticking to the story line. I think Catching Fire kind of set the bar really high. ;)

  5. It really depends on the adaptation. Some, like Perks of Being a Wallflower, TFiOS and Harry Potter, I absolutely love. There are others, though, that just fall flat for me. I know it’s an adaptation so it doesn’t have to be EXACTLY like the book it’s based off of, but it would be nice for the two to resemble each other in some way. Great discussion topic! :)

    • Oh, definitely. There are some adaptations where I sit thinking, What?! It did not go like that in the book! which can sometimes be a bit of a disappointment… but then there are the stand-out adaptations — like ones you’ve listed above. :)

  6. I’m SUPER EXCITED for The Maze Runner. I read it four years ago and Dylan O’brien is my main crush. If I stay looks perfect! I’ve just been disappointed so many times from adaptations. Hunger games and TFIOS were perfect. Divergent was okay. The Host was TERRIBLE. Don’t even talk to me about Percy Jackson, they ruined my child. City of Bones was also terrible. I always have high hopes but they get crushed sometimes.

      • Teen Wolf is my life. Basically. I’m worried about The 5th Wave, but Chloe Moretz is a great actress. Paper Towns will be perfect because Nat Wolf was amazing in TFIOS!

      • So excited for Paper Towns! Nat Wolf is great! :) I’m also looking forward to The 5th Wave — but I think that could either be a really good adaptation, or just not very good. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see…

        Teen Wolf! <3

Leave a Reply

