Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find all the awesome details of the meme right here. If you run a blog, I highly suggest you join it — it’s great fun! 

seth rogen animated GIF

13206760      6547260      6250211

1. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer.

This has been sitting on my shelf for months. Why have I not read this yet??

2. The Well of Accession by Brandon Sanderson.

Did I like the first one? Yes. Did I love it? No. See my dilemma?

3. Fire by Cristin Cashore.

Graceling was a very, very big disappointment for me. I did not like it at all — so I am hesitant in reading the rest in the series.

                                 8709524      Panic_HC_JKT_des4.indd      16068905

4. Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead.

Ahhh, I probably will end up reading this one, however as the series has continued, I’ve found that my appeal for it has slowly dwindled. (Most likely I’ll end up reading it because of Adrian…)

5. Panic by Lauren Oliver.

I’ve read and enjoyed a few other Lauren Oliver novels before, but I’ve been hearing some very mixed reviews for Panic, so I’m slightly hesitant to read it.

6. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

I know, I know. You’re thinking: HOW HAVE YOU NOT READ THIS YET, KARA?! Like Scarlet, this one has just been sitting on my shelf for months, and it’s getting to the point where I’m not sure I should read it.

                       13576132      16069030      17415882      8573642

7. The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings.

I’m not that into dystopian, and besides, I haven’t read many glowing reviews for this one. Still, it looks interesting.

8. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski.

Eh. I’ll probably read it. Eventually. I was really excited for this one, but then I forgot about it, and it’s now gathering dust. I should probably read it.

9. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen.

One word people, one word: HYPE.

10. Incarnate by Jodi Meadows.

I’ve heard that this story focuses a lot around the romance aspect of things instead of the storyline, which has what put me off from reading it. But the cover is gorgeous…

So there you have it. My Top Ten Tuesday for this week. It’s your turn, guys, I need your help: WHICH OF THESE DO I NEED TO READ, AND WHICH SHOULD I NOT BOTHER WITH? Let me know, and link me to your TTT below. 

31 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

  1. YOU NEED TO READ SCARLET. And then you need to read Cress. And then you have to cry with us as we wait for Winter. Not the season. The book :P I haven’t read any of the others, but I’m a bit iffy about The Winner’s Curse as well – I did see it at my local library, but despite the hype I don’t think I would enjoy it, really.

  2. I really enjoyed Incarnate, Panic and Fangirl! :) Incarnate was a little slow because it focused a lot on the characters, but I think the trilogy is worth sticking with because the next book, Asunder, was amazing! I think one issue with Panic was that I didn’t particularly like any of the characters, but I didn’t mind it too much because they weren’t meant to be likeable.

  3. I haaaave to say SCARLET OMG SCARLET. Although I know a lot of people say it’s their least favourite of the 3 so far, it’s like my TOP favourite. ^_^ Wolf and Scarlet are oh-so-shippable. I really want to read Queen of the Tearling too, although I haven’t heard very much about it. I felt completely MEH about Panic and The Winner’s Curse, which sucked, because I followed the hypes for both of those and was seriously underwhelmed. I nearly put Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson on my list! I’ve seen like everything from 1-stars to 5-star ratings on it and I’m sooo confused if I should read it or not.

  4. I loved The Winner’s Curse! Not what I was expecting but so good. Same with Fangirl. Both books just have such FANTASTIC characters. And Scarlet. Okay – I don’t normally like fantasy or sci-fi or cyborgs or futuristic stuff. But this series just works! And keeps getting better with each book. If you haven’t read Scarlet then you haven’t met Captain Throne yet – and he’s just … so awfully amazing.

  5. You should definitely read Scarlet! In my opinion, it’s the best book in The Lunar Chronicles so far! Even though Scarlet may have been a little bit cliché, the tension and suspense was perfect. I’m kind of hesitant about Fangirl too. The writing aspect interests me, but the fan fiction part doesn’t.

  6. Scarlet is a must! I’m currently reading Silver Shadows. I don’t know, man. My friend, Alexa, said it had a big twist that she didn’t expect (this is a big deal. She complains about predictability), therefore I trust her judgement. Panic was alright. Nothing too spectacular. Fangirl was great. It made me so emotional. I don’t know, but it really got to me.

    Finally, The Winner’s Curse was like Panic in the aspect that it was simply alright. I didn’t love it nor did I hate it. I think both are worth reading if you’ve already bought them, but they don’t need to be at the top of your TBR (*ahem* like Fangirl and Scarlet).

    Tori (:

    • Definitely I’ll read Scarlet and Fangirl, then — a few people keep telling me I must read it. Honestly I’m not sure whether I’ll even enjoy Silver Shadows, but I know I’ll probably end up reading it. Just so I’m up-to-date with it.

  7. I totally agree on the Queen of the Tearling. I’ve been forever stuck at 65% and still trudging my way just to finish it. I have strong feelings of dislike for the MC. This is a comment box, not a rant box so moving on! Hey, you’re not alone on not having read Fangirl yet! Rainbow Rowell virgin here commenting! ;)

    Really, a lot of people loved Brandson Sanderson’s Mistborn series. Glowing reviews over at Goodreads that’s why I’m itching to buy them all NOW. I’ve read Graceling and enjoyed it very much. Still, the other books in the series doesn’t sound as intriguing as the first so I’m also not in a hurry in reading them.

  8. I LOVED Panic. It is so different from anything else out there, so I think you should try it for yourself. I just read Cinder, Scarlett, and Cress and think you should get to those too. Such a creative and interesting series!

Leave a Reply

