Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That I Apparently Must Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find all the awesome details of the meme right here. If you run a blog, I highly suggest you join it — it’s great fun! 

1. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

Luckily, I won this in a competition the other day — and I have to say, I’m super excited to see what all the fuss is about. This is a novel that has been recommended so much during 2014 I’ve lost count about the times I’ve read the phrase “You need to read this” in regards to this book! So I’m looking forward to see whether it’ll deliver.

2. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.

I’m actually reading this one now. (See what I did there? Clever advertising of my Facebook page. You should totally “like” it. ;) ) I’m about 130-ish pages into the novel, and . . . Ugh, I don’t know. It’s massive, for a start — so that is really quite off-putting. But it hasn’t grabbed me such as an uber-large novel like A Game of Thrones did. I’ll finish it, I’m sure, and the writing is wonderful . . . I’m just not that into Historical Fiction.

3. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

This book was also on my list last week. Pretty much everything written by Rainbow Rowell has been recommended to me. There were a few months on my Goodreads feed where people were just constantly raving about her books. I really hope I’ll enjoy it.

                                 16143347           10964           16068905

4. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater.

Anther author that is recommended to me is Maggie Stiefvater, but in particular, The Raven Cycle. So I guess I should read this one, then? Any of you guys have read it? I’d love to hear your thoughts below; I enjoyed Shiver, but for some reason, I haven’t read this one yet.

5. Sabriel by Garth Nix.

I have a copy of this book! I’m constantly hearing people talking about these Old Kingdom books, so now I get to see what all the fuss is about.

6. Red Rising by Pierce Brown.

I swear all I have seen of this novel is five-star glowing reviews of it. I must read it. Apparently. According to the interwebs, anyway.

                                 15743650           21882134           15839976

7. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

I haven’t picked this one up purely because it does not  — at all — sounds like something I would enjoy. Yet it’s constantly getting rave reviews, and I know there was recently an adaptation released of this.

8. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein.

So apparently this is sad. But good, too. It’s the whole sad part which is putting me off . . .

9. Seraphina by Rachel Hartman.

Apparently I must read this book. It has dragons in it, so it’s a wonder I haven’t yet read it.

                                 19063           11925514           13160619

That’s all for this week. Anything on this list I should most definitely be reading? Also, link me to your TTT below! 

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That I Apparently Must Read

  1. The Raven Circle? LOL. Okay, out of these, you MUST read Fangirl, The Book Thief and Code Name Verity. You just HAVE to. All the rest I don’t care about.

    Hahhaa I’m kidding, I really hope you enjoy We Were Liars. Hopefully it gets delivered okay with all this rain! :)

  2. I actually have only read one of these and that’s the Book Thief. With that being said, I do really suggest it. It’s one of my favorites for sure. The writing is just so beautiful.

  3. You should definitely read We Were Liars. I thought the hype might get to me and the ending wouldn’t be as shocking as I expected it to be, but it was mind blowing. The Book Thief is also a great book. I love historicals and I really enjoyed the unique style of writing that Markus Zusak used. I really want to read Seraphina and Code Name Verity, too! Seraphina features math, and I love math! Also, Code Name Verity is supposed to be a feels-ripping historical, so I think it’ll be a good read.

    • Honestly not all that into historical, however, I don’t want to close myself off from it just because I haven’t previously enjoyed any book from that genre, you know? I’ll definitely read We Were Liars, though. Seraphina, too, though I’m not all that into maths, hehe.

  4. I’ve read 7 of these…. ;) And I have to say RED RISING IS AMAZING. Although, if you don’t think you’d like The Book Thief, don’t bother reading it. It IS 500 pages after all, and that’s a lot of time to be frustrated if it’s not your style of book anyway, right? Code Name Verity is insanely slow at the beginning but IT IS SO WORTH IT. I absolutely bawled at the end. I’ve got book #2 on my list because I’m just too scared to try it after the feels crushing wonder that was CNV.

  5. WE WERE LIARS!! My favorite book this year by far (and I’ve read over 70 books)! Gosh I hope you read this soon, I loved it. Outlander made my list too, and I love love love Fangirl. The Book Thief was also pretty amazing, IMO. Good luck with your recs!

    New follower via Bloglovin and Twitter! :)
    Amanda @ i solemnly swear

  6. I’m really looking forward to We Were Liars!.I’ve seen good reviews for Outlander, but I’m not a fan of that cover, and it’s huge! I’d like to read Code Name Verity, and I started The Book Thief but CoHF was released… it was good though, looking forward to getting back into it, the narration takes some getting used to though!

    R x

  7. Ahh you need to read The Book Thief! One of the best books I’ve ever read. I’m intrigued by the mystery of We Were Liars. I also really want to read Fangirl. Great list!!

Leave a Reply

