Stacking the Shelves (11)

STSmall_thumb[2]

To know more about Stacking the Shelves and what it involves, click here!

I am declaring this week the Week of Books. Here’s what I’ve got!

Borrowed From the Library:

DSC_0350

From Left to Right —

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen: 

I was stoked to see this sitting on a shelf in my library… not sure if I’ll like it, but fingers crossed!

Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken: 

I actually have a copy of the first novel sitting in my draws which I’m about to start reading, so I figured I might as well borrow the next in the series.

Steadfast by Claudia Gray: 

Okay, so I wasn’t a massive fan of the first novel. However, I am curious to see what its sequel will have to offer.

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson: 

I’ve read and enjoyed a previous Anderson novel, and I’ve heard quite a few good things about this one.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente: 

Phew. Long title.

Unravelling / Unbreakable by Elizabeth Norris: 

Another series which I’m eager to try!

Zac & Mia by A.J Betts: 

Never heard of this one before. But it has a cool cover, so yeah.

Night Vision by Ella West:

A fairly short-looking novel, I’m excited for this one. I’ve heard good things!

The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith:

I enjoyed This Is What Happy Looks Like, but I wasn’t in love with it. But it was sitting so prettily on the shelf. How could I not pick it up?

Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott:

I really love the title. Have no idea what the book is actually about, save from the genre, but the title and cover is nice, so therefore I had to pick it up. I’ve also seen some pretty positive reviews of it.

The Break-up Artist by Philip Siegel:

An impulse borrow. No idea whether I’ll like it, but it may surprise me!

The Year of the Rat by Clare Furniss: 

So apparently this book has nothing to do with Chinese astrology. Dang.

Tandem by Anna Jarzab: 

Oooh. Pretty cover. Pretty, pretty.

Won/For Review:

DSC_0349

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart: 

Thanks to Emily @ The Loony Teen Writer and Allen & Unwin, I won a copy of this. If you’re wondering what my thoughts were on this book, there’ll be a review of it on Monday.

Trial By Fire by Josephine Angelini: 

Thanks to Pan Macmillan Australia, I was sent a review copy of this novel. I’m hoping it will be good; it looks so promising.

That’s all for this Stacking the Shelves — What have you added to your shelves lately? :)

14 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (11)

  1. YOU GOT SO MANY COOL BOOKS FROM THE LIBRARY OMG. Out of those I have to read Zac and Mia, The Geography of Me and You and The Year of the Rat (although I do actually own Year of the Rat…). You should DEFINITELY read Wintergirls, because it is amazing. Also The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland etc. That one’s awesome too. And I did quite like Night Vision – it’s very interesting and different :)

    • I ended my self-imposed borrowing ban. I’d made quite a dent in the previous lot of books I’d borrowed, so I thought I deserved to visit the library. And of course, I couldn’t just pick up one or two things, haha. :) I’m really interested to read Fairyland (no way am I typing that out again!) so I hope it’s good.

  2. YOUR STACK IS SO AWESOME. Oh oh I really want to read Queen of the Tearling! SO BAD. I have to pay if I want to reserve it though, because it’s not at my library. Which sucks. *sigh* BUt I did walk into my library this week and happen to see The Girl With all the Gifts sitting on the shelf which I’ve wanted to read badly and I thought I’d have to pay to reserve too. You better beleive I zoomed in there fast. (I was hauling a 1yr with me who wasn’t impressed that we by passed the dvds to get a book.) ANYWAY.
    I hope you like We Were Liars! It’s fantastic. ^_^ And I own The Girl Who Circumnavigated etc. but I’ve never got round to reading it. I really should. ;)

    • I did enjoy We Were Liars! I personally didn’t think it as mind-blowing as everyone else thought, but it was a good read. I’m so excited (and nervous!) for The Queen of the Tearling. I’m hoping that I’ll love it, considering that so many people have given it such glowing reviews. Hehe, whenever I see a book in the shelf I want, I’m like lightning to pick it up. ;)

    • Sorry to cut in but i can’t help agreeing. We Were Liars was indeed a great summer read. I was surprised by how much I liked it.

  3. Oh my god, your library has THE BEST books for you. When I go in my library, I never find that many good titles that I want to read or haven’t already read!

    Fire and Flood was pretty good. I think yo might enjoy it. Although I didn’t enjoy The Geography of You and Me, apparently a lot of other people do, so I hope you do as well. Tandem was so…strange. I couldn’t get into it.

    And wow! You got Trial by Fire to review? Lucky. Can’t wait to see what you thought of it(:

    Tori @ Bookish Affairs

    • MY LIBRARY IS AMAZING. Though because I live in quite a central area, I actually have access to quite a few libraries. I’m really looking forward to Fire & Flood; it looks awesome. Trial by Fire, too, looks incredible! I was expecting my review request to be denied, so it was awesome to see it on my front porch. :)

  4. You borrowed some great books from the library. I’m really looking forward to reading Queen Of The Tearling when I eventually buy it. I’m trying to focus on the books I’ve already got on my shelf at the moment. Congrats on winning We Were Liars, and Trial By Fire does look really good, looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

  5. Yep, I was sorely disappointed with Queen of the Tearling… didn’t live up to my expectations. I hope you enjoy it far more than I did! :)

Leave a Reply

