Friday Rambles: Kara’s Top Tips For Blogging Regularly

Blog Banner FR

high five animated GIF

I’ve been able to maintain a fairly regular blogging schedule since I’ve revamped this blog and really put some time and effort into it. So today I thought I would share my top tips for people wanting to blog regularly. And also, I like lists, so double-win.

1. Schedule!

Scheduling is wonderful. It allows you to be able to keep track of your posts, and to schedule them in advance. In other words, it let’s to get on top of things.

2. Know what you’re going to write about in advance.

Don’t be flailing wildly at the last minute, panicking about what you’re going to post. (Yes, I’ve so been there.) But instead, have some sort of plan of what you intend to write about. Or at least, like me, have a schedule to follow. For example, my schedule looks like this:

Monday: Book review

Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday

Wednesday: A post on writing

Thursday: Another book review

Friday: Where I talk about whatever, really — it might be related to book/writing, it might not. (Sometimes I’ll post a Stacking the Shelves post on this day instead.)

Saturday: Reader/Writer Confessions

See how things become ordered? Now you’ll have something —  a guide — to follow when you’re not sure what to blog about. You might only blog once or twice a week, but that doesn’t matter. The same idea applies: Know what you’re going to write about.

3. Don’t freak out if you’ve missed out on a post.

Who cares, really? People will understand. You have school or work or both, and you’re stressed and worried, so you might have to cut down on your blog posts. This is what I had to do during my HSC trials, and what I’ll do again during the HSC proper.

crazy animated GIF

reaction animated GIF

4. Get out there in the blogging community!

There are some amazing blogs out there. Check them out. Read, comment, like. Make yourself known in the blogging community. You’ll received comments and/or follows in return, and that way you might be more motivated to blog in the future. You can’t just sit on your ass and wait for people to come to you. And besides, I’ve learned so much about how to blog just from reading other people’s blogs. The bloggging community is, simply put, amazing.

5. GIFs!

I never know whether it’s GIFs or gifs. So I just use them interchangeably. I know, I know. You’re sitting at your computer/phone/laptop, wondering, How on earth do GIFs/gifs improve the regularity of blog posts? Well they don’t really. But they’re awesome. And besides, they’re fun to look for. Sometimes I spend more time looking for the perfect gif than I do actually writing the blog post. Heh.

selena gomez animated GIF

6. Have fun.

Well, obviously. But what I’m trying to say here is to not let blogging become a chore — otherwise, what’s the point? I blog for fun. To show my love for everything book/writing related, and so I can express my opinions online. (I am a MUCH better writer than I am speaker.) If blogging is stressing you out, and you can’t cope with it as well as your day-to-day schedule, then take a break. Breaks are good, breaks are great. Distance from your online website may help to refocus yourself, and more importantly, so you can find the love for blogging again.

So that’s it. Those are my top six (well five, if you’re not including the gif one…) tips for people who want to blog regularly. Let me know: How often to you blog? And if it’s regular, then share your tips in the comment below!

5 thoughts on “Friday Rambles: Kara’s Top Tips For Blogging Regularly

  1. I blog every day. Every day, I force myself to check my Bloglovin’ and comment on at least 10 different blogs. Obviously, I have favorites that I’m going to comment on regardless, but I try to mix it up and comment on different blogs. I totally agree with scheduling! I bought a school planner (it was like $5. The only downside is it’s August-July and not January-December), and I write down all my posts there. I schedule ARC reviews and just reviews in general. It helps me know what to read next. I am a mood reader, but I like having at least an outline on what I should do next.

    Gifs (i’ve decided I don’t care what the correct terminology is, haha) literally keep me sane in posts. It’s so hard to read a review with gifs or the author’s distinct voice. Gifs make everything 10x more interesting.

  2. Yes! This is an awesome post! I’ve started posting three times a week on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays, and I love the structure that this schedule gives me. When I preschedule a whole week or two weeks of posts, it really takes any stress away, which frees me up to be even more productive. Gifs are awesome. ‘Nuff said. I try not to freak out if I miss a post, either. I never want blogging to do a stressful thing for me, because I started it for fun, and I keep blogging for fun. I know there are some people that say “think of blogging as a job and you’ll be successful”, but I think I’ll be a much happier person if I think of blogging as a hobby-because that’s what it is. And really, if I think of blogging as a fun hobby, I think I’ll be more successful than if I think of it as a strict job.

  3. Your blogging schedule is almost the same as mine! I find that schedule really help me, and I always schedule posts at least two weeks in advance. This way I don’t have to worry about updating it last minute and I can just focus on writing blog posts for the far away future. Awesome post! :)

  4. This is a great post – definitely the blogger interaction and getting out there and interacting is how your blog will become known. It’s also the funnest part! I find doing a post a day exhausting though, so I post about 4-5 times a week so people can catch up.

  5. Yup, scheduling is HUGE. I don’t know what I’d do without that awesome feature :) and knowing what you want to post is always a good thing :) just like a have a file with novel ideas, I have one with blog post ideas, as well. There are always some I can fall back on, like the recent thing I started with “book blurbs from titles” (bonus: it’s lots of fun!). My schedule is still changing as I try to figure out what works for me, but I mostly stick to the same format.

    And yes, I will definitely be doing a similar thing next year when I get to trials and the HSC!

Leave a Reply

