Book Review: Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

18163646Title: Falling Into Place

Author: Amy Zhang

Format/Length: ARC eBook/304 pages

Publisher/Date Published: September 9th 2014/Greenwillow Books (An imprint of HarperCollins)

Category/Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary

Source: Netgalley

Description: Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

4/5 stars –

★★★★☆

DSC_0425

I loved this novel.

And I do not say these things lightly. If you’re a fan of If I Stay by Gayle Forman, you will definitely like this one, too. But you know what? Even if you didn’t like If I Stay (I liked it but didn’t love it like I loved this) take your chances, and read this one, because there’s a high chance that you will like this novel.

There is just so much to love about this novel!

I’m sitting at my laptop, with Psych playing in the background (what? I blog to television shows!) wondering what I should talk write about first. Do I talk about the heart-wrenching storyline? Or the wonderful, beautiful writing? I think I’ll start with the storyline. I’m not going to recap the story — because the description is right up there — but I will say that it’s going to leave you breathless, aching for more, wishing that the story didn’t end there, because I just wanted to read more and more and more about Liz Emerson.

crying animated GIF

Warning: This novel will give you a bad case of the feels. And for most of the novel, not necessarily in a happy way. In a way that’ll make you want to burying your head under your doona and cry. Just for the record, I didn’t actually cry (I’ve only, like, cried in one or two novels I’ve ever read) but I can certainly understand how this novel would bring you to tears — or close to them, like me.

Amy Zhang has an amazing writing style!

Lyrical, but not overbearing, emotional, but at the same time, makes you want to read the novel until you’ve read every last word it of, turned every last page. (And this is saying something because I usually despise eBooks.) The novel is told in a present tense narration that makes you feel as though you are with the characters: with them when they find the news of Liz Emerson, with them as they are waiting in the hospital. Which, if you ask me, made it all the more heart-breaking.

crying animated GIF

Spongebob, FTW.

There was only one — tiny — thing that I had an issue with.

I don’t know what is considered to be a spoiler to people, so I’ll keep this vague . . . but I wish the narrator had been more clearly specified. I kept waiting for that moment when everything would suddenly become clear, when the narrator would . . . I don’t know, actually become part of the story. However, like I said, that didn’t hinder on my enjoyment of the novel too much. But it was a touch confusing. I only knew who was narrating it because of the original publishing deal thingy I saw online a year or so ago.

Overall? YOU SHOULD  READ THIS NOVEL.

I highly recommend it.

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

  1. LOL I love how we reviewed this on the same day. But talked about very different things (although we both agree about the amazing writing!!!). Now you mention the thing about the narrator, I kind of agree. I already knew who it was as well, but a reveal would have been nice. Oh well, still ALL THE FIVE STARS from me, because I loved it (and can we talk about how lovely that ending was??)

  2. I want to read this book so much, mostly because it involves math and science, which is really unique for a fiction book. I have a love/hate relationship for books that leave me aching for more, but it’s a good love/hate relationship so it’s just another reason to read this book. Also, I really need more novels in a lyrical writing style in my life.

    • I can never get enough of lyrical writing styles, especially when they’re done well, like here! You’re right about the maths and science thing, though I have to admit that some of it went over the top of my head. (Maths/science is SO not my thing!)

  3. WE MENTIONED LIKE THE SAME THINGS! *tosses pineapples in the air* And, plus, there’s serious blogger-twinness happening today with Emily and you and me reviewing it (I’d had my scheduled for like 2 weeks though, lol ;) and then I LITERALLY JUST FINISHED WATCHING PSYCH. I thought I’d better stop burning through Season 5 and actually get some blogging done tonight. Pineapples all round!!

    • I’ve had mine scheduled since Friday-ish, haha, but it’s pretty cool to see so many reviews of the book come out in one day! :D OH MY GOSH I LOVE PSYCH SO MUCH. Currently on season five, too (just started it, actually) and I can’t get enough of it. :D

  4. I am so jealous everyone is reading this book. I’m on a book buying ban until November so I can’t read it until then (I like to buy the books I read, I’m not into borrowing as I’m building up my own library.) I’m glad you enjoyed it. I have no idea who the narrator is which I am thankful for, can’t wait to discover it for myself. Great review :)

    • Book buying bans are awful! But, well, necessary in a lot of cases. :P Though they never seem to work on me for very long; I always cave in and buy/borrow something. This one was definitely good — so when your ban is over, I recommend getting a copy.

      • I have a huge birthday coming up in November and I’ll be getting a whole lot of books so I’m trying to read as many books that I already own before then.
        Falling Into Place will be on the top of my list when the ban is over :)

  5. I’ve seen this book everywhere! I saw it at the atore but didn’t pick it up, and now I regret that. I think I’ll pick it up on my Kindle or something soon enough. I love that it’s in a different girl’s point of view, but I don’t know how I feel about not being able to find out who the narrator is. That would annoy me. Great review! I’ll definitely be reading this soon :)

Leave a Reply

