Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Underrated Authors or Books in Young Adult

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find all the awesome details of the meme right here. If you run a blog, I highly suggest you join it — it’s great fun! 

Instead of choosing a genre this week, I thought I would broaden it into categories — and I think that the Young Adult category has some very underrated books that, in my humble opinion, deserve some more attention. There might be a fine line between what’s considered popular and underrated, so this week I’ve chosen books that might not be as well known of books such as The Hunger Games, The Fault In Our Stars, A Game of Thrones, Twilight, Harry Potter, ect. And yes, this post includes self-published novels. They deserve some mentioning, too!

harry potter animated GIF

                            16149368               99561               11043618

1. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken.

I finished this one the other day — I surprisingly loved it! One of the best dystopian novels that I have read in a long time. Definitely underrated.

2. Looking For Alaska by John Green.

Okay, okay — so I know that John Green isn’t an underrated author, however, I feel like people focus on The Fault In Our Stars so much that they forget that he’s written other novels, too. Looking For Alaska was the first novel of his that I read. And loved.

3. What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang.

Another dystopian novel that I enjoyed ready very much. The author is pretty young, too, and What’s Left of Me has one of the most original storylines that I’ve seen in a long time.

                            18483104              16120434              9394691

4. Soul Fire by Aprille Legacy.

The problem with being a self-published author is that there are so many writers out there who deserve attention and recognition, and not all get it. If you’re looking for a great fantasy with a strong, kick-ass main character, I would recommend Soul Fire.

5. Fairytales for Wilde Girls by Allyse Near.

Fairytales! Beautiful writing! Aussie author! Sooo underrated!

6. Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce.

One of my favourite fantasy novels! I read it in primary school, and I still love this whole series to this day.

              2722413              13414835              18599572              17162156

7. Evernight by Claudia Gray.

This was the first vampire novel I read after Twilight rose to popularity that I actually enjoyed! All right, so perhaps the main character was a little annoying, but she was also really well developed.

8. Shadows by Paula Weston.

Another Aussie author! Anyway, this was a really interesting take on angels, and while I usually wouldn’t enjoy anything in this genre, this was great. I can’t wait to read its sequels, and Shadows deserves some more recognition.

9. The Intern by Gabrielle Tozer.

And… another Australian author. In other words, it seems as though I think there are plenty of underrated Aussie authors out there.

10. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs.

Pictures! This book had pictures! Who can resist a good book with pictures? But apart from that it had a really unique storyline and loveable characters.

the hunger games animated GIF

What books are on your TTT? Link me to yours below! Also: Have you read any of these novels? Let me know!

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Underrated Authors or Books in Young Adult

  1. I really want to read Fairytales for Wilde Girls!! I love fairytales!! I can’t seem to find it at any libraries, though :( and I agree about Looking for Alaska – it was the first John Green I read as well, before TFIOS came out, and I absolutely loved it :D

  2. I need to read The Darkest Minds soon! Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children is a fantastic book! Definitely agree with you about its unique storyline.

  3. I’ve heard of 6 of these and read 3…definitely underrated. I really want to read the Paula Weston ones because I actually like angel books, and I’m just looking for good ones. (Like Angelfall! Not like Hush Hush!) lol >_<

  4. I wasn’t wild about What’s Left of Me–loved the idea and the beginning, but then got to be kind of formulaic. Still, I get the appeal. I want to read the Peregrine series!! So many books and not enough time.

  5. I’ve been meaning to get around to The Darkest Minds for the /longest/ time. I have the ebook, so I suppose I should get to that. I loved Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children when it first came out, but it’s been a while so I think it deserves a reread. Although I read TFiOS first, I loved LfA as well. Paper Town is probably my second favorite though even though I disliked Margo greatly. I’ve started What’s Left of Me but never continued it, but since you liked it enough to put it in this post, I think I’ll finish it soon ;)

Leave a Reply

