Top Ten Tuesday: Top Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED to Read More

YOU CAN ALSO ENTER MY INTERNATIONAL GIVEAWAY OF EREN BY SIMON P. CLARK HERE.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find all the awesome details of the meme right here. If you run a blog, I highly suggest you join it — it’s great fun! 

alone animated GIF

1. Kristin Cashore.

Author of Graceling, Fire, and Bitterblue, I’ve only read the first in that series, and I definitely need to give Fire a chance. I do have a copy of the last two books — so I’m looking forward to see what they are like in comparison to the first in the series, which I didn’t like very much.

2. Rick Yancey.

Author of The 5th Wave. I know that he has written other books outside of that series, however I am really looking forward to The Infinite Sea, which is actually being released really soon!

3. Patrick Ness.

Author of The Chaos Walking series, which I really want to read! I’ve read and enjoyed More Than This, so I’m hoping that the rest of his books are just as good.

6250211           16101128           21969786

4. Stephanie Perkins.

Author of Anna and the French Kiss, Lola and the Boy Next Door, and Isla and the Happily Ever After. I’ve only read the first in the series. Can you believe that!?

5. Amy Zhang.

Author of Falling Into Place, which was released this month! It was SO GOOD and I’m craving to read more of her beautiful writing. I know she has some more upcoming books, which I am super excited for.

6. Laini Taylor.

Author of Daughter of Smoke and Bone. This is the only novel of hers that I have read, and I need to continue that series. I really did love the first book, and I’m hoping that the second will be just as good.

                                 6936382           18163646           8490112

7. E. Lockhart.

I read We Were Liars, which, to be honest, was a little underwhelming, but there is no denying that Lockhart has a seriously amazing writing style. I NEED to read more of her!

8. Catherynne M. Valente.

Author of The Girl Who Citcumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making. I read, but did not love this one. A really interesting and creative story, though, so I will be finishing the rest of that series.

9. Josephine Angelini.

After reading Trial by Fire, I really want to read more of this author’s writing, in particular the Starcrossed series.

10. Paula Weston.

I can’t believe that I have only read one book by this author! I must get my hands on a copy of the rest of the Shadows series.

16143347           17172391           22087268           13414835

reading animated GIF

What do you think of my list? Any authors I should be reading ASAP? Don’t forget to link me to your TTT below! :)

32 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED to Read More

  1. Awesome list Kara :) We have a few of these in common – I can’t wait to read the other books after Anna and the French Kiss too! I’ve always wanted to read The 5th Wave as well, especially now since the sequel is being released.

  2. Girl I haven’t read a single S. Perkins book so you’re totally forgiven! :)

    I’be only read 4 out of your list. A) I’ve read Graceling and enjoyed it. Not looking forward to the other 2 books in the series though. B) Daughter of Smoke and Bone was also a good read. I wasn’t particularly impressed and blown away as others were but I will read the rest of the series because Laini Taylor is a frickin good writer. C) Can you believe the only thing I’ve read of Patrick Ness is the prequel to Chaos Walking series? It made me want to read the series though. D) We Were Liars was my first read from E. Lockhart but yes I enjoyed her writing style. I enjoyed that book buy I’ve got to admit if it ended differently I don’t think I’d like it as much (not that I’m partial to sad endings!!!). It was the ending that made the whole book worth the read for me.

    *Yup I just wrote a mini-essay* On 16 Sep 2014 05:31, “Diary of a Teen Writer” wrote:

    > Kara @ Diary of a Teen Writer posted: ” Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly > meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find all the awesome > details of the meme right here. If you run a blog, I highly suggest you > join it — it’s great fun! 1. Kristin Cashore. Author of Graceling, Fire, > an”

    • Haha, Stephanie Perkins is a pretty good contemp. author, so if you’re looking for that, I would recommend trying her books. :) I sooo need to read more Laini Taylor; her writing blows me away. I do suggest More Than This if you’re looking to read more Patrick Ness, though, that novel was so good.

  3. YES! I need more from E.Lockhart! I loved the ending of We Were Liars even though I was slightly confused. I’m so glad that you liked Falling Into Place. It’s on my to-read list and I’ve heard so many good things about it, so I can’t wait to read it. Also, it’s just nice when an author’s debut book is really good because you know that there is more quality reading to come.

  4. Yes yes yes yes yes yes yes you need to read the other two Stephanie Perkins books!!!! THEY ARE SO GOOD. Although I know contemporary’s not your favourite :P she does have a horror book in the works, though, which is verrrry exciting. I have Amy Zhang on my list as well – she is amazing, seriously. And I really have to read the rest of the Fairyland series :)

  5. Ok, Stephanie perkins I have her first two books and haven’t read either. Why I don’t know because there’s never anything bad written about them.
    Kristin Cashore. I have all 3 of her books and haven’t read a one so I need to jump on those as well.
    The 5th wave is another I want to read if not just because they’re making a movie of it.
    Laini Taylor books I need to get to as well because it seems everyone has loved her writing style.

    • I love Taylor’s writing style — it’s just so beautiful. If you’re in the mood for a good contemporary novel, then I would say give S. Perkins a chance, as she’s really good at creating likeable characters and romance. The 5th Wave is also well-worth the read… and maybe read it before the movie comes out. ;)

  6. Rick Yancey! Yes! I absolutely loved The 5th Wave and I always forget that he’s brought out another series before that one. I definitely have to look him up and grab a copy. Hopefully it’s just as brilliant. E Lockhart is another one that I need to check out as well, We Were Liars was absolutely incredible and apparently her previous books are supposed to be just as awesome. Thanks so much for sharing, great list <3

  7. I feel the same way about Stephanie Perkins! I’ve only read Anna and the French Kiss and I loved it so much that I have no idea why I didn’t read Lola right away. Great list! :)

  8. Ah ha! Bookish twins for Josephine Angelini (I love her name) and Laini Taylor! I nearly put E. Lockhart on my list. But, frankly, with my horrific reading habits, I could’ve put HUNDREDS of authors on my list. Whyyy do I never finish series?!! It’s not even okay anymore. *sigh* I’m going to attempt to at least finish Laini Taylor’s this year. Tick that off.

  9. You have to read Days of Blood and Starlight and Dreams of Gods and Monsters ASAP, they are both so, so amazing!
    And you should also read the rest of the shadows series ASAP I love that series!

  10. Ooh, such good names on this list! I LOVE all of Kristin Cashore’s books, and Laini Taylor’s trilogy is fabulous as well. I’d definitely suggest giving them a go! I haven’t read FALLING INTO PLACE or MORE THAN THIS or THE GIRL WHO CIRCUMNAVIGATED FAIRYLAND yet, but those (and several others on this list!) are in my TBR pile.

  11. E Lockhart and Stephanie Perkins are such favorites of mine. I’m also glad to hear you say good things about Amy Zhang. I saw her at a book reading, but haven’t gotten around to reading her book yet.

  12. I have a deep desire to read Josephine Angelini’s Starcrossed series after Trial By Fire. Right now I’d say Trial By Fire is my favorite read of 2014. I /loved/ that book. I need to read more from her.

    Great list :)
    Chelsea @ Books Turn Brains

  13. Yes. I really need to read more Rick Yancey, Patrick Ness, Stephanie Perkins, Amy Zhang (on my list) and Laini Taylor (on my list) too! I really need to get onto Josephine Angelini too – I’m actually planning on starting Trial by Fire later today.

Leave a Reply

