Friday Rambles: Fifty Things You Probably Don’t Know About Me (Part One)

Blog Banner FR

Hi guys! *waves* So I thought I would do one of these posts — you know, the whole getting-to-know-about-you posts. I realized, at two AM in the morning (that’s when the witerly magic happens, guys) that I haven’t done one of these things before. And I’ve also decided to split it into two weeks, because I thought fifty might be too much for one post.

So without further ado…

1. I’m home schooled!

(Yes, I do my school work in my PJs. I’m cool like that.)

2. I knew I wanted to be a writer since I was about six.

Well — I didn’t know exactly. But, in kindy, I remember writing my first ever short story for school, and thinking Wow, this is fun! (Or something along those lines.) Yet I never actually finished my first novel when I was twelve. (Started at eleven.)

(I know what you’re thinking: Where is this story, Kara? Can we read it? Answer: I think I have it somewhere. I’ll have to check.)

3. I think, quite possibly, I’m the most awkward person on the planet.

I suck in social situations, unless I know the people very very very very well. So that’s why I love the internet and blogging — I can delete, erase, rewrite things until I’m satisfied with it.

4. Favourite colour? Blue. Or red. Or purple. Does silver count?

Choosing one is just so hard…

5. I dislike any form of exercise.

There, I’ve said it: I’m lazy.

6. I suck at maths.

But you know, who needs to know it, anyway? THAT’S WHAT CALCULATORS ARE FOR, TEACHERS. Needless to say I dropped maths as soon as I could.

7. I am an insomniac.

Not a oh-look-it’s-taken-me-a-whole-hour-to-fall-asleep sort of insomniac. I’m a oh-look-the-sun-is-rising-already sort of insomniac. Luckily, as I’m home-schooled, my hours are less rigid.

8. I don’t watch many movies. BUT I LOVE TV SHOWS.

Game of Thrones, Psych, Sherlock, Modern Family, Supernatural, Pretty Little Liars, Lost — dang, the list could go on and on.

9. I’m a choco-holic.

That’s a word, right!? *reaches absently for anything chocolately*

10. I. Hate. Breakfast.

Scratch that. I hate mornings altogether. I’m a night-owl.

11. I could literally spend all day in a library.

But I’m guessing you already knew that one.

12. I am terrified of spiders. And heights. And germs. And impending exams.

OhmygodtheHSCissosoon ohmygodohmygodohmygodohmygodohmygodohmygodohmygodohmygod

You get the point.

13. Once upon a time, I never read anything contemporary.

it’s hardly my favourite genre, but I’m getting there. ;)

14. I’m not a fangirl when it comes to boybands/musical idols. But books . . .?

despicable me animated GIF

15. I have NO IDEA what I want to do after school.

NONE AT ALL AND IT’S SCARY.

16. I am a very, very sarcastic person. My older brother once told me I used sarcasm so often that he couldn’t tell whether I was being serious or not on some occasions. To which I replied, “Just assume that everything I say is sarcasm, and you’ll be fine.”

17. When I was quite young, we had two pet baby pigeons.

Well — not technically. Someone had left them on the street in a nappy box, so we took them in. I named mine Chirpy (which I stole from my bother, by the way), and he named his Uncle Feather. In hindsight, that was a much awesomer name. (Eventually when they were old enough they flew away. I was heartbroken.)

18. I express myself better in writing than speech.

This has to do with #3, I’d say.

19. I never, ever use brackets in my writing, but use them ALL THE TIME in blog posts.

I don’t even know why.

20. I’ve never worn jeans.

(Not including the times when I was a small kid and my Mum forced me into them.) I’m a skirt/dress kinda gal.

21. Ironically, I was never a girly-girl.

I think I played with dolls a couple of times? But then I have them all horrendous haircuts and got bored with them. HAH. Clearly I was not born to be a hairdresser.

22. Because I seem to really like irony, here’s another one: I own a lot of pink things.

I blame my mother.

23. I’ve always wanted to play the piano.

But my hands are freakishly small. So it ain’t gonna happen.

24. Speaking of music, I used to play the clarinet in years 5 — 7-ish.

I sucked at it. And I wasn’t passionate about it, and I was struggling to find the time (and motivation) to practice because I’d just entered high school, so I quit.

25. My favourite piece of punctuation? (It is weird that a teenage girl actually has a favourite piece of punctuation? …Probably.) The em dash!

This one right here: —

Phew! That was a long post! Stay turned for 25 more facts next week!

18 thoughts on “Friday Rambles: Fifty Things You Probably Don’t Know About Me (Part One)

  1. OH MY GOD I LOVE THE DASH AS WELL. I LOVE IT SO MUCH; IT’S JUST SO MUCH FUN. Either that or the semi-colon. I don’t know man I’m weird. Anyway.

    I’M TERRIFIED OF SPIDERS TOO. THIS PAST WEEKEND, MY FRIEND’S BROTHER CHASED ME AROUND THE LIVING ROOM WITH A SPIDER IN HIS HAND AND I ALMOST CRIED. Anyway.

    I’m an insomniac too. The kind that goes oh-look-it’s-the-sun-rising just like you. Also, I could spend all day in a library as well as a book store. I’ve learned that I never read my library books though so I just check out library eBooks or buy them. Needless to say, I’m poor as hell.

    I’ve never really wanted to be a writer, ironically. I’ve written four full-length novels though. I might get back into it, but I’m always so insecure, and I’m the writing editor meaning I just can’t not spot my mistakes and want to die of embarrassment. Plus, I have no time due to high school.

    SAME. OH MY GOD. I JUST SAID I HAVE NO TIME, BUT I NEVER KNOW WHAT TO DO. Usually, I’ll blog, text, do homework, or read. Or watch Supernatural. I’m slowly making my way through season 2. God, I’m so behind. My DVR is slowly recording all the episodes–thank god for season marathons!

    God, I love math, but I do hate mornings. (No correlation, but…???? This comment is getting way too long. Don’t hate me.) I hate eating breakfast, waking up, anything having to do with mornings. But I love having a new day. Isn’t that weird? I don’t know. I’m weird.

    I think that’s all I have to respond to. I might do a post like this :P Can’t wait for next week’s ;) I feel like we’re just getting to the interesting stuff.

    • I LOVE long comments. :P

      YES, YES, YES. SEMI-COLONS ARE AMAZING. I USE THEM WAAAAAY TOO MUCH THOUGH.

      Oh my gosh I would have crapped my pants if someone chased me around with a toy spider. (Hopefully not literally.) BUT THAT’S SERIOUSLY JUST CRUEL.

      How are you liking Supernatural?? That’s totally one of my favourite shows. :D

      I wish I loved maths. xD But me and logic just never ever works. Creativity? SURE. But not logic. :P I get the idea of a new day, though. But I think ’cause of my insomnia it makes getting up early hard.

  2. Love love love these blog posts about bloggers! It’s so great to get to know people better through this :) Because I’m awesome, I already knew about you being home-schooled. You’ve probably mentioned it somewhere (or I’m psychic). I’m so jealous of you and Cait. Although I do love my school. But yay for sarcasm, being scared of spiders, hating maths and loving writing!! Go us! Luckily I don’t have to worry about impending exams because I’ve just finished (I CAN, however, worry about the RESULTS of those exams…eek!!).

    But I’m sure you’ll do wonderfully :)

    Can’t wait to see 25 more awesome facts!!

    • Just say your psychic, Emily. It sounds better. ;)

      To be honest I don’t really like being home-schooled. I mean, it’s better in some respects (there’s less stress, for starters, though I generally make that up by piling it on myself; and you an have one-on-one sessions with teachers, which is alo helpful) but it’s sooooo isolating.

  3. This sounds like fun to do! #16 right there! I’m joining the club. Haha.

    I love Sherlock and the agony of waiting fir the next season sucks!

  4. I’m pretty sure I could challenge you for most awkward title, I’m not socially awkward, but physically. I trip over my own feet, smack myself in the nose at least once a day and seem to catch ridiculous illnesses like an infected toe, whooping cough, stuff that makes me seem like a snotty nosed kid again. And I’m in my mid 30’s. I must admit though, I’m shocked at the non wearing jeans confession. I’m the complete opposite, I live in jeans and never wear skirts. They don’t suit me whatsoever and make me look like I’m playing dress ups. Loved seeing the chick behind the blog <3 Thanks for sharing Kara.

    • Haha. I’m definitely more socially awkward than physically — though I DO tend to drop things ALL THE TIME. Oh my gosh you seem to have really bad luck with illnesses! I had chicken pox once when I was really young, but that’s really about it. Personally, I just find jeans to be so uncomfortable! They’re always falling down and you have to wear belts.. urgh, skirts/dresses are just easier.

  5. You have a favorite piece of punctuation too? I thought that was just me! Mine is the Oxford comma. (But the em dash is like, second or third. I can’t decide between the em dash and parentheses for second.) In fact, I named my dog Oxford and everyone thinks I’m weird when I tell them I named him after a comma.

    Oh, and I love your use of the minion gif. :)

  6. I’m also a homeschooled teen who fangirls over books, loves libraries and em-dashes, and has been writing for almost as long as she can remember. OH EM GEE WHAT A COINCIDENCE! ;)

    Haha, but seriously, great list–it was great to learn a little bit about you! And I’d say don’t worry too much about what you’ll do after school, I’m sure you’ll figure it out when you get there; in my experience, those things tend to take care of themselves. Just…maybe think twice before becoming a hairdresser? ;)

  7. I love this post, Kara – it was so cool learning more about you! I think I already knew you were home-schooled? But I don’t know how? I always wanted to be home-schooled – I think it would’ve suited me a lot better…but oh well. I finished VCE last year, and now I don’t have to worry about school ever again…Well, until I start university in March…eeek.

    I always wanted to be a writer, too. However, due to circumstances that I don’t even remember back in year 9, I stopped writng. :( And haven’t started again. Well, I’ve tried several times, but I never get very far.

    I am willing to challenge you for that title you mentioned on #3. Also, I am the same re: expressing myself in words rather than speech.

    SHERLOCK. <3 I am going to die waiting for series 4.

    I'm also very sarcastic, and people seem to think the same of me. Especially my family.

    I don't think I have a favourite piece of punctuation…I can't seem to choose. I am quite fond of the em dash and the oxford comma though.

    • I’ve probably mentioned being home-schooled in some of my other posts, so that’s probably where. :) Good luck with uni next year — I always hear people saying it’s better than high school. Being a writer DOES take a lot of time, that’s very true, but because I’m home-schooled, that cuts travelling to/from school off, so I probs to have more time than others. How could I possibly forget about the oxford comma? I love that one too. :)

  8. THIS IS SO MUCH LIKE ME TO A LEVEL THAT IS JUST PLAIN AWESOME BUT WEIRDNESS. ARE YOU MY LONG LOST TWIN? I DEMAND TO KNOW.
    – I blog/write because I hate talking. I never get out what I want to say properly. But writing? Yes.
    – I was homeschooled.
    – FINISHING SCHOOL WAS SCARY. Still is.
    – I’m awkward. Insomniac. LOVE TV shows. And fangirl only about books/movie/tv fandoms. Boybands? What?
    – Sarcasm is my language.

    Only I do love breakfast and mornings and basically all meals in general so I’m not say no to any single one.

    YOU’RE PRETTY AWESOME, KARA. JUST SAYIN’.

  9. Woah you’re home schooled?! That’s so awesome. :O There are many days that go by that really make me wish I was home schooled. :P I don’t watch movies either! Literally didn’t think there was anyone else who preferred TV shows over movies. High five!

Leave a Reply

