Book Review: Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

17623143Title: Dangerous Girls

Author: Abigail Haas

Format/Length: Paperback/388 pages

Publisher/Date Published: July 16th 2013/Simon Pulse

Category/Genre: Young Adult/Mystery-Thriller-A BOOK THAT’S GOING TO SCREW WITH YOUR MIND.

Source: Library

Description: It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives. But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations. As Anna sets out to find her friend’s killer; she discovers hard truths about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love. As she awaits the judge’s decree, it becomes clear that everyone around her thinks she is not just guilty, but dangerous. When the truth comes out, it is more shocking than one could ever imagine..

5/5 stars —

★★★★★

YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK. I DON’T EVEN KNOW HOW I’M SUPPOSED TO WRITE A COHERENT REVIEW OF THIS, BUT  . . .

anigif_enhanced-buzz-31308-1410511347-11

mind blown animated GIF

mind blown animated GIF

mind blown animated GIF

confused animated GIF

This book . . . I don’t even know where to begin with it. In short, this was the book I was expecting We Were Liars to be — twisty, mind-blowing, and just all round awesome. And don’t get me wrong I liked We Were Liars, but that book has nothing on Dangerous Girls. I’m not going to talk about plot too much — because how on earth am I supposed to convey my feelings to you all without giving away the ending? It’s shocking and twisting and it’ll make you think twice.

mind blown animated GIF

Couple the Plot of Awesomeness with really good writing, intriguing characters, and a non-linear plot, and dang, this was just amazing. I have to admit that I was not expecting this book to live up to my expectations; I was expecting a good read, so it should be, given the amount of five-star reviews I’ve seen floating around on the interwebs, but I was not expecting me to love it so so so very much. It’s the sort of book that once you’ve read, you lie awake at night just thinking about it.

A lot of people probably won’t like the way it’s been written. The novel is split into the past, the present, and the trial. Personally? I LOVED the trial scenes. They were thrilling — on-the-edge-of-your-seat thrilling, oh-my-god-what-is-going-to-happen-next thrilling. This is not a book you can only read a little bit at the time. Is that even possible? I swallowed this book whole in a few hours (not literally guys, don’t worry), and even then, all I wanted was more of Haas’s writing.

I’ll be reading Dangerous Boys for sure, though I don’t know how it’s going to live up to Dangerous Girls!

My advice to you: If you like a good mystery/thriller with unpredictable characters, then READ THIS BOOK. I feel like it’s not only a mystery/thriller that a teen would like, but someone older, too. So what are you waiting for? Read this book!

surprised animated GIF

Have you read Dangerous Girls? What did you think of it??

20 thoughts on “Book Review: Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

  1. YES YES YES I’M SO GLAD YOU LOVED IT KARA!!! I wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did, either, after the disappointment of We Were Liars.

    “Young Adult/Mystery-Thriller-A BOOK THAT’S GOING TO SCREW WITH YOUR MIND.”

    Lol basically. I could NOT stop thinking about this book. I had to reread the last few pages just to make sure I knew what had happened. (and that my guess was RIGHT. MWAHAHAA that never happens).

    We both definitely have to read Dangerous Boys.

  2. Awesome review Kara :) I NEEEEED TO READ THIS BOOK (even more so after reading this review) The worst thing is that I bought it ages ago and actually do have a copy but I haven’t read it yet. This holidays I know what I’m going to have to do…

  3. Wonderful review, Kara! I obviously need to get off my butt and read this already! Seeing as how everyone was talking about it, I went ahead and ordered a copy. I’ve had a copy for about 3 weeks now, and I haven’t even picked it up yet. It’s evident by all of those GIF’s that I really need too.

  4. YYYEEESSS! So glad you enjoyed this so much Kara! :D This is one of my favorite books of 2014 thus far, and it makes me so happy that everyone else is enjoying it so much too! :D I completely agree about how mind-boggling and thrilling it is, and that the writing and characters were spectacular. And OMG! THAT ENDING! So intense, right? Thanks for sharing Kara, and, as always, BRILLIANT review! So glad you enjoyed it! :D

    I win. ;)

  5. YESSS Dangerous Girls is one of my top novels of 2014, it is SO FREAKING AWESOME and mind blowing. I couldn’t stop thinking about it, and I’m glad it filled the gaping hole that you thought We Were liars could fill. Awesome review Kara! Glad you enjoyed it.

  6. WHOOOOT A WELL DESERVED 5 STARS. So very happy to see that you enjoyed this one as well, Kara XD Its one of my favourite mystery novels of all time, its just too freaking genius.

    Lovely review, girly <33

  7. I’m looking forward to this one…CRIME is such a cool genre! (Especially with weird, unpredictable characters)…and I think the message of this review is that it will leave you mind blown. I’m not sure though, I don’t think it was very obvious. :D (I loved the gifs!)

  8. I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT. LIKE I LOVED IT IN A WAY THAT MY HEAD MIGHT EXPLODE. I just felt so utterly robbed at the ending. Like I’d placed my trust in certain people and — BOOM — it all just went up in flames at me. MY MIND WAS TOTALLY MESSED WITH. And I loved it. Ermagersh. If I could ever write half as good as this….I would be very happy.

  9. YES! I LOVED THIS! Such a brilliant book and so underrated, so happy it’s starting to get more love on the blogosphere. I could not get enough of this book, I stayed up till 3am just so I could finish it. I knew who had done it, but the end still got me. Such a brilliant book.

  10. I have this one, but I desperately need to read it. ASAP. Even more so than We Were Liars, everyone I’ve seen so far agrees with you, that’s a whole lotta mind blowing! The fact that it has nothing on Dangerous Girls? I have to read it. Now. Brilliant review Kara, I thrilled you loved it <3

  11. Oh man I really need to read this! I’ve been seeing SO MANY GOOD THINGS about it, and I simply cannot put it off any longer! Now I just need a way to get it. I’m broke and poor and need to pay for my website still lol. I just…library maybe. If my library is awesome enough to have this book. Great review! I’m definitely going to be reading this now. :3

Leave a Reply

