Sunday Weekly Wrap Up (31) & Stacking the Shelves (15)

Sunday weekly wrap up

It’s Sunday, so let me introduce you to yet another Monday gif!

Oh, so accurate. The HSC has been drawing closer and closer, and I’m doing okay, but I kind of just want it all to be over, you know? This week has been fairly uneventful — more school, writing, and procrastination.

Let’s take a closer look at what’s happened this week:

  • I really wondered what on earth possessed me to take both Legal Studies and Ancient History. They’re both subjects that have a lot in them, and remembering everything is freakin’ hard.
  • Yesterday was the last day to enter the international giveaway of Eren, and I’ll be drawing the winner randomly later on. If you entered, keep an eye on your email!
  • I finished editing chapter two of The Empire of Stars. Now moving onto chapter three — and this is where things get sticky, as I’m changing a lot more than I first anticipated.
  • I realized I really, really need to split the chapters in The Empire of Stars up more: chapter one 9049 words; chapter two is 12353 words. God knows how long the third chapter is going to be.
  • I made a vow to GIVE UP SUGAR. Chocolate in particular. Can Kara do it? STAY TUNED TO FIND OUT. (Spoiler: probably not.)
  • I have made it my goal to finish the second draft of The Empire of Stars by the end of October. (So I can compete it NaNoWriMo.) This is a very tenuous goal… I don’t think I’ll be able to complete it, but– DANG IT, I WILL DO IT. (Positive thinking works, yes?)
  • Stacking the Shelves!

STSmall_thumb[2]

This is the meme where you can highlight books you’ve bought/borrowed/gifted/received for review. You can read more on the meme and how to get involved here!

DSC_0537

Cooper Bartholomew is Dead by Rebecca James:

Thank you Eugenia and Allen & Unwin for this copy! (And yes, it came tied like this. How cute!!)

Won this book, and devoured it only a few hours. So well-written with engaging characters and thrilling storyline.

Here’s a quick recap of what happened on the blog this week:

What can you expect from me next week?

  • Book review of Every Ugly Word and Cooper Bartholomew is Dead
  • Top Ten Tuesday
  • Worldbuilding: Part One
  • Friday Photography
  • Reader/Writer Confessions

NOTE: Due to HSC, it’ll probably be taking me a lot longer to reply to comments/comment on your blogs. Just so you’re aware. :)

 

18 thoughts on “Sunday Weekly Wrap Up (31) & Stacking the Shelves (15)

  1. I hope you’re doing okay with the HSC, Kara <3 YOU CAN DO IT. Yeah, even prelim legal studies was sooo much to remember. Thank goodness I'm not doing ancient as well! But you'll be fine :D

    GIVING UP CHOCOLATE? WHAT IS THIS? I WISH YOU LUCK ON YOUR CRAZY JOURNEY. And on Empire of Stars :D I'm still tossing up whether to do NaNoWriMo or not…

    Dude, I so so so want to read Cooper Bartholemew is Dead. Like, right now. Immediately. I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

    • I love (okay, maybe that’s too strong of a word…) both Ancient History and Legal Studies… I just couldn’t give one up!

      I KNOW. I MUST BE COMPLETELY INSANE TO GIVE UP CHOCOLATE. WHAT WAS I THINKING??

      And yes, yes, yes! You should definitely do NaNoWriMo!!!!!

  2. Good luck with the HSC Kara, I hope you do well! Sounds like you had a pretty productive writing week which is awesome. I think our body needs sugar to function, good luck for your vow! I’m excited you won Cooper B is Dead, it was such a fantastic book.

  3. I know it doesn’t feel like it now, but the HSC will be over soon. I took Legal studies, and dropped Ancient History after year eleven.
    Those chapters are really long and I agree that you should break them up a bit more.
    Good luck with giving up sugar, If I were you I would have waited until after the HSC to try and give up sugar.
    I won a copy of Cooper B is dead too! It was a nice surprise when I pulled it out and it had that little ribbon around it.
    Good luck with the rest of your HSC :)

  4. GOOD LUCK FOR THE HSC. Ugh, the tension. But you can’t even reward yourself with chocolate when you’re all finished?! THAT IS TRUE PAIN. Although I don’t eat sugar actually, like…not ever. *shrugs* I’ve stopped missing it, but it kills when you begin. I still eat chocolate though (sugar free stuff) because chocolate is life and I wish to live. *nods* Legit argument there.
    Anyway. ;) I’m crossing my fingers for Eren. XD And that monday gif was still epic. And wooooah those chapters are intense. 9K?!! I think yes to maybe splitting them up sometime.

    • HAHA, I chose such a bad time to give up chocolate, didn’t I?? Maybe I should have waited until AFTER all my exams/stress is over. Oh well. I was feeling particularly inspired last night, so I thought “Why not?” Now I’m thinking, “WHY OH WHY DID I DO THIS?”

      Yep. Chapters are definitely going to be split. I just have to figure out where.

  5. Best wishes for your exams in the HSC Kara! :) Good luck with cutting the sugar (I don’t know how I could live with cutting it completely but I’m sure with sheer determination it’s possible!) Glad to hear you liked Cooper Bartholomew is Dead as well, and that your writing is also progressing :)

  6. AHHHH, I’m so glad you enjoyed Cooper Bartholomew is Dead! I’ve had my eye on it for SO LONG (okay a month maybe) and I’ve been wondering if it’s good or not. Can’t wait to see what you think :D

    Good luck with your giving up sugar endeavors. I don’t eat a lot of chocolate but I sure as hell know I couldn’t pull that off.

Leave a Reply

