Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find all the awesome details of the meme right here. If you run a blog, I highly suggest you join it — it’s great fun! 

136364001. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon.

This book . . . Urgh, there was so much hype around it, and it just took me forever to get through. I didn’t like it much either.

183157882. The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas.

ALL THE FEELS. SAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAM.

*sobs for eternity*

187128863. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen.

Oh, wow. This book was the most disappointing I’ve read all year. Not only it did fall way below what I was expecting, but it was really hard for me to read — the writing style was good enough… but it was boring. And just overall not very good.

215690984. The Break-Up Artist by Philip Siegel.

If you want to know why this was so hard for me to read, just read my review. Pretty much sums everything up.

118700855. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

Note: I LOVE THIS BOOK. IT BROKE MY HEART AND I LOVED EVERY WORD OF IT. But . . . Cancer is a tricky, depressing topic, yes? It was hard for me to read, as it was obvious it was not going to have a happy ending.

6. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime by Mark Haddon. 3438

I had to read this book for school, and to be honest, despite its glowing reviews, it was not for me. The basic narration style (understandably so, considering Christopher’s condition) annoyed me to no end, and I found myself using any excuse to put this down any chance that I could.

824347. Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta.

Again, another required reading book. I had to actually force myself to finish this. I know what you’re thinking — But Kara, everyone loves this book! And that they seem to do. But I did not. I’m yet to pick up another of Marchetta’s novels. She’s a good writer, don’t get me wrong, just not for me.

8. Under the Dome by Stephen King.6470269

I guess enjoyed this? Really, I did. BUT IT WAS SO HARD TO GET THROUGH.

9. Side Effects May Var15728577y by Julie Murphy.

Oh, this book. This book was not, in my opinion, good at all. The main character, Alice, was so dislikeable that for me it was really, really hard not to DNF this book and finish it. And the plot? Non-existent, mainly.

10. Ink / Rain by Amanda Sun.13423346

I loved the concept of these books. I loved the culture and mythology and setting which was so, so unique. But the execution was where it fell flat to me, along with the characters and writing; that was what made it hard to get through. (Note: Ink is the first in the series, Rain is its seuqel.)

That’s it for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday. Tell me what you think and link me to yours, below!

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read

  1. I’ve had Saving Francesca on my TBR for the longest time but just never got around to it. Perhaps this is a sign that it should be kept on the backbench for longer! I actually liked the Bone Season, despite all those info dumps, but it may have been because I was in one of those “reading moods” at the time. And Woo! I will not be touching The Queen of Tearling with even a ten foot pole. Great list!

    • Haha, I don’t mean to put you off these books! I just think the majority of them (Tearling and Bone Season) were for me. I get what you mean about reading books, though — I think perhaps if I’d read Bone Season at another time, I might have liked it.

  2. I agree about the Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime. I’ve tried to read it before and the writing style just won’t click with me. Maybe someday!

  3. I TOTALLY agree with you for Side Effects. URGH. *shakes book and glares at it* I couldn’t understand Alice’s serious cruetly. Not. at. all.
    The Assassin’s Blade should’ve come with a this-will-rip-your-heart-out-and-stomp-on-it warning label. THAT WOULD’VE BEEN HELPFUL.
    I didn’t like The Bone Season at all either. -_-
    Here’s my TTT!

  4. I’ve read a bit of The Bone Season… maybe a chapter or two… and I feel like I’m missing something to commit to it completely. And I’m so sad to hear that about Queen of Tearling! I’ve heard so many things about it that I have it high-ish on my TBR list. I’m going to have to give it a try, nonetheless.

    Great list!
    Chelsea @ Books Turn Brains

  5. Oh, I’m sorry to hear The Bone Season wasn’t that good! I’ve heard so many good things about that book and have been wanting to read it for a while. :P THE FAULT IN OUR STARS. I NEED TO REREAD THAT FOR THE THIRD TIME. Side Effects May Vary, lol. I didn’t even try to get through this one.

  6. I remember seeing a photo Cait posted of the Bone Season, it honestly looked like a house brick. Someone in the world someone could be building a house out of all the bargain bin copies. Under The Dome was a killer! I love the TV series, but gosh that thing was HUGE! I had to abandon the paperback because I was cramping and I’m sure I’ve got RSI due to it. So bought a Kindle copy. But completely agree, it was a hard slog to get through. Nice list Kara, I won’t even start on TFIOS and John Green. Still waiting for that man to give me a happy ending.

    Thanks for sharing <3

  7. I like The Fault In Our Stars. It was definitely interesting (I wanted to say it was ‘unique’ but i’m not sure if that’s entirely true). I had to read The Curious Incident for university. I liked it because it was so unusual but I can immediately see why someone would find it frustrating. It’s so funny you should say that about The Bone Season because I’m also having trouble getting into it. I’m gonna keep trying though.

    There’s a lot of books in this list I haven’t heard of. Man, my TBR can’t take much more. Anyway, thanks for sharing!

    • I hope you like The Bone Season more than me. I think that’s the sort of book people are going to love… or they’re just not. I really wanted to love it, but I just found it so dull. I feel your pain with the TBR list… Mine is horrendously overflowing. And constantly multiplying!

Leave a Reply

