Book Review: Sacrifice by Brigid Kemmerer

20765307Title: Sacrifice

Author: Brigid Kemmerer

Format/Length: Paperback/267 pages

Publisher/Date Published: September 24th 2014/Allen & Unwin

Category/Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy-Paranormal

Source: Bought!

Description: Michael Merrick understands pressure. He’s the only parent his three brothers have had for years. His power to control Earth could kill someone if he miscalculates. Now an Elemental Guide has it in for his family, and he’s all that stands in the way.

His girlfriend, Hannah, understands pressure too. She’s got a child of her own, and a job as a firefighter that could put her life in danger at any moment.

But there are people who have had enough of Michael’s defiance, his family’s ‘bad luck’. Before he knows it, Michael’s enemies have turned into the Merricks’ enemies, and they’re armed for war.

They’re not interested in surrender. But Michael isn’t the white flag type anyway. Everything is set for the final showdown.

3/5 stars —

★★★☆☆

Despite the fact that I felt like this was the weakest of the Elements series, if you haven’t read these book, you should. They’re awfully underrated — witty dialogue, memorable characters, and a thrilling plot. I’m starting this review by saying that although this was disappointing, I still enjoyed it.

disappointed animated GIF

This was underwhelming; that is why I only rated this book three stars.

After the rest of the books I obviously had high expectations —  and I was nervous to start reading it, for several reasons. A) I didn’t want this series to come to an end, and B) even the goddamn title is called Sacrifice. If that’s not making you nervous about reading the last in a series, then it should! This book revolves around Michael, the eldest of the Merrick brothers, who, after their parents’ deaths, took on a fatherly role to his younger brothers. He was extraordinary mature for his age, which was why I liked him the most out of the Merricks. Then you have his girlfriend, Hannah. Hate to say it, but I didn’t care for her much.

As usual, the plot is thrilling and will leave you wanting more. There’s only one problem with that.

A last in a series shouldn’t leave you feeling like you want more. Bittersweet, maybe, but not unsatisfied. Bluntly put, this felt rushed. Much shorter than the rest of the series, Sacrifice whizzed along at an alarming pace without pausing to linger on the details, and because of that, I was disconnected to both Hannah and Michael. But as usual, Kemmerer creates a wonderful thrilling atmosphere — in Sacrifice, the stakes are higher than ever, which does not bode well for some.

worry animated GIF

Nope. You SHOULD be worried, my friends.

Here’s something you should know about these books: Each novel revolves around a different Merrick brother. (Or Hunter. He has a book too.)

This is not a bad thing to do. In fact, I quite liked it. Each book is fresh, different, and each character sees things in a completely different viewpoint to the others. My only issue with this is that by the end of Sacrifice I didn’t feel as though the story was quite finished. I wanted to revisit some of the other characters — to see how they would cope with things, instead of being trapped in Michael and Hannah’s point of view.

These are fantastic books overall. I do recommend them. This one just let me down.

disappointed animated GIF

Have you read the Elemental series? More importantly, what did you think of the final novel? Do you agree/disagree with my review? Let’s discuss! :)

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Sacrifice by Brigid Kemmerer

  1. I completely agree with your review! It just didn’t feel like the series was ending and I felt unsatisfied. As the last in the series, I just expected something that wrapped it all up better. And I felt the same disconnect with Hannah particularly. It was very short, too, compared to the others. Great review, you said everything I was thinking!

  2. I haven’t read this series yet but I did win Sacrifice but haven’t read it yet. I like the sound of it though, focusing on each of the different brothers. Everyone has said great things about the series. It’s kind of a shame the book left you disappointed though. Great review Kara!

  3. It’s always a bit sad when a book doesn’t live up to your expectations. I recently read a third book in a series which I rated 3 stars because it was disapointing compared to the first two books.
    I kinda like the sound of this series, but haven’t started it yet. I kepe hearing good things about it.
    And last book in a series are always a bit tricky. i am sad to hear you felt like the book wasn’t really finished :(.

    • Ah, definitely. Last books in a series can be very trick, especially when they don’t live up to our high expectations! The concept of this series is fantastic, and overall, the whole series has been very enjoyable to read. Thanks for stopping by, Lola. :)

  4. I have to admit to being a little happy that I didn’t continue this series after reading the first. They sound good but I don’t like having a series ender that’s unsatisfying. That’s one of my biggest pet peeves! Great review :)

Leave a Reply

