Top Ten Tuesday: Top New Series I Want To Start

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find all the awesome details of the meme right here. If you run a blog, I highly suggest you join it — it’s great fun! 

I have to admit — this week’s theme was a little hard! I usually start every series possible, but I managed to find some ones that I would really love to start soon. Or, as soon as my TBR pile allows…

160690301. The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski.

I plan on reading this one very soon, actually. How could I not!? The covers are gorgeous. Plus, I already have a copy of the first book.

2. The Raven Cycle Maggie Stiefvater.15743650

I don’t even have a good reason, apart from the lack of time, as to why I haven’t yet read this one. I didn’t love the author’s Shiver books as much as everyone else, so maybe that’s why, though these books look fantastic. Everyone keeps recommending them!

21187453. Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness.

I really really liked More Than This, so I do want to check out the author’s other published works. And it does help that I’ve heard positive things about this one, so I’m bound to like them.

4. The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson.16429619

Another one I’ve heard fantastic things of. I’m not sure where I’ll ever find the time to read this one, but I do hope it’s good. The cover is pretty stunning, too, so that does help.

107566565. Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi.

will read this. I promise! I’ve been meaning to for literally years, but I’ve always had to take it back to the library before it could be read. I simply adore the titles for all these novels.

25361346. Gone by Michael Grant.

Can you believe I haven’t read this yet!? Neither can I. Definitely one of the top series I want to start.

77361827. The Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan.

I LOVED Percy Jackson (though not the films… Don’t even get me started on that excuse of an adaptation), but for some reason haven’t picked up this series yet. I think maybe because I still haven’t gotten over Percy’s story, aha.

 

8. Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini.9462795

Recently I read Trial by Fire, and enjoyed it a lot, so I figured that I would probably like the author’s other series. It also helps that I’ve heard good things about Starcrossed, and I love mythology.

96807189. The Covenant Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

I’ve this author’s other published novels, and this is a series I haven’t had the chance to read. So clearly I need to rectify that immediately.

10. Chronicles of Narnia by C.S Lewis.100915

I feel like I’ve put this one on so many of my Top Ten Tuesdays lately. But I can’t help it! It’s a series that I really do want to read. Some day…

What’s on your list this week? Do we have anything in common? Share your links below! :)

28 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top New Series I Want To Start

  1. The Raven Boys is SO AMAZING! Seriously, you have to read it.
    And it’s nothing like Shiver. I mean, I loved the Shiver books, but I get that they aren’t for everyone, and a friend of mine wasn’t a fan of Shiver, but she loved Raven Boys.
    And Under the Never Sky was really good. It lives up to it’s awesome title, I promise.
    You haven’t read Gone yet!? Haha, I’ve been on book 3 of that series since, like, March or something…it’s not that I don’t like them, or that I don’t have access to them (I own the whole series), there’s just something about them that’s stopping me from continuing.
    I really liked Gone, though.
    Yes, let’s not talk about the Percy Jackson films. But Heroes of Olympus is just as good as Percy Jackson. The only part of it I’m not a fan of is that Percy is no longer the sole, narrating character. But the other characters are good, I’m just biased. (me and pretty much the rest of the fandom).
    And I’ve been meaning to start the Covenant series, too. I loved Obsidian.

    • I really must read The Raven Boys! I’ve been meaning to… just haven’t had the time. :)

      Yeah I’m really hesitant to start Heroes of Olympus because Percy isn’t the main character… but I do hope I’ll like it anyway. xD I think I’ll give the Gone series a chance, too. :D

  2. Totally agree with you on the horror that is the Percy Jackson films!
    The Winner’s Curse was really good, I really enjoyed the political intrigue and can’t wait to see where the trilogy goes.
    The Raven Boys and Remnant Chronicles are on my list as well, I just need to get around to them!
    Great List!

  3. I’ve read the first book in the Chaos Walking Trilogy and I’m really looking forward to continuing the series. There are several books on your list this week that I can’t wait to try. I really want to read some Maggie Stiefvater so hopefully I’ll get around to her books soon!

  4. I have The Winner’s Trilogy in my top ten list too. :) I want to read Gone, The Kiss of Deception, and The Knife of Never Letting Go as well. So far, I’ve read The Raven Boys, and I just started reading The Dream Thieves. Both are really good, and I’m enjoying the series. Great list!

  5. Awesome picks Kara! I’ve also been wanting to read Gone and Under the Never Sky too. Hope you enjoy The Winner’s Curse, I thought it was amazing!

  6. I also have The Remnant Chronicles on my list, there’s been so much rave going on about this book! The Raven Cycle and the Heroes of Olympus are on my list of all-time favorite series probably, they are so good. I enjoyed under the Never Sky as well, it was an enjoyable read to me. And aaah, Narnia. We can’t forget about that! I haven’t read all of them, but the ones I read I really enjoyed :)

    I’ve read the first book in the Gone series, but for some reason I never read the rest of them. I don’t really know why, since I really liked Gone… Maybe I should pick it up again. And I’ve read up to book 3 of the Half-Blood series: I binge-read them and then I got bored for a while and never picked it up again -oops. I’ve read The Knife of never Letting Go, but I didn’t really enjoy it all that much. It was just a bit chaotic for me with all the thoughts and stuff. But I hope you will like it more than I did!

    I also want to read The Winner’s Curse and Starcrossed, many people seem to love them a lot!

    You have an amazing list here :D

  7. NARNIA IS LIKE A CHILDHOOD CLASSIC. I built my childhood on Narnia, actually. It’s probably why I’m 87% crazy. The Winner’s Curse wasn’t as good as I thought it’d be. :| And I didn’t like Under the Never Sky! WAH! WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME???!! Gone though. Omg. Gone is brilliant. And so is The Chaos Walking. Like I nearly Dnf’d it and now it has like 5-stars. I FREAKING LOVE THAT BOOK.

    • I actually have no idea why I never read Narnia! I need to remedy that, that’s for sure. :) I mean, I sometimes look in the back of my cupboard when I’m bored, so I guess I should read the books…? ;) Soo looking forward to Gone and The Chaos Walking books; I’m less excited about Under the Never Sky, though I WILL read it eventually.

  8. YES YES YES READ THE LOST HERO OMG YOU NEEEEEED IT KARA. Also, KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO!!! Those are both my two most favourite-est series ever, and i’m sure they won’t disappoint you.

    Awesome list, girl! <33

  9. SORRY BUT I GOT DISTRACTED BY THE RAVEN BOYS OMG READ ITTTTTTTTTT. I live to advocate that series. If that’s the one thing I can get anyone to read (I’m pushing it towards my Ma and she is caving–I can see it in here eyes), I’ll be content with my life. I refuse to read Shiver just because I know that I won’t like it. Even with beautiful writing, nothing will ever make me forget the fact that I’m reading about WEREWOLVES which is a big no no for me. The Kiss of Deception was alright. Heads up, it’s more of a romance than high fantasy so if you want the latter, definitely steer clear. I need to start The Winner’s Curse as well because it’s been on my TBR for nearly half a year now. Sooooooon, HSC is over sooooooooon :P FANTASTIC LIST! x

    • YESSS, I NEED TO READ THE RAVEN BOYS. After reading everyone’s comments, I’m seriously wondering WHY I haven’t read it yet. =| Huh. I didn’t realize The Kiss of Deception was more of a romance. Urgh, that DOES make it a little less appealing… but I think I’ll give it a go anyway. I might like it more than I think.

      I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE HSC TO BE OVER. I have so much reading to do it’s ridiculous! ;)

  10. Great picks! I read and LOVED The Winner’s Curse, can’t wait to get my hands on the sequel. I also really enjoyed the Under the Never Sky series and the Chaos Walking trilogy too. I still need to start most of the others you’ve mentioned. I hope you can get to some of these soon :)

  11. This list is pretty great. :)

    I definitely recommend reading The Winner’s Curse and The Raven Boys as soon as possible. Especially The Raven Boys. I liked TRB, but didn’t love it. However, The Dream Thieves is what pulled me into the series, and now I’m crying because I didn’t pre-order Blue Lily, Lily Blue like I thought I did.

    Oh my God. Chaos Walking. I pretty much skim-read the entire trilogy, so I really need to re-read it some day…

    I really need to read The Remnant Chronicles, Under the Never Sky, The Lost Heroes (I need to finish PJO first though… :/), Starcrossed and The Covenant series. I’ve given up on Gone, only because I’ve borrowed it from the library 4 times just this year, and I can’t seem to get into it. :(

Leave a Reply

