Reader/Writer Confessions: I Never Write Short Stories . . . Until Now

Blog Banner RWC

I have been a short story disliker for as long as I can remember (for the reasons outlined below!) but lately, I’ve been thinking about them quite a bit. Mainly because I’ve had this idea for a short story that’s been bouncing around my head for quite some time now. In all honesty, it’s probably going to turn into more of a novella/novelette than a “short story” but progress is progress!

I feel the need to point out that I have written short stories before, but only for school. Otherwise, I dislike them. Here’s why:

  • Short stories are haaaaaard.
  • I feel like I’m constricted within certain wordcounts. When I’m writing a full-length novel, however, there is much more leniency in terms of the story’s wordcount, especially when writing for young adults, as I generally do.
  • better at writing novels. This is probably because I haven’t written many short stories.
  • I don’t read a lot of them as it’s not something I particularly enjoy, so therefore I’m less inclined to write them.

But, miraculously, the other night — I decided I was going to give it a shot.

no animated GIF

So what changed?

I have to say that it’s mainly this idea that’s been bouncing around my head… I haven’t been able to get it out, no matter what, and therefore, I thought: “Why don’t I write it?” At first, it was going to be a novel. Yet as I opened my word document and began to scrawl out the first couple of hundred words, I realized  it wasn’t going to be a novel.

For a start, it would be impossible to drag it out into a 50,000 plus size, without completely ruining the idea.

So then, I started to toy with the idea of actually crafting it into a short story. And thus, House of Murder & Mayhem was born. Here’s a little bit about the novella/short story: Seven rich, aristocratic young ladies are sent a mysterious invitation to attend a ball at the Blackwell Manor by its new owners. Beautiful ball gowns, mysterious masks, and handsome men, the night is any débutante would long for… until one of the girls is found dead. And then another. And another. Trapped in the locked manor with no hope of escaping until the sun rises, they come to a terrifying conclusion: one of them is the murderer. But who?

That’s rough, I know, but you’ll get the general idea of it.

sherlock animated GIF

Now, my lovely little bloggerlings, I have a question for you: As I’m writing it, would you be interested if I serialized it and uploaded, say, about 1000 of it a week/fortnightly on my blog? Let me know!

9 thoughts on “Reader/Writer Confessions: I Never Write Short Stories . . . Until Now

  1. WOAHHHH THAT IS SO COOL. I already want to know who the murderer is haha. And yes, I would totally read it!

    I agree with you about short stories though. They’re so much harder than novels! My major work for English ext. 2 has to be no more than 6,000 words, which feels like nothing to me.

  2. How terrifying! A brilliant murder/mystery idea. I’m not that into the murder mystery genre but I think this sounds really good. If your game enough to share It’d be great to read it.

  3. I love the sound of your story Kara – it’s definitely something that I would pick up and read! I know how you feel about word counts (they are the bane of my existence), but it’s great that you have an idea which would work really well in short-story form. Happy writing wishes :)

  4. I’ve never managed to master short stories. >_< I had to for school, but I hated it! My brain seems to work in 50,000+ ideas and anything smaller I just…CAN'T. Although, admittedly, I don't really read short stories and I think the more your read/familiarise yourself with something, the easier it is to try, right?!

  5. YES! I want more! I’ve never attempted to write, but personally I love short stories, and if you’re going to post them in serial format each week, I vote YES! A thousand yeses. I can only imagine how difficult they are to write though, you’d run with an idea and the creative juices flow and BAM, you’ve exceeded your original word count by thousands and thousands.

    The premise sounds incredible. Where is it set? Sounds like the renaissance era or Prague. So incredibly luscious <3

Leave a Reply

