Mini Reviews — The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd & Winter by Nikita Rae

17565924Title:  The Madman’s Daughter

Author: Megan Shepherd

Format/Length: Paperback/360 pages

Publisher/Date Published: April 11th 2013/ Harper Voyager

Category/Genre: Young Adult/Historical Fiction-Horror

Source: Library

Goodreads | Amazon | Bookworld

Description: London, 1894. Juliet Moreau has built a life for herself-working as a maid, attending church on Sundays, and trying not to think about the scandal that ruined her life. After all, no one ever proved the rumours about her father′s gruesome experiments. But when she learns her father is alive and continuing his work on a remote tropical island, she is determined to find out if the accusations were true.

Juliet is accompanied by the doctor′s handsome young assistant and an enigmatic castaway, who both attract Juliet for very different reasons. They travel to the island only to discover the depths of her father′s madness: he has created animals that have been vivisected to resemble, speak, and behave as humans. Worse, one of the creatures has turned violent and is killing the island′s inhabitants. Juliet knows she must end her father′s dangerous experiments and escape the island, even though her horror is mixed with her own scientific curiosity. As the island falls into chaos, she discovers the extent of her father′s genius-and madness-in her own blood.


 3/5 stars —

★★★☆☆

I’m going to jump right into this mini review by saying that usually, I don’t mind love triangles. Often, I even like them. But in this one? Nope, no thank you. It was just completely unnecessary. It was the sort of love triangle that I felt like detracted from the actual story, rather than adding to it; I was more interested in the main storyline.

the vampire diaries animated GIF

I suppose that you would classify this as a “horror” story, though leaned more towards the edge of creepiness, rather than holy-crap-how-am-I-supposed-to-sleep-tonight sort of story, which is what I was kind of expecting from it. In saying that though it did have some very creepy undertones which worked well with the mood and general feeling of the story. The characters, though, was another element where The Madman’s Daughter fell a little bit flat for me. Juliet, our main character, was bright and intelligent, yet her confusion of her feelings between our two love interests was tiring. I couldn’t say that I liked either of them, really, either, for various reasons.

Overall, though, if you’re looking for horror that isn’t too scary, a little gore, and romance, then you’ll likely enjoy this one. I’m looking forward to reading the sequels.

Also? Most of this story is set on a mysterious island. How cool is that?

water animated GIF


18746239Title: Winter

Author: Nikita Rae

Format/Length: eBook

Publisher/Date Published: October 28th 2013/Nikita Rae, Smashwords

Category/Genre: Adult/Dark Contemporary Romance

Source: iBooks

Goodreads | Amazon

Description: A girl with a dark history…

Avery Bresllin took a leap of faith when she changed her name. As Avery Patterson, she is no longer the daughter of a serial killer. No longer the girl who was bullied and abused through high school. A fresh name and a fresh start at Columbia University means Avery can leave all that behind. There’s only one thing marring her dream of a clean slate….

A boy with a past of his own…

Luke Reid has a lot going for him: sex appeal, badass tattoos and insane musical talent. Despite his guitar skills, his calling in life has always been to serve and protect. A NYPD cop by day, singer in rock band D.M.F by night, from the outside Luke seems like he’s got it made. But falling for a girl whose father was accused of deeply sinister acts—a man whom Luke shared a devastating history with, himself—only serves to complicated things.

Pieces of a puzzle….

Four symbols, four methods of destruction.

A trade.

Borrowed wings.

Dark secrets that threaten to destroy.


This was one of those reads that were free on iBooks; so, essentially, I didn’t expect anything from it. Self-published, New Adult, I didn’t think I would enjoy it at all. (I should point out that I don’t have a problem with self pub’ed books, however I have personally found there is definitely a difference between the quality of editing between self-published and traditionally published novels.) Also, my experiences with New Adult books haven’t been good at all.

reaction animated GIF
First off, I’d like to say I don’t believe this novel falls into the category of Erotica, as I’ve seen it shelved on Goodreads. While I’d say the sex scenes are fairly graphic, the story does not centre around the sex. It’s an adult romance, yes, but threads of mystery and thrillers are twined throughout the story — and it’s not as shallow as some of the other novels I’ve read. I wish, also, that some of the minor characters (Leslie, Noah, Morgan etc.) had been fleshed out some more, as well. While I thought that Luke and Avery, as our main characters, were well-rounded and strong, the others I often got confused and mixed up between. Though I get they are only minor characters, some of the later story reveals would have had a greater impact on the reader if this was done.

And yes, there were errors. It could’ve done with a better edit.

But you know what? It’s not a bad novel. I liked it.


That’s all for today! Have you read either of these books? Let me know what you thought of them!

8 thoughts on “Mini Reviews — The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd & Winter by Nikita Rae

  1. NOOOOO TRIANGLEEEE :( :( :( There’s been so much hype surrounding Madman’s Daughter but for some reason, I always put it off because Frankenstein. I wasn’t really a fan of Shelly’s work (it was Shelly, right? Or have I gone insane?). This just gives me a little more incentive to put it off. A little heavier on the romance? Not me right now, unfortunately :(

  2. Eeeeeep yeah, I didn’t really like the love triangle either, but I thought the setting was pretty interesting just like you! I remember reading book 2 with Blythe, my old co-blogger and maaaan we were pretty disappointed.

    Lovely reviews, Kara! <33

  3. The Madman’s Daughter, is that a different cover? I’ve heard of it, but haven’t seen many, if any reviews for it really. Apart from the horrid love triangle, it sounds pretty good. I like creepy without being shit scared, so it’s right up my ally. I’m in two minds about Winter, I like the mystery and intrigue, even the romance, but it sounds like the side characters weren’t developed too well, maybe to include more sexy times? I don’t mind sex in books, as long as it’s not the focal point. Would you class it as a typical NA, or better?

    I love mini reviews and these are brilliant Kara. Straight up and to the point really enjoyed them <3

    • THANK YOU! <3

      Yeah, it is, actually! I think it's the AUS version of it. In fact I think I like it better than the US edition. :)

      Hmm, Winter is an interesting one, actually. It was not amazing. Not by any means. But I enjoyed it. I don't really think the sex was the focal point of it either — but there was a little bit of it spread throughout the novel. I do wish the characters had been developed more, but eh, it wasn't too bad.

      Compared to other NA books I've read (I've only read two or three of them though, also considering I'm new to the category) I thought it was good. I'm not sure I would have bought it, though.

  4. I had no idea that there was a love triangle in The Madman’s Daughter…it still sounds rather eerie and up my alley. Going to have to give it a go before the final book is realeased, I think. :) Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Kara.

Leave a Reply

