Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors New to Me This Year

TTT

This week’s theme is “Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014” so without further ado, I present to you a list of ten authors that, before this year, I’ve never read.

176231431. Abigail Haas. (Dangerous Girls; Dangerous Boys.)

If you’ve been on my blog before . . . then, well, you know my thoughts about Dangerous Girls. :O

2. Sara Raasch. (Snow Like Ashes.)17399160

A 2014 debut author; Snow Like Ashes was one of my favourite fantasy books I’ve read this year.

219697863. Patrick Ness. (The Knife of Never Letting Go; More Than This.)

I’m yet to read The Knife of Never Letting Go, but More Than This was a pleasant surprise. I loved it.

4. Ellie Marney. (Every BreathEvery WordEvery Move.)18080011

Aussie author? Check! Loosely based on Sherlock? Check! Amazing storylines? Check!

192880435. Gillian Flynn. (Gone Girl; Dark Places; Sharp Objects.)

A dark, dark read, but I loved Gone Girl. I really want to read the rest of the author’s works.

6. George R.R. Martin. (A Song of Ice and Fire.)11788809

Love this series! Even though the author has been writing for many, many years, he was new to me this year.

117408317. Stephen King. (CarrieUnder the Dome.)

Can you believe that I’d never read a Stephen King book before this year?

8. Diana Gabaldon. (Cross Stitch/Outlander.)10964

I had little to none expectations for this one, but ended up enjoying it immensely.

157923169. Kasie West. (Pivot PointSplit Second; The Distance Between Us.)

Definitely one of my favourite authors that I’ve read this year. Kasie West’s writing is just so addictive!

10. E. Lockhart. (We Were Liars.)16143347

I was one of those people who wasn’t really gobsmacked by the ending, but I did enjoy We Were Liars.

Now it’s your turn! Let me know what authors’ books you’ve read that are new to you in 2014! :)

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors New to Me This Year

  1. The only author I have actually read on your list is E. Lockhart, and I really didn’t enjoy We Were Liars, at all.

    I suppose that the rest of these authors will be new authors to me in 2015! Or perhaps at the end of the year- many of these author’s books are on my TBR list, especially George R.R. Martin, Patrick Ness, and Abigail Haas. *nods*

    New to me authors of 2014… Mmm… Well quite a lot really, in fact most the authors I’ve read this year were new to me!

    Good post, anyway. :)

  2. Oh my gosh! If I was doing TTT, these are probably the exact authors I’d put as well! :D Both Abigail Haas and Gillian Flynn write such twisted, yet captivating, stories and both of them are absolutely queens of having mind-blowing endings.

    While Snow Like Ashes definitely was a bit too predictable for me, everything else about it was absolutely perfect; and I am so interested in seeing where Raash takes the series from here. There are so many fantasy books being released because of the success of Throne of Glass and whatnot, but hers really stands out among the crowd.

    I absolutely loved Patrick Ness’ More than This, and (just last week actually) recently read both The Knife of Never Letting Go and A Monster Calls and loved them equally as much. If you liked More than This I can’t wait to see what you think of those two as well. :D

    Fabulous post Kara, and thanks for sharing! <3

  3. I read Pivot Point last year and I adored it. I read Split Second this year and loved it just as much. I haven’t read any other Kasie West books, because I’m not really a contemporary person, but I’m still tempted to.
    I also read Dangerous Girls last year. Freaked me out.
    And I really want to read Snow Like Ashes and We Were Liars, just have to wait for the library…*waiting*
    And I am yet to read any Stephen King. The TV show made me want to read Under the Dome, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.
    So many books.

    • Woo! I’m glad you liked Pivot Point. I haven’t yet read Split Second (though I’ve desperately been meaning to; I just haven’t seen it in bookstores yet). Actually, I really do encourage you to read her other books because I’m not a contemporary person either, but really loved The Distance Between Us. <3

      I hope you like Snow Like Ashes! I thought it was soooo good. <3

  4. I was really looking forward to the release of Snow Like Ashes but for some reason, I haven’t picked it up yet.
    I read The Knife of Never Letting Go and I didn’t really enjoy it. I think the writing just wasn’t for me -which happens.
    George R.R. Martin is one of my favorite authors though and Kasie West made my list too!

    Great list!

  5. YES YES YES. ELLIE MARNEY. <3 <3 <3 <3 Have you read Every Word yet, Kara? I also read Kasie West and E. Lockhart for the first time this year…and I own More Than This and Dangerous Girls so I NEED TO READ THOSE SOON. AND SNOW LIKE ASHES. MY GOD. I can't even explain how much I want that book. I need to start on Outlander and Game of Thrones…they'll probably take me a while to read. Oh, and I should probably read something by Stephen King and Gillian Flynn sooner rather than later…

  6. Pretty much every single book that I’ve read this year had authors who were completely new to me, with the exception of Rick Riordan. Lockhart, Jandy Nelson, Marie Rutkowski to name a few.

Leave a Reply

