Writerly Post Wednesday: Writing Wishlist!

ww

Happy Wednesday! Now, you might be wondering, “What’s a writing wishlist?!” Well — you know how Christmas as a kid you’d write a list of all the things you’d want for Christmas? This is the same idea . . . but with writing. So I thought I would compose a list of all the writerly things I would, one day, like to write about. (When time allows . . .)

christmas animated GIF

1. I’d love to write in a male’s point of view.

THIS SCARES ME, PEOPLE. I’ve always, always written from a females point of view (in first person.) Granted, I have written about male characters from a third person point of view, but naturally in third person the reader is going to be a step away from the reader. Yet I’ve never written a story from a guy’s first person point of view.

2. A book aimed for Adults!

That would be fun. But at the moment I feel like I’m not . . . I don’t know, adult-y? enough for me to pull off an adult voice convincingly. One day, though, I will definitely give it a go!

3. A book about anxiety.

There are plenty of books on depression. Plenty. And while it is most certainly a serious issue that needs to be addressed within fiction, anxiety should be important to cover, too. It might not be as life-threatening as some people’s depression, but trust me — and I take this from personal experience — it can be just as debilitating.

4. Another mystery/thriller novel.

My NaNo ’12 novel, The Sweetest Sorrows of Ava Hale, fell into this category, and one day, I’d love to write another one. I love love love love dark mysteries with twist endings especially. :)

5. Science-Fiction, a la Star Wars.

How fun would that be to write?! What I loved so much about the Star Wars films (WHO IS AS EXCITED AS ME FOR THE NEXT ONE?!) was the vast, vast world that was portrayed. Kind of like a high fantasy in regards to the largeness of the worldbuilding, but with science-fiction elements. I will write something like this!

6. Something involving Fae.

Because who doesn’t like some faeries!? Actually, I do have an idea of a “The Snow Queen” retelling . . . but with Fae. And dragons. So maybe, once I find the time, I’ll be able to draft that one. The idea has been bouncing around my head for quite some time now — and I’ve even made a Pinterest board for it.

7. More fairytale retellings.

Because I love them so dearly. I cannot help it. I’ll literally read anything that’s a retelling!

dragon animated GIF

Writers: What’s on your writing wishlist? (Go ahead and make your own posts!) And readers: What do you want to see more of in books? EDIT: Now, you can join the linky below!

23 thoughts on “Writerly Post Wednesday: Writing Wishlist!

  1. A WRITING WISHLIST IS SUCH A COOL IDEA. I may in fact take you up and write my own… :)

    But yeah, retellings are cool! I’m actually doing a Snow Queen retelling for my extension 2 major work…which should be interesting. And I’d LOVE to write a thriller! Plus, I totally agree there should be books about anxiety – just more diversity in general, really. I don’t think enough YA focuses on it (and also on the stress of high school in general…).

  2. I love this post! #1 would definitely be on my improvements list too; my protagonists are usually (mostly (always)) female. My novel is adult fantasy, but I actually hope to do a book for children one day. I just remembered that I used to collect little things as a kid and then I remember how carefree it was back then. It would be so great to capture that feeling in a book somehow). Great post!

  3. Ooh this is an awesome post! And a fantastic idea. I think I may just do one like this, as well.

    And retellings! Hehe, I know that you didn’t misuse ‘literally’ there. :P I would love to be able to write something like Star Wars, and yes! I’m rather excited for the new movie, if not a little nervous. I really admire authors who are able to pull off a good mystery/thriller and it would be on my wishlist as well.

    I really would like to see more retellings (surprise, surprise), but not only in YA, either. Lately I’ve read quite a few MG retellings, (and also just fairytale sort of books) and can I just say that they’re absolutely fantastic? :D

    • You should definitely do a post like this! If you do, could you link me to it? I’d really love to read it. :D I’m so, so excited for the next movie! But yeah, nervous, too. But I think that hopefully it’ll be good. :) Talking about retellings, I’m really looking forward to “Beastkeeper”; a MG retelling of Beauty and the Beast. That one is definitely on my TBR list. :)

  4. This is an awesome idea for a blog post. I do not think that I could write from a male point of view at all, and I probably wouldn’t enjoy it either. I would really like to write a fairytale retelling, though. I have a couple wisps of ideas for one, but none of them are solid plots yet. Another thing on my Writing Wishlist is writing a historical fiction book. Luckily, I have an idea for a historical fiction mystery, which is great because writing a mystery is also on my Writing Wishlist, so I’m killing two birds with one stone. I also really want to write a novel in verse. Another thing I want to write is a novel with multiple POVs. That seems really hard, but I love reading those types of novels, so I would be really into writing one.

  5. This is a great post! I love fairytale retellings, but the idea of actually writing one seems daunting because you have to stick to the basics of the story, but you also need to add a unique twist to make it stand out.

    Anyway, the novel I’m currently working on is about dragons, and I have SO many more ideas. One thing that’s definitely on my writing wishlist is writing in third-person omniscient. I think it’s one of the hardest POVs to write in, but I’m up for the challenge ;).

    • You’re so write about needing a twist in retellings! I mean, you don’t want it to be just-another-retelling, you know? You need something that’s going to stand out from the bunch. Your current novel sounds awesome, by the way. Dragons = instant awesomeness.

  6. Ooh Mystery Thriller novels are the best! I can only imagine that they are a whole lot of fun to write too (well painful to write, but to think of all the happenings and plot twists etc). I’ve never written anything in a male’s perspective before. i think i’d get it all wrong, hah

  7. Ooh, writing in a male character’s point of view! I find that interesting…writing in as many POVs as possible is probably one of my goals. And of course mystery novels – but that’s what scares me, I might not pull it off and I have an inkling that it’s too badass for me to pull off…but I have been accused of being the sort of person to be a criminal mastermind (while on the same day I was labelled a Hufflepuff) so who knows what might happen?

  8. Your wishlist is similar to the one I’m constantly adding to in my head. I haven’t written in a male first person point of view. One of my lead in my current WIP is a boy, but it’s in third person present tense. I do have at least two books I plan on writing with a boy protagonist in first, but I’ve never actually worked on the actually writing. Fae seem to get the least amount of love in the mainstream fantasy genre. I’ve actually never really read one, but I think I should change that. And you can never have enough retellings.

  9. KARA I ONLY JUST FOUND THIS POST BECAUSE A FEW PEOPLE HAVE DONE THEIR VERSIONS AND I VERY MUCH WANT TO DO ONE BECAUSE THIS IS A FABULOUS IDEA. *breaths deeply after yelling so much.* hehe. Sorry. xD You are genius tho.
    I want to read all of these. WRITE THEM. _< I can't even get my head around writing MG at the moment, lol. It seems like I'll be YA all the way. XD

  10. This is a such a great idea. LOVE IT! I haven’t written from a male point of view yet either. It scares me, and I haven’t read much YA from a male’s point of view either *cringes*

    Fairytale retellings take the cake too! I’ll read anthing labeled with those two words xD

  11. Hi Kara! I’m doing my own version on my blog! I love your ideas, especially fairytale retellings (or any retelling, really). About your male perspective, it’s really nothing to do with gender and more to do with character. Just write a good character, not someone representing their gender or stereotype.

    Thanks for coming up with this idea! :D

  12. I love the idea of a writer’s wishlist! I want to dabble in so many genres, and I have so many ideas. But the actual writing part is the hardest! Haha. I actually write in male POV a lot, so it doesn’t make me nervous but I’d hope they’re all realistic so far. I would to write a mystery. I started one, but I just don’t think I’m cut out for this genre. And I’d absolutely love to write a fairytale retelling, but they scare me. To come up with a creative idea and yet make sure it keeps some of the originality is daunting and intimidating. I doubt I’d write that one for years, or at least until I was secure enough in my writing and the idea.

    Good luck on all of your writerly adventures! :)

    P.S. This is such an awesome post idea and I was wondering if I could steal it and then link back to you? :)

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad you like the idea of this. :D It was so much fun to write! You know, I think I would be okay with writing a male PoV (key word: think) but it’s just the idea that really intimidated me. xD Oh well, maybe one day. Yes, I see what you mean about retellings. I mean, you need the reader to both realize that it is a retelling — but at the same time have a fresh and different twist on the old tale. So that would be really difficult.

      I would seriously LOVE it if you made your own post. I even added a linky to the bottom of this post where a couple of people have been making their own posts and sharing it there — so go right ahead. :)

  13. Strange. One of my earliest attempts of writing a Fantasy story was already from the perspective of a boy…
    Science Fiction a la Star Wars? Ooh, who doesn’t want to write that? I think that would be on my writing wish list to, I I’d write one :-)

Leave a Reply

