Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read This Year

TOPTENBOOKSIVEREADTHISYEAR

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find all the awesome details of the meme right here. If you run a blog, I highly suggest you join it — it’s great fun! 

Hi guys! Happy Tuesday. Here were some of what I thought to be the best of what I read in 2014. Buuuuut, 2014 isn’t over yet. :) Honorary mention to Ellie Marney’s Every Breath and Every Word — I loved these books but already have my ten; and I only remembered them once the list was complete.

117888091. A Game of Thrones by George R.R Martin.

I could probably rave on about how much I love these books, but I have the feeling most people would just skip it anyway. But if you love high fantasy? THEN READ IT. I feel like this book is on every second list I make.

2. Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas. 17623143

Uhhm, do I need to say anything here?

182244753. Wait For You by J. Lynn.

This is how you write New Adult, people.

4. Cress by Marissa Meyer.18716399

If you haven’t read The Lunar Chronicles yet — what are you waiting for?! This was, hands down, my favourite in the series to far. Cress was adorable, and Thorne was just… Well, Thorne.

173991605. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch.

High fantasy? Check! Beautiful writing? Check! Kick-ass heroine? Check! Swoon-worthy romance? Check!

6. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Megan 13138635Spooner.

This. Was. Awesome. I can’t wait to devour the sequel, This Shattered World.

181636467. Falling into Place by Amy Zhang.

This book will break your heart into many, many small pieces. And I loved every moment of it.

8. This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales.15777621

I have to admit this one took me by surprise! I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did.

125783139. Golden by Jessi Kirby.

I read this at the very beginning of this year . . . and absolutely loved it! Had the perfect blend of mystery and romance.

10. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein.12851538

OH, YOU CRUEL, CRUEL BOOK.


That’s all for this week’s list — link me to yours below! :)

36 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read This Year

    • Okay, so yesterday’s post was just a mistake, I guess. I thought it held some secret/subtle message or something. I LOVED both Cress and Code Name Verity. Those are both books that demand a reread from me because they were both so real. I’ve heard lots of great things about Snow Like Ashes, so it would be cool to read that as well. I would read Dangerous Girls because I love unpredictable mysteries, but it seems a little bit mature for me, so I think I’ll wait on it.

      • Aha, no, that was just me being dumb and accidentally scheduling the post for Monday instead of Tuesday. How embarrassing!

        I can see what you mean about Dangerous Girls. However once you feel like you’re ready, I do recommend reading it — it was just fantastic! I recommend SLA, too! :)

  1. xD I died laughing at your “Thorne was just… Well, Thorne” because it’s SO TRUE! Hmm, I read This Song Will Save Your Life, too, but I didn’t like it as much… Glad to know you liked it, though!
    CODE NAME VERITY. That’s all I have to say.
    (Have you read Rose Under Fire yet?)

  2. I haven’t even read any of these books! BUT I have most of them on my to-read list. Snow Like Ashes just arrived today and I’m so excited to read it, but I can’t get to it until January because I have other books to read and review, but I’m going to read it as soon as I can.
    Great list.

  3. Great list! Your list seems to be mainly YA with 1 fantasy and 1 NA, so I don’t know most of the books that well! A Song of Ice and Fire though, I can wholeheartedly agree are great books. ‘This Song Will Save Your Life’ looks interesting! I’m gonna check that out.

  4. I’ve heard of most of these but my TBR is just so long I just want to cry thinking about how much time will pass before I will actually get to them :C I know books like These Broken Stars and This Song Will Save Your Life from seeing them around and they look good but some of them I’ve been looking forward to reading for ages like A Game of Thrones (massive fan of the TV show) and Cress. A really nice list you have here darling!

    Here’s my Top Ten for this week: https://bookrambles.wordpress.com/2014/12/16/top-ten-books-i-read-in-2014/

  5. I’ve read 6 of these. I especially loved Snow Like Ashes and This Song will Save Your Life, and Cress. Thanks for the list- I have to agree with your high fantasy picks :)

  6. CODE NAME VERITY IS TOO CRUEL FOR WORDS. Have you read Rose Under Fire? You definitely need a second dose of that kind of trauma in your life. Like, I can’t pick a favourite, because I ADORED the friendships in both…but RUF kept me glued to the entire thing 100% of the time, whereas CNV had me confused with all the planey stuff. SO. Read it. hehe. I’m so bossy I don’t even know why anyone puts up with me. XD
    Cresssss. I can’t believe I forgot to put it on my list! Although I have to admit, Scarlet is my favourite so far. XD

  7. YESS. THESE BROKEN STARS AND FALLING INTO PLACE. :) I really need to read all of the other books…they are all on my TBR. Thanks for sharing, Kara!

  8. Great list Kara! I loooved Dangerous Girls and Falling Into Place especially – they were some of my top ‘wow’ books of the year for sure. I keep pondering whether I’ll start ‘A Game of Thrones’ just because the sheer size of it is a *little* daunting, but who knows? This holidays might just be the time to change that…

Leave a Reply

