Book Review: The White Rabbit Chronicles by Gena Showalter

Hi guys! Today, instead of reviewing an individual book, I thought I would review a series. Today I’ve chosen The White Rabbit Chronicles by Gena Showalter. I also want to point out that these reviews are COMPLETELY SPOILER FREE unless otherwise specified. :)


PicMonkey Collage

Title: Alice in Zombieland | Through the Zombie Glass | The Queen of Zombie Hearts

Author: Gena Showalter

Publisher: Harlequin Teen Australia

Category/Genre: Young Adult/Urban Fantasy-Paranormal-Romance

Source: Library (all three)

Goodreads | Bookworld | Amazon | Author’s Website

2/5 stars –

★★☆☆☆


Completely random, but while writing this, I decided that “zombie” is a really odd word. I think I’ve written in a gazillion times in this post and I’ve only just realized it’s a very strange word. Huh.

So these books, despite their titles, have absolutely nothing to do with Alice In Wonderland. I just wanted to say that straight off the bat, yes? So don’t think, like me, that you’re going to be in for an epic Alice In Wonderland retelling, because you’re not. If that’s what you’re looking for then I suggest AG Howard’s Splintered series. Here are the only similarities between these books and Lewis Carroll’s awesome books:

  • Our main character’s name is Alice.
  • Sometimes, when there are zombies on the way, a rabbit-shaped cloud appears in the sky.

alice in wonderland animated GIF

Yep. That’s it. Take away the vague and pointless Alice In Wonderland references you’ve got your pretty typical YA Paranormal. There were parts of this series that was enjoyable, though, and if you like characters who can seriously kick some zombie butt, you might like this. But . . . alas, this was not for me. Here’s why:

  • The main character could be pretty badass at some points — I’ll admit that — but she was a little too teenage-y for me. Hang on, before you roll your eyes and say, “But Kara, she’s supposed to be a teenager!” let me just clarify myself here. I think Showalter does a good job of portraying teenagers, but there’s a certain type of teenager that really grind my gears. The sort of teenager that spends page and pages describing and detailing the utter hotness of the love interest, that goes on and on about how beautiful he is, and how absolutely toned and tanned his muscles are. Urghhhhhhhh. Please. Can we be more subtle here, YA authors? Please? Seriously; I think all that attracted our two main characters together was their looks.

To Alice’s cooing over Cole, this was my reaction:

What Have I Done?

  • This leads me to my second point, where I talk about the third book in particular. (Again, no spoilers, people!) Nothing much… happened. I was still waiting for something epic and mind blowing and exciting to happen . . . but it never arrived. I never expected it to be amazing considering how lacklustre the previous books were, but I was still expecting more from this book. I also want to point out that the ending was rush, and I felt like it left room for another book possibly. Even though it’s supposed to be the last, I felt like there was a slight opening for more to happen. While I don’t like my endings to be perfect, I do expect it to feel finished. This didn’t.

All in all? Not my favourite series.


Have you read this series? Let me know what you thought of it! And if you haven’t, do you plan on doing so? Hopefully my next series review will be more positive! :)

12 thoughts on “Book Review: The White Rabbit Chronicles by Gena Showalter

  1. I’m impressed you read the whole series despite the fact you didn’t like them! That’s dedication for you. Actually, I’m kind of glad I read your reviews because I didn’t know whether to read these or not…really the only thing drawing me was the Alice in Wonderland aspect, but since that is barely existent, I might not read them.

  2. I’ve heard the same, how weird that it isn’t really based on Alice in Wonderland but instead, has a lot of zombies in it! I really don’t think I can stand Alice’s behaviour and gushing about muscles and stuff but realistically, that was probably what I was like as a teen haha. But yes, sometimes there is TOO much of that and we end up rolling our eyes. Wonderful review Kara!

  3. There are TONS of words that look like fake words. Sometimes I stare at my name and wonder why it looks so weird…

    So sorry you didn’t enjoy this series! I read book one and thought it was pretty stupid. I didn’t like Alice or Cole. :/

  4. Aw but the covers actually look alright (ah, shameless book cover judger)!
    Ah man, that too teenage-ness is so annoying (that gif though is freaking superb). Why is it that infatuation pulls a story along more than actual plot? GAH.
    Uhuh, if the final book doesn’t have a prolonged va-va-voom moment then you might as well dump the whole thing. Sigh.

  5. Oh god, this sounds horrible (for me). I have the first book but have put it off for ages, just because I don’t like zombies and I think I just bought it on a whim. People have told me that they’re not actually zombies. BUT NOW THE PAGES OF FAWNING OVER MUSCLES HAS JUST TOLD ME THAT THIS IS NOT A JESS BOOK. Gah, putting it off further.

    THANK YOU FOR THE REVIEW! <3

Leave a Reply

