A Very Christmasy Sunday Weekly Wrap Up (43) & Stacking the Shevles (24)

Sunday weekly wrap up

christmas animated GIF

  • It was Christmas on Thursday! BELATED MERRY CHRISTMAS, ALL!
  • There is way too much left-over chocolate in our household at the moment. Not that this is a bad thing . . . but let’s just say I’m not good at resisting the temptation!
  • I can’t say I’ve done many productive things this week — but hey! It’s the holidays. I’m sure I’ll get on top of things soon enough. Usually I have a few posts scheduled, but lately I’ve been running a little behind.
  • Every year at Christmastime, my grandfather’s partner does this amazing pavlova; she puts a lot of effort into it so I thought I would showcase its deliciousness here. (Also, my spell-check does not resister “pavlova” to be a real word. Pfffffft.) But anyway, feast your eyes below! Mmmmm . . .

DSC_0253

DSC_0254

DSC_0255

  • I received a pile of books this week, thanks to Christmas, so hence, here is another Stacking the Shelves post. Also featuring bookish things that aren’t actually books.

STSmall_thumb[2]

This is the meme where you can highlight books you’ve bought/borrowed/gifted/received for review. You can read more on the meme and how to get involved here!

DSC_0300

Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas: !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! <– Yeah, that’s all I need to say, I think.

DSC_0304

City of Bones / City of Ashes / City of Glass by Cassandra Clare: I found this in an op shop, unopened, for six dollars. No way was I going to leave that there! So… I wrapped it. For Christmas.

DSC_0318

Crown of Midnight / Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas: Lookie! The US hardback editions! They’re so beautiful.

DSC_0319

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss: Thank you to my auntie, cousin and her boyfriend for this one! I’ve wanted to read it for quite some time. :) Annnnnnnnnnnnnnnd:

DSC_0321

DSC_0322

DSC_0323

What else happened this week?

  • Books read this week: Made For You by Melissa Marr, Isla’s Oath by Cassandra Page, Disruption by Jessica Shirvington, and I Was Here by Gayle Forman.
  • Last Thursday, I posted a cover guessing game! The theme was: snow or something white/silver. Here are the answers, for all those who participated. (Thank you to those that did!) One: The One by Kiera Cass (Har har, see what I did there?); Two: Stitching Snow by R.C Lewis; Three: The Jewel by Amy Ewing (I used the US cover for this one); Four: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch; Five: Winterspell by Claire Legrand; Six: Winterkill by Kate A. Boorman (This edition — I’m guessing it’s the UK one? Not sure, but I didn’t use the US one); Seven: Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay; Eight: Crown of Ice by Vicki L. Weavil. So — how did you go!?
  • My “Writing Wishlist” post has really taken off! You can now add a link here. I encourage you to join in the awesomeness. :)

How did you all celebrate Christmas? And, more importantly, how many books did you get? ;)

22 thoughts on “A Very Christmasy Sunday Weekly Wrap Up (43) & Stacking the Shevles (24)

  1. The pavlova looks delicious! I’ve been meaning to read The Name of the Wind and The Throne of Glass series for ages now–hope you enjoy them. Merry Christmas!

  2. You got some great books/ I love the hardback editions of Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire! And that jewellery is really cool. I always think I’d like to buy book related jewellery but then I think about how I could have spent that money on books! That pavlova looks super delicious!

  3. MOCKINGJAAAAAAY!!! I have a necklace one and I bought Mime a bracelet for her birthday a while ago but she BROKE HERS. *glowers* Seriously. This is why I don’t give her nice things.
    Those Throne of Glass books are beautiful and huggable.
    AND OMG! How weird is this?!! But I totally found the EXACT same boxset of TMI at a garage sale for $5. First three. Never been read. XD I found mine a few weeks back now, but that’s crazy awesome. They needed adopting right?!

    • *gasps* She broke hers? HOW DARE SHE? ;) And yes, those ToG books *are* very very hugable. I spent quite a good deal of time just staring at them. Ooh, that is very weird! Yes, exactly. We can’t have orphaned TMI books just sitting around without a home. That is tragic.

  4. WOOOOHOOO DON’T RESIST THE CHOCOLATE

    Look at all your books! Dangerous Boys eeeek! I better read that one soon, I really liked the first one. People showered me with things that were a tad more materialistic this year haha No one supports my love for books. It’s like they want to keep me illiterate hahaha I KID, I KID. But seriously, I got like one book. But hey, I broke my book ban (4 weeks dude, that’s a long time) and bought like 5 books this week. I must stop myself.

  5. Omg Mockingjaaaayyy and time-turners!!!!!!

    ^ Nuffing said. Wow, that pavlova looks amazing. So does Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire <3

    P.S Don't resist the chocolate. It's made for eating, right? XD

  6. You know what they say, one does not simply resist chocolate..

    The pavlova looks so delicious, my stomach cannot handle the beauty.

    And I must say that Dangerous Boys is just as delicious..to read, of course. And Throne of Glass too! You got some great gifts. Also, Mockingjayyy, yay!

    Happy holidays to you. I hope you have a fantastic time reading. :D

  7. Woohoo for all the presents! Merry late Christmas and Happy early New Year! ;) Oooh you got Dangerous Boys! I’ve been hearing such amazing things about the series and I still haven’t read it. I hope you enjoy all your new goodies!

Leave a Reply

