Mini Reviews: Flirty Dancing by Jenny McLachlan & Geek Girl by Holly Smale

mr

20618013Title:  Flirty Dancing 

Author: Jenny McLachlan

Format/Length: Paperback/300 pages

Publisher/Date Published: July 3rd 2014/Bloomsbury

Category/Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary

Source: Library

Goodreads | Amazon | Bookworld

Description: Bea Hogg is shy but fiery inside. When national dance competition Starwars comes to her school looking for talent, she wants to sign up. It’s just a shame her best friend agreed to enter with school super-cow Pearl Harris. Bea will fight back! But when school hottie, Ollie Matthews, who also happens to be Pearl’s boyfriend, decides to enter the competition with Bea, she will have more than a fight on her hands.


 3/5 stars –

★★★☆☆

Honestly, I wasn’t sure what I should be expecting from this one. I’d heard quite positive things from this one . . . but overall I wasn’t really sure if it was my thing, you know? I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. So okay, perhaps this novel wasn’t amazing, perhaps it wasn’t a work of art, a masterpiece – but it’s not supposed to be, either. It was light and fun and humors. Our main character, Bea, was spunky, hilarious, and shy, all at the same time. And oh, her young sister was kinda hilarious, too, simultaneously reminding me while I never want kids.

funny animated GIF

The best possible way to describe this novel is “fun”. It’s not a novel you take too seriously; it’s the novel which you can sit down and enjoy. And, if you’re anything like me, read from beginning to end in one sitting. Flirty Dancing has a dash of everything: humour, loveable characters, romance, and a dash of seriousness, too. This was the perfect novel to ease me out of my mild reading slump. If that’s what you’re looking for, then this book is for you.


 

13621089Title: Geek Girl 

Author: Holly Smale

Format/Length: Paperback/378 pages

Publisher/Date Published: February 28th 2013/Harper Collins

Category/Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary

Source: Library

Goodreads | Amazon | Bookworld

Description: Harriet Manners knows a lot of things.

She knows that a cat has 32 muscles in each ear, a “jiffy” lasts 1/100th of a second, and the average person laughs 15 times per day. What she isn’t quite so sure about is why nobody at school seems to like her very much. So when she’s spotted by a top model agent, Harriet grabs the chance to reinvent herself. Even if it means stealing her Best Friend’s dream, incurring the wrath of her arch enemy Alexa, and repeatedly humiliating herself in front of the impossibly handsome supermodel Nick. Even if it means lying to the people she loves.

As Harriet veers from one couture disaster to the next with the help of her overly enthusiastic father and her uber-geeky stalker, Toby, she begins to realise that the world of fashion doesn’t seem to like her any more than the real world did.

And as her old life starts to fall apart, the question is: will Harriet be able to transform herself before she ruins everything?


3/5 stars –

★★★☆☆

I’ve wanted to read this book for what feels like forever. But, whenever I’ve stepped into a library, the sequel has been there – not the first book. (Don’t you just hate it when that happens? The worst thing is when your library doesn’t haven’t have the first in the series . . .) Finally, though, I managed to get my hands on the first in the series.

This book was everything that I’d been expecting. And, because our main character likes lists (YAY! As soon as I found this out about her, I just knew I’d like her) here is a list of things I loved:

DSC_0327

1. Our main character is a geek. A random fact-spewing geek. Also? She doesn’t like fashion. Neither do I. (I pretty much walk about in my PJs all day, unless I can’t help it.)

2. Wilbur and his hilarious nicknames. Seriously, how does the author come up with that stuff? He had me smiling on more than one occasion.

3. Annabel. I kind of lover her. I find that in a lot of novels the stepmother is usually a bit cold and distant – which kinda makes sense, in a way – but this was not the case with Harriet’s stepmother. She was kind and caring. And also a lawyer.

4. The focus of this novel wasn’t romance. Do you know how nice that is to see in a YA contemporary novel? Fantastic. Don’t get me wrong – romance is great . . . but it’s also really good to see that a person’s life doesn’t have to revolve around their love life.

5. Witty dialogue.

6. Random fact spewing. Did you know a cat has 32 muscles in each ear? You do now.

All in all, this book was great. I can’t wait to read its sequels.


What do you think of light/fluffy novels? Are they something you read often — or only on occasion? Let me know!

12 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Flirty Dancing by Jenny McLachlan & Geek Girl by Holly Smale

  1. It’s good to have these light and somewhat fluffy reads around to break up the more serious/heartbreaking contemporaries out there. I enjoyed Flirty Dancing as well for what it was – a fun and light read. I’m yet to get to Geek Girl, but I have heard good things about it and I love witty dialogue in books! Brilliant reviews Kara :)

  2. I like light novels but Flirty Dancing was a little too light for me. I had a really hard time enjoying the characters because they honestly just annoyed the hell outta me. :P Although I still wanna check out Geek Girl! I’ve heard really amazing things about it and you’ve made me extra curious. :D

  3. Ooh! These books both sound a little out of my comfort zone, but I really need to step out of my comfort zone more. I’m pretty sure I’ve seen Geek Girl around before in my library, so next time I see it I’ll be sure to borrow it. I’ll have a look for Flirty Dancing as well.

    They seem like brilliant fluffy reads! :)

Leave a Reply

