My 2015 Writing Goals

My 2015 Writing Goals

Hi guys! Here are my annual writing goals for 2015. You can view my personal goals here, and my blogging and reading goals for 2015 will be posted on the blog soon! (Also, completely random, but this is the Last Post for 2014!)

BRING IT OOOOON. I CAN DO THIS.

godzilla animated GIF

  1. Revise, edit, and polish The Sweetest Sorrows of Ava Hale until it sparkles.

I’ve actually been working on this novel since NaNoWriMo 2012 . . . and hey – it is getting somewhere! Slowly, surely, I’m getting there. I am going to finish it this year.

  1. Finish rewrite of The Empire of Stars, then revise, edit, and polish.

I love this novel. <3 It’s so incredibly fun to write high fantasy! So it’s something I plan on focusing on later in the nest year, though I’m not sure when I’ll have it completed just yet. And then send it off for some feedback. And then begin the whole process again. O.o

  1. Complete NaNoWriMo 2015 / Camp NaNoWriMo.

This year I did it in five days. Next year? Well, we’ll just have to see! ;) (Though the very highly competitive part of myself is probably going to want to attempt to finish it in four or less days… God, why do I have to be so competitive? With myself?) Also, just depending, I might consider doing one of the Camp NaNoWriMo sessions.

  1. Write a short story.

I will do this. I will. Also, if I like it – I might even share it on the blog.

  1. Rewrite Ironheart.

Because god knows about eighty-percent of it is going to have to be scrapped, reworked, and entirely rewritten. At the moment I don’t have a time as to where I’ll fit this in – but it’s something I hope to work on in the future .

  1. Rewrite City of Illusions.

God, next year is going to be The Year of the Rewriting, isn’t it!? Okay, so admittedly I don’t know whether I’ll have time for this. But I will try. At the very least I’ll start thinking over things, just to see where I stand with the manuscript. I feel like the novel has a lot of potential at the moment but it’s not quite there.


A rather ambitious list, I know, but who knows? I might not even do a quarter of what I’ve put on this list. See you in June/July for my revised writing goals!

18 thoughts on “My 2015 Writing Goals

  1. Hey Kara, I’m from wattpad and I’ve been following you and your blog for quite some time now and I was just wondering are you still going to get The Sweetest Arrows of Ava Hale published? And also when are you gonna write Her Darkest Infinity? (I think that’s what it was called) I’ve been waiting for you to write it ever since you said it on your blog. I feel like a major stalker lol oh and also I was wondering what is your editing/revision process?

    • Hey there! Glad to see you’ve been following me! :) As for Ava Hale . . . Well, you’re just going to have to wait to find out. ;) Not sure when I’ll have time to start Her Darkest Infinity, though I would still like to write that one day. I had a bad habit of trying to juggle multiple projects at the same time and it never seems to turn out well. xD Hmm, that’s an interesting question about my revision / editing process. Pretty much, it goes something like this:

      1. First draft is written.

      2. I don’t touch it for awhile; I let my brain mull over the story until I’m ready to look at it again.

      3. I rewrite the story or revise it A LOT. Usually large chunks are taken out / deleted and I rewrite it entirely. However that is not always the case. It just depends on the story itself.

      3. I get some feedback.

      4. I go through more rounds of revisions / editing.

      I actually plan on writing a blog post on my revision / editing process later, later, later into 2015. So keep your eyes peeled for that. :)

  2. It really does look like an intensive year of rewriting, revising and editing for you, and it’s going to be the same for me. It’s really strange because one day I’m scared to rewrite my whole first draft, and the next day I can’t wait to get on with it, and I just keep on flipping back and forth between the two. I’m going to plunge into editing in January, though, because I’m doing a JaNoEdiMo thing.

    • Strangely enough, I’m looking forward to it! :) Yeah, actually — I know what you mean. Sometimes it’s really exciting when looking at the prospect of completely reworking a novel.. at at the same time it’s terrifying, because you’ve got all these self doubts running through your mind. My suggestion is to break it up into manageable pieces, and try not to get too overwhelmed. Good luck. :)

  3. So I come back from a Christmas break AND LOOK AT YOU! Your blog looks different and I love the new format, girl! Anyway, you seem to have so many stories going on! I bet you’re secretly Superwoman or something. I hope you get to accomplish your goals by the end of 2015!

    Happy New Year, Kara! <33

  4. Good luck! Wow, the blog has changed (subtly) and it looks gorgeous. I love that gif, if only you could pin gifs to walls or something – ah that’d be a grand way to motivate me for the next year.

  5. I’m hugely competitive with myself too. Seriously it’s SO exhausting. But hey! Write a book in 4 days next year and then…pretty soon you’ll have written a book before you started! HAAAA. That’s awesome.
    Ignore me, just ignore me.
    *ahem*
    YAY for the year of rewriting! I’m going to rewrite something too. Hopefully my Dead Boy book (gee that sounds morbid), but I also want to write more first drafts because I have SO many ideas and they literally need to get written before I forget them. xD

    • I know right?? So exhausting. But I can’t help it! My brain just seems to be wired to be competitive with myself. Hehe, knowing me I probably won’t even do much on this list. and instead start new manuscripts. Eh. I guess only time will tell. :)

  6. I was more the opposite when it comes to writing short stories – that’s all I’ve written since I started writing and now I’ve been attempting to write something longer than a few pages (which has ended up at procrastination station). I’ve never re-written a novel (because, you know, of the slight problem of first writing it), but I think I’d enjoy the re-working it until it’s a++

  7. Wow, this is really ambitious! I’m a writer myself, and I can’t even stick to one story hahaha. Although I did just spend a week editing the bejesus out of my Camp NaNo 2014 story! Hoping I can land an agent for that one :)

    Can I just say I love the look of your homepage lay-out? It looks really nice and organised!

Leave a Reply

