Sunday Weekly Wrap Up (45) & Stacking the Shelves (26) Demonic Seagulls, Books, Books, and Even More Books

Sunday weekly wrap up

So first off I feel the need to discuss the “demonic seagull” part of the heading. You know in Supernatural, whenever a person is possessed by a demon, their eyes go pure black?

Well . . .

DSC_0728

HMM. Anyone got any spare holy water lying around?

Things, aside from demonic seagulls, that happened this week: (Really, not much. Hence the short-ish post.)

  • We are now a couple of weeks into 2015. So, so far, my resolutions are actually going okay. Wonder how much longer that will last?
  • I attempt not to melt in the sweltering Australia heat. So far, I’m still intact, but summer isn’t over next.
  • I’m now considering moving to Antarctica with the penguins.
  • It’s been really hot.
  • Like, really really hot.
  • I’ve spent an abnormal amount of time at the shops, purely for their air conditioning. (And to looks at books (duh) — but I didn’t buy anything!)
  • Books read this week: Illusions of Fate by Kirsten White; Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes; Curtsies & Conspiracies by Gail Carriger; Haven by Kristi Cook; Perfect Ruin by Laren DeStefano; Solitaire by Alice Oseman (awesome pop-culture references YAY); and The Falconer by Elizabeth May (oh my gosh guys this book was awesome.)
  • If you missed it last week… I joined Tumblr, and have been happily addicted ever since. If you’re interested you can follow me here.
  • I . . . borrowed some a lot of books.

STSmall_thumb[2]

This is the meme where you can highlight books you’ve bought/borrowed/gifted/received for review. You can read more on the meme and how to get involved here!

DSC_0643

  • Geek Girl: Model Misfit by Holly Smale.
  • Half-Breed by Jennifer L. Armentrout.
  • Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer.
  • Days of Blood and Startlight by Laini Taylor. (FINALLY time to read this. And oh, this edition is beautiful.)

DSC_0644

  • Unmarked by Kami Garcia.
  • The Selection Stories by Kiera Cass.
  • Being Henry David by Cal Armistead.
  • Six Months Later by Natalie D. Richards.
  • The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick.
  • What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

On the blog this week:

Monday: No post!

Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday — Top Ten Most Anticipated Debuts of 2015

Wednesday: No post!

Thursday: Mini Reviews: The ProtectedThe Sky So Heavy by Claire Zorn

Friday: Friday Photography (7)

Saturday: No post!


So that was my week! How was yours! Acquire any new books?

19 thoughts on “Sunday Weekly Wrap Up (45) & Stacking the Shelves (26) Demonic Seagulls, Books, Books, and Even More Books

  1. No new books for me. That’s a lot of books there. My library doesn’t give more than 3 at a time…bummer….yours seems waaay cooler :) Wanna swap places with me? It’s quite cold in Europe right now. I’d appreciate some time in Australia.

  2. That gif is REALLY scaring me right now. That’s just creepy. I love the seagull picture! Good job with keeping up with your New Year’s Resolutions. I think I’ve been doing a good job with mine, too, so hopefully it will last. Ahaha, you’re stuck in the extreme heat and I’m stuck in the extreme cold.

  3. Come to Wisconsin where you could get frostbite by standing outside for ten minutes (yet school is somehow not cancelled). That sucks its been so warm where you are. Honestly, I’d rather have the cold than heat though.

      • They did last year, but it happened four times so we had to push back the end of school all the way back. I guess we already have too little minutes anyway. I think they might’ve moved the temperature. Not that many schools actually cancelled even though the whole state was like it. There were several two-hour delays if there was anything.

  4. Hahah you freaked me out with your demonic Ruby, that seagull looks totally creepy! It is pretty darn hot in Australia, I’m lucky I get to sit in aircon everyday. Some wonderful books I spot, including Ghosts of Heaven and Days of Blood and Starlight! have a wonderful week Kara!

  5. It has been so hot! I’m over summer already. You borrowed some great books. I love Laini Taylor! Hope you enjoy Days of Blood and Starlight. Glad The Falconer was awesome, I want to read it soon. Happy reading :)

  6. ARE WE REALLY A COUPLE OF WEEKS INTO 2015?? HOLY HECK. I FEAR

    THE HEAT I DIE. Literally. It’s been HORRENDOUS. I walked around being all fake touristy this week AND REGRETS. Because it was boiling.

    Have fun with Days of Blood. It’s literally my favourite of the three!

  7. Wow. Already two weeks into the year? o.O That’s so freaky! Man, I’m actually really intensely longing for the summer here in the UK considering that we’re freezing (but no it didn’t snow, unfortunately). Gah. Air-conditioning? Gosh, that’s music to my ears!

Leave a Reply

