Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things I Like / Dislike When It Comes To Romance In Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find all the awesome details of the meme right here

I think romance–as a reader–can be very hit-and-miss. In my own writing, too, I find it one of the most difficult aspects to write, even if it is one of the most enjoyable parts to write. So, here are my likes / dislikes when it comes to romance! Feel free to discuss below.

Top Five Things I Like When It Comes to Romance In Books:

the office animated GIF

1. Developed, slow romances.

So in other words, the opposite of instalove.

2. Love triangles . . . sometimes.

Yes, this is in my “like” section, but really, when it comes to love triangles–it can go either way. There are some that I like, and others that I don’t. It just depends on the story, characters, and writing.

3. When authors aren’t afraid of writing sex scenes.

You know what, YA authors? Teenagers are capable beings. Sex scenes aren’t going to traumatise us–so therefore, there isn’t much of a need of do the whole kissing-then-next-day thing.

4. When the love interest isn’t possessive.

Girls are quite capable of looking after themselves–we don’t need a big manly man to take care of us.

5. A love story that doesn’t take up the whole story.

You know when you read a fantasy novel, and you expect to read a–you know– a fantasy novel, but somehow, the romance seems to take over the main storyline? Yeah, I don’t really like that.

Top Five Things I Dislike When It Comes to Romance In Books:

no animated GIF

6. “Instalove.”

So yeah, this is going to be on most people’s lists this week. And when I say “instalove” I do not mean instant attraction; that, my friends, is even somewhat realistic. And sometimes I feel like reviewers get the two mixed up occasionally. I’m talking about the “I’ve known you for two days–but hey! Let’s declare our undying love for each other anyway!” Yeah, no thanks.

7. “Sparks” and “electric touches”.

Is your love interest an escalator that when you touch him, he shocks you? Didn’t think so.

8. “My love interest stalks me, but he’s hot, so it’s okay.”

HAHAHA, NO.

9. “My love interest is soooooooooooo hot, so I’m going to describe his muscles every few paragraphs.”

I like hot guys. But please, don’t go describing them every couple of paragraphs!

10. “I’m a good girl. You’re a bad boy. So let’s get it on.”

Yeah–not a fan of the good-girl bad-boy thing; sometimes, it can work but usually I am not fond of this one.


What are your likes / dislikes in romance?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things I Like / Dislike When It Comes To Romance In Books

  1. Totally agree with the electric shock thing! So sick of that description. Also the good girl/bad boy thing – that never works out. Ever.

    Excellent list!

  2. Interesting post Kara – I absolutely agree with each and every one of these points!

    I only like romance as long as it’s necessary and doesn’t take over the plot. Like you mentioned, instalove and portraying stalking as “hot” are just…no. And I agree with your point about love triangles. I suppose that if both love interests are well-developed and there’s a legitimate reason for the heroine to like both of them, then I suppose I can deal with it. ;)

    Thanks for sharing, and great choices! <33

  3. Hahaha, yes oh my days the creepy love interest! Like, how could you? Plus all those possessive guys – like please. Sometimes I wish for a possessive female to show them how ridiculous they’re being!

  4. 9. “My love interest is soooooooooooo hot, so I’m going to describe his muscles every few paragraphs.”

    ^YES!!! This annoys me sooo much. I seriously don’t need to know every detail of their muscle tone -_-

    And totally agree about the sex scenes. I feel like a lot of the time they leave it out to attract a wider and younger audience…but come on…society’s pretty liberal these days. Great points Kara, I agree with all of them!

  5. Ugh, I know what you mean. XD Especially the Internet stalking one—I mean, as someone who spends a lot of time on the Internet, that one kind of hurts to see. DO YOU NOT KNOW THAT THERE ARE MURDERERS ON THE INTERNET? But books cannot hear me. Alas.

Leave a Reply

