Rise and Shine, My Lovelies! Five Reasons I’m NOT a Morning Person

I’ve never, ever been a morning person. I am a night owl and totally dread getting up early in the morning. Lately I’ve been trying to rectify my owl-like sleeping patterns, and I thought I would write a post on why I am so not a morning person.

frozen animated GIF

HAHAH NO.

1. I write at night. Late at night.

Inspiration comes to me at nighttime the most, and why not write when I’m inspired so much?

2. I’m an insomniac.

I don’t sleep very well at all, so therefore I tend to sleep in later than most people. Which sucks, because I then tend to stay up later as I’m not tired . . . and then the cycle starts all over again!

3. I get anxious the most in the mornings.

I hate, hate, hate my anxiety. And when I get anxious, I tend to not want to do much.

4. I have no motivation to get up early.

Why get up, when I can sleep!?

5. I’m more awake at night.

I’m always so groggy and tired in the mornings — especially if I haven’t slept well the previous night.

night animated GIF


So there you have it. Five reasons why I am NOT a morning person! What about you? Do you have any tips on getting up early?

18 thoughts on “Rise and Shine, My Lovelies! Five Reasons I’m NOT a Morning Person

  1. Numbers 1 and 5 are my life. *sigh* And I mean, for me part of it is just that I HATE trying to write when other people doing annoying things, like breathing, and so late at night is the only time of day I feel free to work without interruption. It isn’t perfect, especially when I have to get up the next morning, but you know. :P You have to be cruel to yourself, sometimes.

  2. I used to be a morning person, but unfortunately high school changed that. Now I’m a night person and I feel so awake at night. At the same time, I’m kind of forced to wake up early because school starts early in the day. My only advice for you is to set an alarm clock really loud, and just not allow yourself to sleep past the alarm no matter what. You’ll get used to it eventually.

  3. I’m totally not a morning person either. I’m currently on holidays so I’ve gotten into this horrible habit where I sleep at 2am and get up at 10am…at least it’s 8 hours of solid sleep. And it takes me a while to get up as well..I like to roll around in bed for a while before getting up. It’s a HORRIBLE habit. The only advice I have is probably just to get up…once you’re awake for like 30 seconds, you tend to be less tired. Also, apples help me a lot! They’re better than coffee at waking people up :)

    • That’s pretty much my sleeping cycle at the moment, and it’s pretty awful. But usually I don’t fall asleep until 4 / 5 in the morning. Ooh, apples, that’s a good idea. I have read that, that they’re better at waking you up than coffee. I will have to try that one. Thanks!

  4. THIS IS SO TRUE. For people who think that you feel more fresh in the morning…umm, no. You only feel groggy and sleepy and unable to do anything but daydream about sleep and pillows and sleeping some more XD

    Night totally works. I feel more awake at that time than any time of the day. It’s weird, but it just sort of…happens.

  5. Ugh. Mornings are the worst. Especially with the struggle to wake up (no thanks, I’d rather stay in my cosy bed, please). But for me I find that by the rare chance I do wake up and splash some water on my face I feel refreshed. Thing is I don’t get much done in the mornings – it’s my lazy hazy time. Noon, I think, is the best time to wake up! :P

  6. I’m a night owl too, even though I get up at 2:30am each morning. Hubby works a really early shift. I love to sleep in though and usually don’t get up until after 9am on the weekends. It’s glorious. The trick to getting up early, is actually going to bed early. You can’t function without a great nights sleep. While you’re all partying each night, I’m tucked up in bed with a book and trying not to fall asleep :D

Leave a Reply

