Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Book Related Problems I Have

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.



1. MY MASSIVE TBR PILE.

Too many books, too little time. Sigh.


2. Once I start a good book I don’t stop.

Unless I absolutely have to. But I’m a read-a-three-hundred-page-book-in-one-sitting kinda booknerd.


3. I always want more books . . . even if my TBR pile is already massive.

I can’t help it!


4. I request ALL THE BOOKS from Netgalley / Edelweiss.

I mean, there are just so many fantastic titles available for review, and I want them all, like the greedy little booknerd I am.


5. Reading a book that was SO GOOD . . . and then not wanting to finish it.

You know when books are so good that you simultaneously can’t stop reading it—but you don’t want it to end.


6. Having to wait a year until the next book in the series.

Which, as a writer—I totally get. It takes ages to revise, edit, and polish a novel, let alone all the marketing and other publishing-related things that come with it. But my inner booknerd cries at the thought of waiting another year for the next book in that series.


Observing

7. Cliffhangers.

I love you, but I hate you. It’s complicated.


8. Always always always losing my bookmarks.

Seriously. This happens all the time. Every time someone gives me a new, pretty bookmark I am secretly terrified that I’m going to lose it.


9. Cracked spines, bent pages, and other things that make me cringe.

I am very particular.


10. Those terrible, terrible book adaptations.

You guys probably know by now that I do love, love, love it when books are adapted into movies. But those times when they get it all wrong? NOPE.


What book related problems do you have?

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Book Related Problems I Have

  1. Yep, I perfectly understand all of these! And there’s nothing like chapter – or worse, end-of-novel- cliffhangers to make that year-long wait even worse.

  2. I agree with you on all of these. Every single one. Especially the terrible movie adaptations and so many books so little time :/ Oh well…I’m going back to reading now. Happy reading! Stefani

  3. I totally get you with the book buying problem – my TBR pile is getting bigger and bigger and there’s nothing I can do about it.. And I love when books are turned into movies but YES, bad adaptations are the worst. Great list, I completely agree with you :)

  4. I really really despise terrible movie adaptations. They can be done so much better if they just FOLLOWED the book. I don’t think it sounds that hard.
    Thanks for sharing your list.

  5. I have so many of the same problems as you do. My TBR list is massive. I think for every book I read at least five new books get added to my TBR. At least. And I hate waiting for books forever, which is only worsened when the release date is pushed back. *cough* Winter *cough* My next big pet peeve is kind of related to number 9. I hate it when sniveling little kids get food all over their pudgy fingers and smear it on books at the library. Okay, I’m just kidding. Little kids are really sweet and cute. :)

  6. You totally got it girl!!!! Cracked spines are the worst! And also that urgent need to buy a book. I have free time on the computer,what do I do? Of course, I’m surfing through websites like Book Depository, Book Outlet, Bookworld, Bookutopia, QBD books, Barnes and Noble. What else would we do?

  7. I have bookmark problems on my list too! *hi fives* I always loose them or rip them because I fiddle while I read. BUT NOW MY DOG EATS THEM. So that’s also frustrating. -_- I use my iPod as a bookmark a lot. And gaaah cliffhangers are NOT OKAY. *dies*

  8. Yep, you’ve hit the mark with all of these Kara! No matter how big my TBR, I’m always on the lookout for new reads (because we wouldn’t want to *miss* anything right?)

  9. I love my books to be pristine too. I think that’s why I like the e-books. I was such a Grinch about loaning books. People turn down pages. They get stuff on books. They crack the spines. You understand, right? ;-)

  10. Yes! I can agree with so many of these. Not really number 4 though – I’m not that into ebooks so I can restrain myself on NetGalley. And not really number 8. I collect book marks and like to take special care of them. But boy do I love to buy books even though my TBR is mind boggling huge.

Leave a Reply

